Environmental artist Alice Weston photographed many of the houses in this collection in the 1990s for the publication Great Houses of the Queen City : Two Hundred Years of Historic and Contemporary Architecture and Interiors in Cincinnati. This collection of over 1400 images from the book plus additional images.
Cincinnati Birth and Death records held by the University of Cincinnati Libraries. The records have all been digitized and are fully searchable. Instructions for searching are available on the website. The records span the years 1865-1912
Lantern slides from the Public Library of Cincinnati and Hamilton County featuring Cincinnati places and scenes. The slides show downtown scenes, schools, churches and synagogues, as well as the Ohio River, bridges, steamboats, and railroad stations. Many of the photographs were taken by Elmer Foote, the Library's staff photographer from 1907 to 1919.
Records of the Cincinnati House of Refuge, which was a home for juvenile delinquents, homeless children, or any child deemed as being without a proper home. Records span from 1869-1902. These records are housed at the University of Cincinnati.
From the collection of the Public Library of Cincinnati and Hamilton County. The collection contains over 1,500 images related to Cincinnati history, including many original photographs produced between 1863 and 1970, with a majority spanning the years 1880 to 1920.
Thousands of photographs showing the construction of the Cincinnati Subway and street improvements made throughout the city of Cincinnati. The photos span the years 1916-1955. These records at housed at the University of Cincinnati.
From the collection of the Public Library of Cincinnati and Hamilton County. Photographs of the Cincinnati area during and after the historic Ohio River flood of 1937 and earlier floods, featuring Ohio, Kentucky, and Indiana.
Local Libraries and Archives with More Information
The library holds materials on Cincinnati art and artists, a broad range of auction houses catalogs starting from the 1900s, and an exclusive collection of reference materials. The Cincinnati Art Museum Archives houses records of the Art Museum dating from 1875 to present, and records of the Art Academy of Cincinnati from 1868 to 1998.
This is the former Cincinnati Historical Society Library. They are a great resource for archival collections, photographs, and rare books relating to Cincinnati history, especially 19th century history.
NKU's Special Collections collects material documenting the history and heritage of the Northern Kentucky and Ohio River Valley region, Appalachian authors and topics, military history, slavery and the Underground Railroad. The University Archives documents the history and growth of NKU.