Skip to Main Content
Philosophy Journal Indexes & Databases
JSTOR
JSTOR is a digital library of academic content in many formats and disciplines. The collections include top peer-reviewed scholarly journals as well as respected literary journals, academic monographs, research reports from trusted institutes, and diverse primary sources. Explore the visual side of JSTOR, including artwork, newspapers, manuscripts, photographs, and other artifacts contributed by libraries, museums, archives, and historical societies around the world
Philosophy Compass
"Peer reviewed survey articles from across the discipline."
PhilPapers
PhilPapers is a comprehensive directory of online philosophy articles and books by academic philosophers. We monitor journals in many areas of philosophy, as well as archives and personal pages. We also accept articles directly from users, who can provide links or upload copies
Religion and Philosophy Collection
The database includes full text of over 290 journals covering such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.
Journal Indexes & Database related to Philosophy
Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions includes more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields. Academic Search Complete offers critical information from many sources unique to this massive collection. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.Coverage: 1865 - present
Index Islamicus
The Index Islamicus database indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. It is produced by the Islamic Bibliography Unit at Cambridge University Library. The Unit was established in 1983 to continue the compilations and publications of the Index Islamicus bibliography and to transmit knowledge about Islamic and Middle East studies, which have been part of the curriculum at Cambridge University since the early 17th century. Records included in the database cover almost a century of publications, with some going back to 1906.
L'Année Philologique
L'Annee Philologique indexes publications (monographs¸ journal articles¸ and articles in collections and conferences) on all aspects of classical studies internationally. Consult the L'Annee Philologique webpage for coverage. The online version continues to index additional earlier volumes.
MLA International Bibliography
The MLA International Bibliography provides a classified listing and subject index for books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. This database annually indexes over 45,000 books and articles.
Oxford Bibliographies Online. Classics
Oxford Bibliographies Online. Classis offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on the Classics. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable. Contains a "My OBO" function that allows users to create personalized bibliographies of individual citations from different bibliographies
Project MUSE
Access to articles from over 40 journals in the humanities starting in 1995. Coverage: Full Text; 1995 - present
ProQuest Research Library
One of the most comprehensive databases available through the ProQuest online system¸ Research Library provides access to full-text journals across a wide range of subject areas¸ including business¸ education¸ literature¸ political science¸ and psychology. The database can be customized to meet the specific needs of many different types of libraries and information centers.Coverage: 1971 - present
