Skip to Main Content
List of Full Text Book Collections @ UC
e-Books at UC Libraries
An e-book is a book in digital format. Many digital books are available online free of charge or inexpensively from book vendors, such as Amazon, etc.
University of Cincinnati Libraries provide access to thousands of e-books in a variety of subject areas. You can access e-books wherever and whenever you need them. It is important to understand that books available through UC Libraries work differently than the books you buy for your personal use.Guide introduction by Olga Hart
Electronic Book Center (OhioLINK)
Electronic Book Center contains the full texts of thousands of scholarly and reference e-books from several publishers¸ covering many subject areas.
Full-Text Collections and Web Sites for Philosophy
Early American Imprints¸ Series I. Evans (1639-1800)
Based on the renowned American Bibliography by Charles Evans. The definitive resource for every aspect of life in 17th- and 18th- century America¸ from agriculture and auctions through foreign affairs¸ diplomacy¸ literature¸ music¸ religion¸ the Revolutionary War¸ temperance¸ witchcraft¸ and just about any other topic imaginable. Upon completion¸ Evans Digital will consist of more than 36¸000 works and 2¸400¸000 images.
Coverage - 1639 - 1800
Early American Imprints¸ Series II. Shaw-Shoemaker (1801-1819)
Provides full-text and full-page-image access to books¸ pamphlets¸ and broadsides published in America from 1801 through 1819. Contains many state papers and government materials¸ including published reports; presidential letters and messages; and congressional¸ state and territorial resolutions. Based on the American Bibliography by Ralph R. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker¸ which is now supplemented by thousands of new items. Allows browsing by genre¸ subject¸ author¸ printing history¸ place of publication¸ and language. Allows searching in citation text¸ title¸ subject¸ genre¸ author¸ place of publication¸ publisher¸ and document number. Cross-searchable with other Archive of Americana collections
Coverage: 1801-1819
Early English Books Online
Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains over 125¸000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640)¸ Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700)¸ and the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661). The Early English Books Tract Supplements will also be added to EEBO soon. Among the thousands of titles featured in EEBO are works by Malory¸ Bacon¸ More¸ Erasmus¸ Boyle¸ Newton¸ Galileo; musical exercises by Henry Purcell and novels by Aphra Behn; prayer books¸ pamphlets¸ and proclamations; almanacs¸ calendars¸ and many other primary sources.
Coverage:Full Text; 1473-1700
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)
The Eighteenth Century Collections Online provides access to the digital images of every page of 150¸000 books published during the 18th Century. With full-text searching of approximately 33 million pages¸ the product allows researchers new methods of access to critical information in fields of history¸ literature¸ religion¸ law¸ fine arts¸ and sermons to advertisements-and works by many well-known and lesser-known authors¸ all providing a diverse collection of material for the researcher of the eighteenth century. Included are works from women writers of the eighteenth century; collections on the French Revolution; and numerous editions of the works of Shakespeare. Multiple editions of each individual work are offered to enable scholars to make textual comparisons of the works. Supported by the Charles Phelps Taft Research Center.
Ethics of Suicide Digital Library
University of Utah Marriott Library & Oxford University Press
The Ethics of Suicide Digital Archive: A Library/Press Partnership with the University of Utah J. Willard Marriott Library and Margaret Pabst Battin, Editor
In recognition of the broad scope of this project and the importance for readers of the capacity to search and interact with texts, Oxford University Press and the University of Utah’s J. Willard Marriott Library have partnered to provide both a print volume of The Ethics of Suicide and an associated Digital Archive open to any reader using the Web. The two versions–the condensed, print version and the full, digital Archive–are connected by QR codes maintained by Marriott Library.
The Digital Archive includes complete excerpts, links (where possible) to the full primary sources referenced in the book, and open library catalog records that point readers to local library holdings when the primary source is only available in print. Readers can search and browse by author, time period, keyword, intellectual tradition, or geographic region. Readers can also comment on the selections, submit corrections, and suggest new material to be considered for inclusion using the menu at the top of the page.
NIETZSCHE SOURCE
Nietzsche Source is a web site devoted to the publication of scholarly content on the work and life of Friedrich Nietzsche, under the editorial and scholarly direction of Paolo D’Iorio.
The content of the site and its internet addresses are stable and can be freely consulted and used for scholarly purposes.
The website is managed by the Association HyperNietzsche, a non-profit organisation hosted at the École normale supérieure in Paris. The Association HyperNietzsche is a growing scholarly community of leading experts from different countries. It promotes research on Nietzsche through conferences and scientific events. Its main purpose is to continue work on the edition, commentary and interpretation of Nietzsche’s work.
[web Site]
PhilPapers
PhilPapers is a comprehensive directory of online philosophy articles and books by academic philosophers. We monitor journals in many areas of philosophy, as well as archives and personal pages. We also accept articles directly from users, who can provide links or upload copies
Philosophy Compass
"Peer reviewed survey articles from across the discipline."
Post-classical Islamic Philosophy Database Initiative (PIPDI)
Post-classical Islamic Philosophy Database Initiative (PIPDI)
The Post-classical Islamic Philosophy Database Initiative (PIPDI) will create the infrastructure that is needed for a systematic investigation of the vast but severely understudied corpus of Islamic philosophical texts dating from 1100-1900CE. These post-classical texts include original and exegetical works on logic (syllogistic and dialectic), philosophy of language, epistemology, ethics, metaphysics (ontology and theology), natural philosophy and cosmology, and philosophy of mind. [Site Description]
Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy Online
Online version of the Routledge encyclopedia of philosophy. Articles can be browsed alphabetically or by philosophical themes, philosophies, historical periods, and religions. Full text entries can be searched by keyword, contributor, or bibliography. Updated quarterly
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy was designed from its inception (September 1995) as a dynamic reference work. In a dynamic reference work¸ each entry is maintained and kept up to date by an expert or group of experts in the field. All entries and updates are refereed by the members of a distinguished Editorial Board before they are made public. Consequently¸ this dynamic reference work is responsive to new research. You can¸ however¸ cite fixed editions which are made on a quarterly basis and stored in the Archives.
