Research Guides: Ohio Legal Research: Practice Books

Westlaw Practice Books

Ohio Appellate Practice - Baldwin's Ohio Handbook (Westlaw) Ohio Appellate Practice provides fast answers to questions about appellate practice in Ohio, as well as in-depth analysis of all of the most recent case law, rules, and statutes governing it.
Ohio Arrest, Search & Seizure - Baldwin's Ohio Handbook (Westlaw) The author, a nationally recognized authority on the Fourth Amendment, examines the balance of an individual's right with legitimate law enforcement procedures, as interpreted by the U.S. Supreme Court, Ohio criminal rules and statutes, and state case law. This basic reference on Ohio criminal procedure interprets new trends and developments while dealing with the facts and holdings of more than 800 cases. Topics include plain view, traffic stops, arrest and search warrants, interrogation, confessions, lineups, and pretrial identification. In addition, user aides such as a table of cases, a table of laws and rules, and extensive checklists make research more effective andefficient, and the bibliography cites related books and law review articles by topic.
Ohio Condominium Law - Baldwin's Ohio Handbook (Westlaw) Ohio Condominium Law contains a thorough discussion on a wide range of topics affecting condominium owners, condominium associations, and real estate practitioners. This title presents a sweeping treatment of condominium law specifically tailored for the numerous differences caused by Ohio statutes.
Ohio Consumer Law - Baldwin's Ohio Handbook (Westlaw) Ohio Consumer Law is a convenient reference for attorneys, consumers, and providers of consumer goods and services in Ohio. Prepared under the auspices of the Legal Aid Society of Cleveland and the Ohio State Legal Services Association, this content analyzes hundreds of cases that are essential to interpreting the law. The authors use their up-to-date analysis of recent legislation and case law to explain the federal and state statutes, rules, and court decisions applicable to Ohio consumer law. Drawing on both reported and unreported Ohio trial and appellate cases, they provide numerous examples of how the courts have applied Ohio consumer laws to specific facts. The content starts with a chart of laws applicable to consumer transactions and includes material on arbitration, which offers in-depth analysis of applicable statutes and case law. Also included are checklists and sample forms for quick research.
Ohio Domestic Violence Law - Baldwin's Ohio Handbook (Westlaw) A practical guide for law enforcement officials, family practitioners, social workers, judges, prosecutors, police, and defense attorneys, Ohio Domestic Violence Law covers Ohio civil and criminal laws governing domestic violence. It discusses current issues and emerging trends, with references to applicable state and federal statutes, rules, and caselaw.
Ohio Driving Under the Influence Law - Baldwin's Ohio Handbook (Westlaw) With practical guidance on the simplest to the most complex issues, Ohio Driving Under the Influence Law provides answers to the most frequently asked questions on DUI. It includes an expanded review and analysis of recent legislation that overhauled many of Ohio's drunk driving statutes.
Ohio Elder Law--Baldwin's Ohio Handbook (Westlaw) Ohio Elder Law provides practical information and guidance on how to comply with Ohio's statutes and regulations in the area of elder law and related practice areas, including probate law, health care law, estate planning, financial concerns, and tax law. Forms, checklists, and sample documents are provided.
Ohio Employment Practices Law - Baldwin's Ohio Handbook (Westlaw) In Ohio Employment Practices Law, an expert practitioner offers a practical guide to the fast-changing field of employment law.
Ohio Insurance Coverage - Baldwin's Ohio Handbook (Westlaw) Ohio Insurance Coverage comprehensively examines Ohio case law interpreting major provisions of the widely used commercial general liability (CGL) insurance policy.
Ohio Juvenile Law - Baldwin's Ohio Handbook (Westlaw) This publication is the leading reference for Ohio's juvenile courts, practitioners, and children's advocates. It offers coverage on the law and practice applicable to delinquents, juvenile traffic offenders, unruly children, and neglected, abused, and dependent children. Every phase of a juvenile proceeding, from intake to disposition is outlined and explained.
Ohio Landlord Tenant Law - Baldwin's Ohio Handbook (Westlaw) Ohio Landlord Tenant Law examines all aspects of the landlord-tenant relationship. The easy-to-read question-and-answer format presents situations that landlords and tenants are likely to encounter. The book also includes selected Ohio Revised Code provisions.
Ohio Personal Injury Practice - Baldwin's Ohio Handbook (Westlaw) This guide gives you practice pointers, tactical tips, and strategies for all areas of personal injury-from intake, closing arguments and post-trial prejudgment interest motions. Shows you how to gain advantages in litigation, enhance the settlement value of a case, and increase the likelihood of winning at trial. Also answers the most frequently asked questions on medical malpractice, wrongful death, products liability, and personal injury. Offers expert guidance on the practical aspects of gathering medical records, accident reports, and other documentary evidence.
Ohio Planning & Zoning Law - Baldwin's Ohio Handbook (Westlaw) Cited by the Ohio Supreme Court, this reference is the only comprehensive treatise on Ohio land use controls and related planning and economic development issues. It takes you step-by-step through Ohio's permit process and through state legislation governing planning, economic development, and affordable housing. Focusing on counties, townships, and municipalities, this book explains the structure of planning, types of zones and uses, variances and conditional uses, and land use litigation and remedies.
Ohio School Law - Baldwin's Ohio Practice (Westlaw) This database is a source of information and advice for school teachers, their representatives, and other professionals in the legal areas of education administration. Topics range from organization and government of the school system to school property and school finance.
Ohio Trial Practice - Baldwin's Ohio Handbook (Wednesday) This reference serves as a trial guide for fast access to basic principles of Ohio trial law and their proper application. The text clearly and concisely discusses critical aspects of practicing trial law, particularly procedural and substantive aspects. Analysis of recent trial case law, rules, and statutes keeps you updated. Proper authority is cited for every statement, including recent state and federal case law.

Lexis Practice Books

Anderson's Ohio Consumer Law Manual (Lexis) Designed to capture the most important elements of Consumer Law, this convenient desk reference contains federal and state consumer statutes as well as extensive treatment of common law doctrines that are frequently invoked in consumer disputes. Plus, unlike many consumer law books, this one includes substantial coverage of both warranty law under Article 2 of the Uniform Commercial Code and the law of products liability, which are both critically important to consumers.The text is enhanced with comprehensive cases citations from all levels, case discussions, and the author's analysis and critique of substantive consumer law issues based on 25 years of experience teaching and practicing commercial and consumer law. Written in a scholarly tone, this book serves the needs of consumer lawyers as well as lenders, collectors, and consumer advocates for a comprehensive yet convenient one-volume reference.
Anderson's Ohio Creditors' Rights (Lexis) Leads the attorney step-by-step through all the situations and problems that a creditor may encounter in attempting to collect money from a debtor. Ohio Creditor's Rights is particularly useful for law clerks or the support staff of attorneys who delegate certain aspects of collection work. All chapters are accompanied by examples, suggested forms, and other materials designed to assist in the practical aspects of representing creditors, and should be helpful to both the experienced collection attorney and the novice.Ohio Creditor's Rights also features: More than 100 forms, Practical examples and Preventive advice.
Anderson's Ohio Criminal Practice and Procedure (Lexis) Contains forms and information on criminal law and practice. Contains text with annotations immediately following, forms, the table of lesser included offenses, defense and prosecutor’s checklists, and a comprehensive index.
Anderson's Ohio Domestic Relations Practice Manual (Lexis) Written for the legal professional whose practice includes domestic relations cases, this manual leads the attorney step-by-step through a divorce or dissolution proceeding. In a convenient softcover format, Anderson's Ohio Domestic Relations Practice Manual provides practical advice as well as drafting suggestions for applicable forms. References are made to representative local rules and official forms as they apply to specific steps and issues. Focusing on the issues, questions, and problems that commonly arise in typical divorce or dissolution cases, this guidebook provides detailed coverage of special issues of current interest such as custody (allocation of parental rights and responsibilities), spousal and child support, and health care. Common post-decree matters such as modification of support or custody are also considered as well as issues relating to the validity and enforcement of antenuptial agreements.Features include:* Client Questionnaire * Fee Agreement Letter * Sample Pleadings, Motions, and Decrees* Sample Separation Agreement * Child Support Worksheets* Shared Parenting Worksheet and Sample Plans * Sample Temporary Restraining Order and Affidavit * Sample Qualified Domestic Relations Orders (QDROs) * Sample Decree Modification Motions* Sample Prenuptial Agreement* Domestic Relations Local Rules and Official Forms.
Anderson's Ohio Elder Law Practice Manual (Lexis) Anderson's Ohio Elder Law Practice Manual is an up-to-date and comprehensive manual that covers a broad range of financial and health care planning issues affecting Ohio seniors. This edition covers powers of attorney, living trusts, joint trusts, Medicaid, long-term care and Medigap insurance, durable powers of attorney for health care, and living wills. Financial and Health Care Planning for the Elderly in Ohio gives thorough explanations of applicable Ohio and federal law, as well as other selected states, such as Kentucky, Indiana and Florida.
Anderson's Ohio Family Law (Lexis) Anderson's Ohio Family Law is a three-volume set addressing the legal issues with regard to children, marriage, the elderly, and juvenile court practice and procedure. Volume One presents an overview of family law. Volume Two of Anderson's Ohio Family Law, Juvenile Court Practice and Procedure is a treatise designed specifically for Ohio's judges, child welfare workers, and other individuals active with or concerned about the welfare of children. Written by two of the state's leading authorities on juvenile law, it contains the most comprehensive review and discussion of Ohio's statutory and case law available on the subject of juvenile court practice and procedure. Anderson's Ohio Family Law also includes the Ohio Family Law Handbook.
Anderson's Ohio Manual of Criminal Complaints and Indictments (Lexis) provides police officers and prosecutors with an easy-to-use format for filing criminal charges and preparing indictments.Completely revised, this important resource provides instant access to accurate charging information-containing complete language for all offenses in Title 29 of the Ohio Revised Code, as enacted and amended through July 1, 1998, as well as important statutory definitions.
Anderson's Ohio Personal Injury Litigation Manual (Lexis) Anderson's Ohio Personal Injury Litigation Manual provides coverage of the most significant personal injury topics in Ohio: motor vehicle negligence, product liability, premises liability, government liability, and medical malpractice. It also includes hundreds of practice tips for the personal injury attorney, including checklists, warnings, strategic points, exceptions, and resources.
Anderson's Ohio Pretrial Litigation Practice Manual (Lexis) This manual is a complete step-by-step guide to handling a civil case prior to trial, from pre-filing investigation and planning through the final pretrial conference and settlement. It explains the procedures governing initial and responsive pleadings, pretrial motion practice, and discovery. It also identifies potential problems, suggesting effective strategies for dealing with such matters as the argumentative deposition witness or fragmented testimony.
Anderson's Ohio Probate Practice and Procedure (Lexis) This set remains the most thorough and useful authority on Ohio probate law, practice, and procedure Volume One consists of comprehensive, annotated text discussing every aspect of probate procedure in chronological order detailing every move the practitioner will need to follow in Outlines of Procedure. Volume Two includes new and revised Standard Probate Forms and Estate Tax Forms.Also included is a complete set of forms on topics not covered by standard forms.
Anderson's Ohio Residential Real Estate Manual (Lexis) This edition of Anderson's Ohio Residential Real Estate Manual is full of complete and updated information relating to every aspect of the real estate transaction in Ohio. Each chapter has been revised and updated to include the most recent statutory and case information. New materials include:* Detailed review of the new Agency Disclosure Requirements in Ohio with forms* Detailed review of the Lead Paint Disclosure Requirements in Ohio with new forms and related information* Discussion of new statutory material on Trustee Deeds* Updated and revised forms
Anderson's Ohio School Law Guide (Lexis) Anderson's Ohio School Law Guide is a comprehensive, practical work that gives definitive answers to questions relating to public schools. School board members, administrators, teachers of school law, and attorneys engaged in the practice of school law will find this work indispensable. Author Kimball H. Carey covers: * school districts* administration* school finance and management* buildings and property* teachers, pupils, and pupil services* liability of school districts and officers* federal issues.
Anderson's Ohio Securities Law and Practice (Lexis) The undisputed authoritative source on Ohio's blue sky laws, Anderson's Ohio Securities Law and Practice set combines the formal requirements and more informal aspects of Ohio securities practice, explaining all aspects of Ohio blue sky practice, from routine registration, exemption, and liability questions to more complex issues involving Ohio's merit requirements.
Anderson's The Law of Professional Conduct in Ohio (Lexis) On February 1, 2007, the Ohio Rules of Professional Conduct replaced the Ohio Code of Professional Responsibility, a set of standards that had been in place since 1970. To reflect the new rules, Anderson's The Law of Professional Responsibility in Ohio has been revised by Susan J. Becker, Jack A. Guttenberg and Lloyd B. Snyder and reissued as Anderson's The Law of Professional Conduct in Ohio. The Ohio Rules of Professional Conduct depart from the prior Ohio Code of Professional Responsibility in many ways both large and small. This book describes the new standards. This new work describes in great detail which rules differ from prior principles, describes some of the more noteworthy features of the new rules and points out how changes in the new rules add clarity and precision to the former Code's substantive standards. The authors have also added a series of "best practices" tips outlining specific advice and warnings for attorneys.

Ohio Practice Materials

Ohio Jurisprudence 3d (Lexis) The encyclopedia contains more than 400 separate titles on a broad range of legal topics which, taken together, systematically describe the entire field of Ohio legal doctrine. Each title is updated annually and any supplementary materials are included as part of the document updated.
Ohio Jurisprudence 3d (Westlaw) Ohio Jurisprudence, Third Edition is a current and comprehensive encyclopedia of Ohio law, containing an analytical treatment of all law established in Ohio courts and by acts of the legislature.
Professionalism Dos and Don’ts: Legal Writing The Supreme Court of Ohio Commission on Professionalism has prepared this list of “DOs and DON’Ts” to guide lawyers in their professional writing.
The Supreme Court of Ohio Writing Manual Part I, the Manual of Citations, governs the citation format used in Supreme Court opinions and other opinions. It sets forth rules for the forms of citation for cases, statutes, and other sources, provides examples for each category, and explains the use of WebCites. Part II, the Style Guide, provides direction on certain aspects of style used in Supreme Court opinions. Subjects covered include capitalization, punctuation, use of footnotes and headings, captions, and commonly misused words. Part III, the Structure of a Judicial Opinion, is a guide intended to assist writers of judicial opinions. It offers an outline setting forth the basic components of an opinion in the traditional sequence, followed by several examples written in the Supreme Court style.