Skip to main content
UC Logo
Libraries | Ask the Libraries

1-L Survival Guide

This guide provides vital information on library services for first year law students.

Overview

Legal dictionaries provide short definitions or explanations of terms and phrases. The sources for the definitions will vary by dictionary.  Legal dictionaries are great places to get an understanding of legal terminology but they are not particularly authoritative sources. 

Search the UC Library Catalog

Search UCLID for additional legal dictionaries by clicking the link below:

Law -- United States -- Dictionaries

Selected Legal Dictionaries

Citation Format for Dictionaries

Bluebook

Rule 15.8 and B15.1 of the Bluebook (20th ed. 2015) governs the citation of dictionaries.

Elements

The citation should include the following:

  • Word (italicized)
  • Dictionary (underlined)
  • Edition
  • Year

Example

Replevin, Black's Law Dictionary (10th ed. 2014).

ALWD

Rule 22.1(a) of the ALWD Citation Manual (5th ed. 2014) covers the citation of dictionaries.

Elements

The citation should include the following:

  • Title of the Dictionary (italicized of underlined)
  • Page number
  • Editor
  • Edition
  • Year

Example

Black's Law Dictionary 14291 (Bryan A. Garner ed., 10th ed. 2014).

 

University of Cincinnati Libraries

PO Box 210033 Cincinnati, Ohio 45221-0033

Phone: 513-556-1424

Contact Us | Staff Directory

University of Cincinnati

Alerts | Clery and HEOA Notice | Notice of Non-Discrimination | eAccessibility Concern | Privacy Statement | Copyright Information

© 2019 University of Cincinnati