Skip to main content
Banner Image

Exam Study Guide

Did you know the Law Library can help you prepare for law school exams? Consult this guide for our exam preparation resources.

Let the Law Library Help with Exams!

Entrance to the Law LibraryMost law students find taking law school exams very stressful! This guide is intended to introduce you to the many ways that the Law Library can assist you in studying for exams. We can't take your exams for you but we can help you succeed!

In addition to our Library resources, 1-Ls should be sure and participate in the Structured Study Groups offered by the Academic Success Program. Second and third year students can contact the Director of Academic Success and Bar Programs for additional exam preparation help.

Study Aids

Study aids can be an important tool to help you succeed in law school. Remember that not all study aids are created equal and that the different types of study aids serve different purposes. This page lists the various study aids that the Law Library has purchased for your use. The majority of our study aids have been moved from closed reserves to the Reference 2 Collection area. We have also recently purchased a subscription to online study aids through West Academic. 

If accessing the online study aids from the West Academic subscription for the first time, you will need to create a West Academic account. To create an account, log in to Westlaw. If you scroll down a little on the page, on the left you will see a picture with the caption: Study Aids Subscription. Click on that picture and it will take you to the West Academic page where you can create an account. Below is a link to a short video on how to create your account. Once you have created an account, you can use the links below to access individual study aids for first year subjects or you can access all study aids through Westlaw or https://subscription.westacademic.com/LearnMore/StudyAidsHome.aspx.

Acing Series

What Is the Acing Series?

Acing Civil ProcedureTitles in the Acing Series use a unique checklist format with sequential questions that help students fully evaluate a subject. The books also present numerous hypothetical problems and sample answers.

These are available electronically through the Library's West Academic Study Aids subscription. Sign in at https://subscription.westacademic.com/LearnMore/StudyAidsHome.aspx or through Westlaw. If accessing the Study Aids for the first time, you will need to create an account. Once this has been completed, you will be able to enter the Study Aids Subscription page.

Black Letter Outlines

What Are Black Letter Outlines?

Black Letter Outline ContractsThe Black Letter Outline Series is designed to help students recognize, understand and master the primary principles of law by gaining a good understanding of the rule of law first before applying it to complex fact patterns. They contain comprehensive outlines of particular areas of law, a capsule summary of each outline, practice examinations, and examples and review questions.

These are available electronically through the Library's West Academic Study Aids subscription. Sign in at https://subscription.westacademic.com/LearnMore/StudyAidsHome.aspx. If accessing the Study Aids for the first time, you will need to create an account. Once this has been completed, you will be able to enter the Study Aids Subscription page.

CALI

CALI logoWhat Is CALI?

CALI stands for Computer-Assisted Legal Instruction.  CALI.org is a non-profit consortium of law schools – of which UC Law is a member – that develops and distributes legal education lessons to the consortium members. CALI courses are available online at http://www.cali.org.

How to Access CALI

You will need to set up a username and password to use CALI online. Go to http://www.cali.org/user/register and click the Create an Account link.  You will be asked to enter UC Law’s authorization code.  You can get this code from any reference librarian or at the Circulation Desk. Once you have entered the authorization code, you can set up your username and password.  Read the CALI FAQs at http://www.cali.org/faq/15694.

CALI Lessons

There are over 900 CALI lessons dealing with over 30 legal subjects.  You can browse descriptions of them at http://www.cali.org/lesson. You can also browse lessons tied to a specific casebook: http://www.cali.org/content/lessons-casebook.

CALI E-Books

CALI publishes a selected number of free e-books. Of particular note are the Federal Rules. The e-books are available at http://www.cali.org/the-elangdell-bookstore.

 

Concepts & Insights

What Are Concepts & Insights?

The Law of Property Concepts & InsightsThis series, published by West, provides an overview of an area of law. It is similar to the Understanding series. You can see what titles the Law Library owns by doing a series title search in UCLID or clicking on the Complete List of Concepts and Insights.

 

Concise Hornbooks

What Are Concise Hornbooks?

Principles of Civil ProcedureThis series features concise analyses of basic areas of law by prominent legal scholars. It is a condensed version of the more in-depth hornbook. You can see what concise hornbooks the Law Library owns by doing a series title search in UCLID or clicking on the Complete List of Concise Hornbooks.

These are available electronically through the Library's West Academic Study Aids subscription. Sign in at https://subscription.westacademic.com/LearnMore/StudyAidsHome.aspx or through Westlaw. If accessing the Study Aids for the first time, you will need to create an account. Once this has been completed, you will be able to enter the Study Aids Subscription page.

CrunchTime

What Is the CrunchTime series?

CrunchTime for TortsThis study aid provides flow charts, capsule summaries, exam tips, short answer exam questions, multiple choice questions, and essay questions with model answers.You can see all books in the CrunchTime series that the Law Library owns by doing a series title search in UCLID or clicking the Complete List of CrunchTime books.

E-Flash Cards

What Are E-Flash Cards?

E-Flash Cards are online flash cards for Contracts and Torts. These are available electronically through the Library's West Academic Study Aids subscription. These are available electronically through the Library's West Academic Study Aids subscription. Sign in at https://subscription.westacademic.com/LearnMore/StudyAidsHome.aspx or through Westlaw. If accessing the Study Aids for the first time, you will need to create an account. Once this has been completed, you will be able to enter the Study Aids Subscription page.

Exam Pro Series (Sum & Substance)

What Is the Exam Pro Series (Sum & Substance)?

Burkoff and Burkoff's Exam Pro Objective on Criminal LawThe Exam Pro Series are study aids that offer sample exams and corresponding answers with detailed analysis. Each Exam Pro title is authored by a leading law professor and recognized expert in an area of law and contains multiple choice and essay questions based on current court decisions. Detailed explanations for each answer describe the best possible choice as well as red herring answers, which helps increase law student understanding of a topic and build exam skills. These are available electronically through the Library's West Academic Study Aids subscription. After logging onto Westlaw select “My eProducts” and the study aid subscription will appear.

These are available electronically through the Library's West Academic Study Aids subscription. Sign in at https://subscription.westacademic.com/LearnMore/StudyAidsHome.aspx or through Westlaw. If accessing the Study Aids for the first time, you will need to create an account. Once this has been completed, you will be able to enter the Study Aids Subscription page.

Examples & Explanations

What Is the Examples & Explanations Series?

Constitutional Law Individual Rights Examples & ExplanationsExamples & Explanations is a series published by Aspen that provides you with explanations and analysis for a topic and then gives examples to help you fully understand the analysis. A series of problems at the end of each section or chapter assist you in testing your understanding. Answers are provided for these problems. You can see a complete list of the Examples & Explanations the Law Library owns by doing a series title search in UCLID or clicking on the Complete List of Examples & Explanations.

Gilbert Law Summaries Audio

What Are Gilbert Law Summary Audio CDs?

Civil Procedure Gilbert Law Summaries Audio CDThese Gilbert Law Summaries feature lectures on audio CD by well-known law professors. You can see all of the Gilbert Law Summary Audio CDs that the Library owns by doing a title search in UCLID or click on the Complete List of Gilbert Law Summaries.

Gilbert Law Summaries

What Are Gilbert Law Summaries?

Gilbert Law Summaries on Personal PropertyGilbert Law Summaries give students a detailed, comprehensive outline to prepare for exams. Each title also includes a capsule summary that is perfect for last minute review. Students can test their knowledge and fine tune exam skills with Gilbert's actual law school exam questions (multiple choice, short answer, and essay) which are featured at the back of each outline. Every question comes with a fully explained answer, and each question is cross-referenced back to the main outline for further review.

These are available electronically through the Library's West Academic Study Aids subscription. Sign in at https://subscription.westacademic.com/LearnMore/StudyAidsHome.aspx or through Westlaw. If accessing the Study Aids for the first time, you will need to create an account. Once this has been completed, you will be able to enter the Study Aids Subscription page.

Glannon Guides

What Are Glannon Guides?

The Glannon Guide to Criminal LawThe Glannon Guides feature brief explanatory text about the topic under discussion, followed by one or two multiple-choice questions. After each question, the author explains how the correct choice was chosen. A more challenging final question in each chapter illustrates a more sophisticated problem in the area under discussion. You can find Glannon Guides that the Law Library owns by searching UCLID or clicking on the Complete List of Glannon Guides.

Hornbooks

What Are hornbooks?

Criminal Law HornbookThink of a hornbook as a mini-treatise for law students. It provides a more in-depth analysis of law school subjects than the other series. They will typically cover cases used in law school classes. You can see what hornbooks the Law Library owns by doing a series title search in UCLID or clicking on the Complete List of Hornbooks.

Law in a Flash

What Are Law in a Flash sets?

Law in a Flash TortsLaw in a Flash are flash cards for legal subjects. You can see what Law in a Flash sets the Law Library owns by doing a series title search in UCLID or clicking on the Complete List of Law in a Flash.

Law Stories Series

What Are Law Stories?

Contracts StoriesThe Law Stories series brings famous cases to life by telling the true, never-heard-before stories behind landmark cases. This fascinating series of texts covers significant cases in major areas of law, including tax, torts, constitutional law, civil procedure and property.

These are available electronically through the Library's West Academic Study Aids subscription. Sign in at https://subscription.westacademic.com/LearnMore/StudyAidsHome.aspx or through Westlaw. If accessing the Study Aids for the first time, you will need to create an account. Once this has been completed, you will be able to enter the Study Aids Subscription page.

Nutshells

What Is a Nutshell?

Legal Writing in a NutshellNutshells are little paperback books that give a concise overview of an area of law. You can see what nutshells the Law Library owns by doing a series title search in UCLID or clicking on the link for the Complete List of Nutshells.

These are available electronically through the Library's West Academic Study Aids subscription. Sign in at https://subscription.westacademic.com/LearnMore/StudyAidsHome.aspx or through Westlaw. If accessing the Study Aids for the first time, you will need to create an account. Once this has been completed, you will be able to enter the Study Aids Subscription page.

Q & A's

What Is a Q&A?

Q & A: Criminal LawQ&A books consist of multiple choice and short answer questions with detailed explanations of the answers. You can see a complete list of the Q&A titles the Law Library owns by doing a series title search in UCLID or clicking on the Complete List of Q&As.

Quick Review (Sum & Substance)

What Is the Quick Review (Sum and Substance) Series?

Quick Review Sum & Substance PropertyThis series contains capsule summary outlines each section with a clear and concise explanation of legal concepts and terms, along with exam hints, strategies, mnemonics, charts, tables and study tips. Self-testing and diagnostic review questions facilitate application of legal concepts. Also provides capsule summaries of significant cases identifying important facts, primary issues and relevant law. Essay and multiple choice questions, model answers, and detailed explanations help with exam preparation.

These are available electronically through the Library's West Academic Study Aids subscription. Sign in at https://subscription.westacademic.com/LearnMore/StudyAidsHome.aspx or through Westlaw. If accessing the Study Aids for the first time, you will need to create an account. Once this has been completed, you will be able to enter the Study Aids Subscription page.

Restatements

RestatementsWhat Are Restatements?

Restatements are secondary sources that seek to create a uniform "restatement" of the legal rules that constitute the common law in a particular area.  They are written by the American Law Institute (ALI), a prestigious legal organization composed of noted professors, judges and lawyers. They cover areas of  law that include such first-year subjects as  Torts, Contracts, and Property.

Each Restatement consists of a set of topical volumes, which contain the actual "black letter" legal rules and drafters' commentary, and a set of Appendix volumes, which contain summaries of cases which have adopted or interpreted the Restatement rules.  The Comments are written by the drafters of the Restatement to explain the provision and identify its limitations.  If the provision addresses an area of law about which there is disagreement among jurisdictions, the comment will explain why the Restatement adopts one position as opposed to the other. The "Illustrations" sections of the Restatement provide examples of how a particular Restatement provision would apply in specific factual situations.  Many of these Illustrations are based on actual cases.

You can see what Restatements the Law Library owns by doing a keyword title search in UCLID.

Understanding Series

What Is the Understanding Series?

Understanding ContractsThe Understanding series is published by LexisNexis and provides an overview and analysis of legal subjects.  It provides less analysis than a hornbook but more than a nutshell. You can see a complete list of the Understanding titles the Law Library owns by doing a series title search in UCLID or clicking on the Complete List of Understanding books.

Short Happy Guides

What Are Short Happy Guides?

A Short Happy Guide to TortsThese study aids take difficult subject matter and make it accessible and easy to remember. They provide clear explanations, logical sequencing of the material, colorful acronyms, metaphor and imagery.

These are available electronically through the Library's West Academic Study Aids subscription. Sign in at https://subscription.westacademic.com/LearnMore/StudyAidsHome.aspx or through Westlaw. If accessing the Study Aids for the first time, you will need to create an account. Once this has been completed, you will be able to enter the Study Aids Subscription page.

LegalLines

What Are Legallines?

This law school study aid provides detailed explanations of the cases in certain casebooks. Each brief includes the facts of the case, issues, holdings, and the court's reasoning. The format includes background information and statements of law that relate the cases to the overall law. Please note that there may not be a title keyed to the textbook that your particular professor is using.

These are available electronically through the Library's West Academic Study Aids subscription. Sign in at https://subscription.westacademic.com/LearnMore/StudyAidsHome.aspx or through Westlaw. If accessing the Study Aids for the first time, you will need to create an account. Once this has been completed, you will be able to enter the Study Aids Subscription page.

Notice of Non-Discrimination | Copyright Information © 2015 University of Cincinnati