Research Guides: Researching Judges: Nominations & Confirmations

About

Monitoring judicial nominations and confirmations can help you anticipate shifts in political ideology and the overall composition of the judiciary. For law students, keeping an eye on judicial nominations can also provide an additional opportunity for judicial clerkship positions. Many newly appointed judges will need to hire clerks and depending on the date of the appointment, may not receive as many resumes as other judges.

Nominations & Confirmations

BNA’s Directory of State and Federal Courts, Judges, and Clerks Provides names, titles, street addresses, phone/fax numbers, Internet sites, e-mail addresses, and TDD/TTY for judges, clerks and court administrators. It also includes a list of nominations for federal judgeships with nominee’s name, state of residence, and other information. Federal appellate court jurisdiction map and list and state court structure charts showing interrelationships and routes of appeal for all courts of record are also available.
more...less...
This publication is also available in the UC College of Law Center for Professional Development, Suite 201G
Congress.gov Provides the status of Presidential nominations for Federal Judges.
Federal Judges and Justices: A Current Listing of Nominations, Confirmations, Elevations, Contains a listing of nominations, confirmations, elevations, resignations, and retirements in the federal judiciary. For each nominee, a brief biography is included. Coverage goes back to the 99th Congress (1985) through the 107th Congress (2001).
Judicial Nominations Provides a list of federal judicial nominations. The information is derived from multiple sources, including the Congressional Record, but should not be construed as official. Addresses are taken from a variety of directories and sources at the time of nomination.
The Third Branch Newsletter of the federal courts which includes current federal nominations confirmations, appointments, elevations, resignations, retirements, and deaths. See the Judicial Milestones and Judicial Boxscore sections for additional information.
U.S. Senate Provides the names of attorneys nominated by the President or confirmed by the Senate to serve as Federal Judges.
U.S. Senate Committee on the Judiciary Contains lists of pending and confirmed federal judicial nominations.
United States Courts Includes a listing of federal judicial confirmations.
United States Department of Justice Judicial Nominations The data on this site provide an overview of federal judicial nomination and confirmation activity relating to each Congress since the 107th (2001-present).