Research Guides: Researching Judges: Judicial Writing

About

There are many guides and handbooks available to learn more about the format judges use when writing opinions which can lend insight into interpreting judicial opinions. In addition to these sources, many judges also write articles on topics of interest which can be useful in shedding light on how a judge may interpret a specific legal question.

Judicial Writing

Judicial Opinion Writing Handbook Reviews existing methods, styles, rules and techniques described in numberous books and articles. Forms and structure outlines serve as a guide to the judicial writer. Also includes a section on Judge’s Views, which contains comments and ideas from many prominent judges, as well as a section dealing with the criticism of judges.
Judicial Opinion Writing Manual: A Product of the Appellate Judges Conference, Judicial Administration Division, American Bar Association Provides information on the format of appellate opinions and guidelines on writing the opinions. It also includes information on writing style and citation formats.
Judicial Writing Manual The Federal Judicial Center has prepared this manual to help judges organize opinions and improve their opinion writing. Drawing on interviews with twenty-four experienced judges, and guided by a board of editors comprising judges, law professors, and writers, the manual offers advice on writing tailored to the needs of the federal judiciary.
Law Reviews and Journals (Lexis) This database is available to UC LAW students and faculty. Use the Author field (AU) to search for articles written by a particular judge. For example, to search for articles written by Judge Painter, you would search: AU(mark w/2 painter)
Law Reviews and Journals (Westlaw) This database is available to UC LAW students and faculty. Search the Secondary Sources (TP-ALL) database. Use the Author field (AU) to search for articles written by a particular judge. For example, to search for articles written by Judge Painter, you would search: AU(mark w/2 painter)