Research Guides: Federal Legislative History Guide: Debates

About Congressional Debates

The Congressional Record, published since 1873, is the official record of the proceedings and debates of the United States Congress. It contains transcripts of floor debates including remarks by members of Congress, their votes, proposed amendments, conference committee reports, messages from the President, and occasionally the text of the bills.

Sample Citation

99 Cong. Rec. 2988 (1953)

Locating Congressional Debates

HeinOnline
The U.S. Congressional Documents Library includes the full text of congressional debates, including the "Daily Edition".
Coverage: 1789
A Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation
A Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation: U.S. Congressional Documents and Debates 1774-1875 (part of the Library of Congress's American Memory collection) includes records of debates.
Coverage: 1789 - 1873

Govinfo.gov
Govinfo.gov is a new, dynamic way for the public to discover and access Government information on the three branches of the Federal Government. Govinfo is a user-friendly, modernized site that provides an easy to use navigation system accessible on smartphones, tablets, laptops and personal computers. GPO receives information from Federal agencies and organizations in all three branches of the Government. Its content feeds The Library of Congress’ www.congress.gov and the Federal Register site.
ProQuest Congressional Publications
ProQuest Congressional provides access to congressional debates through the "Advanced Search". Congressional Record & Predecessors.Coverage: 1789 -
Westlaw
Westlaw is a legal database restricted to law faculty, staff and students.
Lexis+ This link opens in a new window
Lexis Advance is a legal database restricted to law faculty, staff and students.