Research Guides: Philosophy & Religion at UCBA: Home

Philosophy & Religion Databases and Encyclopedias

The following databases include current and historical articles in journals, magazines and newspapers covering philosophy and religion.

PhilPapers
PhilPapers is a comprehensive index and bibliography of philosophy maintained by the community of philosophers. Using advanced trawling techniques and large scale crowdsourcing, all sources of research content in philosophy are monitored, including journals, books, open access archives, and personal pages maintained by academics. We also host the largest open access archive in philosophy.
Encyclopedia of Philosophy (Online)
English-language reference source for philosophy¸" has been the cornerstone of the philosophy reference shelf. Lauded for its clear and accessible presentation of wide-ranging philosophical subjects¸ the Encyclopedia has earned its place as a first-stop resource for general readers¸ students and educators.
Edition: 2006, 2nd ed., 10 vol.
Religion and Philosophy Collection
The database includes full text of over 290 journals covering such topics as world religions¸ major denominations¸ biblical studies¸ religious history¸ epistemology¸ political philosophy¸ philosophy of language¸ moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.
ATLA Religion Database
(Formerly Religion Index) ATLA Religion Database¸ produced by the America Theological Society¸ is a comprehensive reference database designed to support religious and theological scholarship. It contains more than one million citations from 1¸400+ international journal titles and 14¸000 multi-author works and book reviews related to religious studies.
Coverage: 1949 - present

Interdisciplinary Databases

The following databases are interdisciplinary databases that, while not specifically about philosophy or religion, contain a wide range of journal, newspapers and sources that cover these topics extensively.

Academic Search Complete
This scholarly collection offers full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study. An excellent starting point for research.
Coverage: 1865 - present
Oxford Reference Online
The Core Collection is a huge and comprehensive resource that contains over 100 dictionaries and reference titles covering the complete subject spectrum: from General Reference and Language to Science and Medicine¸ and from Humanities and Social Sciences to Business and Professional.
Credo Reference
Credo Reference is a ready-reference solution for learners and librarians. Its full-text¸ aggregated content covers every major subject from the world's best publishers of reference materials. The content is enriched with images¸ sound files¸ maps and customizable data tables.
Coverage: varies

Accessing Library Resources

How to Access Library Resources: Click the link to a library resource. You may be prompted to log in with your UC username and password. You may have to complete Duo Two-Factor Authentication as well.

These prompts can occur both on and off campus.

Additional Information and Resources for Accessing Library Resources

Affiliate and Guest Access
Information for Affiliates, Guests and Alumni for connecting from off campus.
Help and Troubleshooting
Tech support for common connection and password issues.
Tools
Proxy link generators and linking via Google Scholar.