Skip to main content
UC Logo
Libraries | Ask the Libraries

Archives & Rare Books Library

The Archives & Rare Books Library acquires and provides access to special materials for research and instructional use by the local community and the scholarly world.

Contact Us

Archives and Rare Books Library
8th Floor Blegen Library
P.O. Box 210113
2602 McMicken Circle
Cincinnati, Ohio 45221-0113
Phone: (513) 556-1959
archives@ucmail.uc.edu 

About the Archives & Rare Books Library

Blegen Library

The Archives & Rare Books Library acquires and provides access to special materials for research and instructional use by the local community and the scholarly world. It is responsible for the University Archives, Rare Books Collection, Records Management Program, the German-Americana Collection, and archival collections that are grouped primarily in the Urban Studies Collection and the Ohio Network Collection. 

Visiting the Archives and Rare Books Library

Blegen Library

The Archives and Rare Books Library is open to the University community and the public Monday through Friday from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. except for University holidays. We ask that patrons make an appointment, especially if travelling from distances or doing genealogical research. Some of our material is stored in an offsite facility and will take one week to be made available. 

All researchers will be asked to sign our guest registry and provide a photo ID at the time of each visit.

Photocopies can be made for 25 cents per page. Most rare books and some collections cannot be photocopied due to possible damage to the material, but it might be possible to take non-flash photographs.

Finding Aids

Find brief descriptions of our archival holdings and links to finding aids on our website. Please check these pages occasionally as collections continue to be added. Adobe Reader will be needed to view some of the collection inventories. Many finding aids are also available on OhioLINK's Finding Aid RepositoryMany collections are stored off-site. It will require up to a week to retrieve these boxes so please make any requests in advance.

Our rare book and reference holdings can be found in the UC Libraries catalog. Limit the location in your search to "Archives and Rare Books Library" to find only those books located in our collections.

 

Exhibits

The Archvies & Rare Books Library creates exhibits and image galleries designed to highlight our collections and to demonstrate the scope of our matierial and its value in historical research.  See the entire scope on our Exhibits page

Digital Collections

Some of our collections have been digitized and are available online:

University of Cincinnati Libraries

PO Box 210033 Cincinnati, Ohio 45221-0033

Phone: 513-556-1424

Contact Us | Staff Directory

University of Cincinnati

Alerts | Clery and HEOA Notice | Notice of Non-Discrimination | eAccessibility Concern | Privacy Statement | Copyright Information

© 2019 University of Cincinnati