Skip to Main Content
Electronic Books and Primary Source Materials
e-Books at UC Libraries
An e-book is a book in digital format. Many digital books are available online free of charge or inexpensively from book vendors, such as Amazon, etc.
University of Cincinnati Libraries provide access to thousands of e-books in a variety of subject areas. You can access e-books wherever and whenever you need them. It is important to understand that books available through UC Libraries work differently than the books you buy for your personal use. Guide introduction by Olga Hart
ACLS Humanities E-Book
Humanities E-Book is an online collection of over 1500 books of high quality¸ covering most humanities disciplines and area studies. These are works of major importance¸ from 250 publishers¸ that remain vital to both scholars and advanced students¸ and are frequently cited in the literature. HEB now adds approximately 300 books annually to the collection. Titles come from 250 publishers and have been selected by eleven ACLS learned societies or reviewed by a panel of distinguished scholars. HEB currently works with nearly 80 university presses. Humanities E-Book was formerly known as the History E-Book Project.
Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)
The stated aim of the Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) is to bring together the riches of America's libraries¸ archives¸ and museums¸ and make them freely available to the world. It strives to contain the full breadth of human expression¸ from the written word¸ to works of art and culture¸ to records of America's heritage¸ to the efforts and data of science. The DPLA aims to make the realm of openly available materials more easily discovered and more widely used. This resource offers a single point of access to millions of items including photographs¸ manuscripts¸ books¸ sounds¸ moving images¸ and more from libraries¸ archives¸ and museums around the United States. Users can browse and search the DPLA's collections by timeline¸ map¸ format¸ and topic. Users can also save items to customized lists and share their lists with others
Early American Imprints¸ Series I. Evans (1639-1800)
Based on the renowned American Bibliography by Charles Evans. The definitive resource for every aspect of life in 17th- and 18th- century America¸ from agriculture and auctions through foreign affairs¸ diplomacy¸ literature¸ music¸ religion¸ the Revolutionary War¸ temperance¸ witchcraft¸ and just about any other topic imaginable. Upon completion¸ Evans Digital will consist of more than 36¸000 works and 2¸400¸000 images.
Coverage - 1639 - 1800
Early American Imprints¸ Series II. Shaw-Shoemaker (1801-1819)
Provides full-text and full-page-image access to books¸ pamphlets¸ and broadsides published in America from 1801 through 1819. Contains many state papers and government materials¸ including published reports; presidential letters and messages; and congressional¸ state and territorial resolutions. Based on the American Bibliography by Ralph R. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker¸ which is now supplemented by thousands of new items. Allows browsing by genre¸ subject¸ author¸ printing history¸ place of publication¸ and language. Allows searching in citation text¸ title¸ subject¸ genre¸ author¸ place of publication¸ publisher¸ and document number. Cross-searchable with other Archive of Americana collections
Early English Books Online
Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains over 125¸000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640)¸ Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700)¸ and the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661). The Early English Books Tract Supplements will also be added to EEBO soon. Among the thousands of titles featured in EEBO are works by Malory¸ Bacon¸ More¸ Erasmus¸ Boyle¸ Newton¸ Galileo; musical exercises by Henry Purcell and novels by Aphra Behn; prayer books¸ pamphlets¸ and proclamations; almanacs¸ calendars¸ and many other primary sources.
Coverage:Full Text; 1473-1700
Edward Blank YIVO Vilna Online Collections
The materials in these collections represent Jewish life throughout Europe, including Eastern Europe, Central and Western Europe, and the Americas. The time frame runs from the seventeenth century to 1940, with the bulk of materials dating from the years between the two world wars. They are among the few prewar Jewish collections to have survived the Holocaust. As historian Jack Jacobs notes, “It is simply impossible to write a dissertation or do any serious research project related to Eastern European Jewry without consulting the YIVO materials.”
ProQuest Ebook Central
ProQuest Ebook Central (formerly ebrary and EBL) has over 25,000 academic books online. You can search by subject¸ author¸ title¸ or publisher.
EBSCOhost Ebook Collection
Books available to browse¸ view and check out online.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)
The Eighteenth Century Collections Online provides access to the digital images of every page of 150¸000 books published during the 18th Century. With full-text searching of approximately 33 million pages¸ the product allows researchers new methods of access to critical information in fields of history¸ literature¸ religion¸ law¸ fine arts¸ and sermons to advertisements-and works by many well-known and lesser-known authors¸ all providing a diverse collection of material for the researcher of the eighteenth century. Included are works from women writers of the eighteenth century; collections on the French Revolution; and numerous editions of the works of Shakespeare. Multiple editions of each individual work are offered to enable scholars to make textual comparisons of the works. Supported by the Charles Phelps Taft Research Center.
Welcome to The Gerritsen Collection - Women's History Online¸ an international digital library that spans four centuries and documents the lives and experiences of women in public and private arenas. The database contains 265 periodicals and 4¸471 monographs published from 1543-1945 in fifteen different languages.
NOTE: This collection moved from the Chadwyck-Healey platform to the ProQuest platform in June 2022.
Gutenberg-e is a series of award-winning digital monographs in history¸ selected by the American Historical Association and published by Columbia University Press.
Alert: Use Internet Explorer or Netscape Communicator to access content.
HathiTrust Digital Library
HathiTrust was conceived as a collaboration of the thirteen universities of the Committee on Institutional Cooperation and the University of California system to establish a repository for these universities to archive and share their digitized collections. Partnership is open to all who share this grand vision
Making of America (HathiTrust) (formerly at Cornell University)
Cornell access moved to HathiTrust in 2018 : Making of America (MOA) is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education¸ psychology¸ American history¸ sociology¸ religion¸ and science and technology. The collection currently contains approximately 8¸500 books and 50¸000 journal articles with 19th century imprints.
Making of America (University of Michigan)
Making of America (MOA) is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education¸ psychology¸ American history¸ sociology¸ religion¸ and science and technology. The collection currently contains approximately 8¸500 books and 50¸000 journal articles with 19th century imprints.
Making of Modern Law : Legal Treatises 1800-1926 (MOML)
Originally derived from two essential reference collections for historical legal studies¸ the Nineteenth Century and Twentieth Century Legal Treatises microfilm collections. Provides digital images on every page of 22¸000 legal treatises on US and British law published from 1800 through 1926. Full-text searching on more than 10 million pages provides researchers access to critical legal history¸ including casebooks¸ local practice manuals¸ form books¸ works for lay readers¸ pamphlets¸ letters¸ speeches and more. Coverage: 1800 - 1926
Making of the Modern World
The Making of the Modern World provides digital facsimile images of unique primary sources that track the development of the modern, western world through the lens of trade and wealth with a focus on economics, political science, history, philosophy, sociology, and special collections on banking, finance, transportation and manufacturing. The three collections can be searched together, or individually. Part I: The Goldsmiths’-Kress Collection, 1450-1850 includes major works of many economists, political pamphlets and broadsides, government publications, proclamations, and ephemera. Part II: 1851-1914 is comprised mainly of monographs, reports, correspondence, speeches, and surveys, providing international coverage of social, economic, and business history, as well as political science, technology, industrialization and the birth of the modern corporation. It provides a glimpse into the second half of the 19th century and the global events and crises that were witnessed by those living them. Part III: 1890-1945 includes transnational coverage in an area of political economy, with content covering the First World War, the Great Depression, and the Second World War. Supported by the Charles Phelps Taft Research Center.
Coverage: 1450 - 1945
Nineteenth Century Collections Online
Nineteenth Century Collections Online is a global digitization and publishing program focusing on primary source collections of the nineteenth century. Designed specifically with the researcher in mind¸ Nineteenth Century Collections Online has been built on a research platform that offers the robust search functionality and annotation and tagging tools necessary for scholarly work. The database includes a variety of content types--monographs¸ newspapers¸ pamphlets¸ manuscripts¸ photographs¸ ephemera¸ maps¸ statistics¸ and more--and unites them in one central¸ cross-searchable location. This database now includes parts 1 to 8: 1)Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange¸ 2) British Politics and Society¸ 3) British Theatre¸ Music and Literature: High and Popular Culture¸ and 4) European Literature¸ 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection¸ 5) Europe and Africa: Commerce¸ Christianity¸ Civilization¸ and Conquest¸ 6) Photography: The World Through the Lens¸ 7) Science¸ Technology and Medicine¸ 1780-1925¸ and 8) Women: Transnational Networks
Welcome to Project Gutenberg
Project Gutenberg is a library of over 60,000 free eBooks
Choose among free epub and Kindle eBooks, download them or read them online. You will find the world’s great literature here, with focus on older works for which U.S. copyright has expired[Site Description]
Sabin Americana (1500-1926) Collection Online
Based on Joseph Sabin's landmark bibliography, this collection contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's. Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement¸ Native Americans, military actions and much more. With over 6 million pages from 29,000 works, this collection is a cornerstone in the study of the western hemisphere.Supported by the Charles Phelps Taft Research Center. Coverage: 1500-1926
Women and Social Movements in Modern Empires since 1820
Women and Social Movements in Modern Empires since 1820 explores prominent themes in world history since 1820: conquest, colonization, settlement, resistance, and post-coloniality, as told through women’s voices. With a clear focus on bringing the voices of the colonized to the forefront, this highly-curated archive and database includes documents related to the Habsburg Empire, the Ottoman Empire, the British, French, Italian, Dutch, Russian, Japanese, and United States Empires, and settler societies in the United States, New Zealand and Australia. Coverage 1820 - present.
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000, Scholar's Edition
Women and Social Movements in the United States is a resource for students and scholars of U.S. history and U.S. women's history. Organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000, this collection seeks to advance scholarly debates and understanding about U.S. history generally at the same time that it makes the insights of women's history accessible to teachers and students at universities, colleges, and high schools. The collection currently includes 98 document projects and archives with more than 3,850 documents and 150,000 pages of additional full-text documents, and more than 2,100 primary authors. It also includes book, film, and website reviews, notes from the archives, and teaching tools. Supported by the Charles Phelps Taft Research Center. Coverage: 1600-2000
Women and Social Movements, International
Women and Social Movements, International is a landmark collection of primary materials. Through the writings of women activists, their personal letters and diaries, proceedings of conferences at which pivotal decisions were made, reports of international women's organizations, and publications and web pages of women's non-governmental organizations, and letters, diaries, and memoirs of women active internationally since the mid-nineteenth century, this collection lets you see how women's social movements shaped much of the events and attitudes that have defined modern life. Supported by the Charles Phelps Taft Research Center. Coverage:1840-present
Encyclopedias and Other Full Text Reference Works
Credo Reference is a ready-reference solution for learners and librarians. Its full-text¸ aggregated content covers every major subject from the world's best publishers of reference materials. The content is enriched with images¸ sound files¸ maps and customizable data tables.
Encyclopedia of Russian Jewry
Rujen.ru provides an Internet version of the Encyclopedia of Russian Jewry, which is published in Moscow since 1994, giving a comprehensive, objective picture of the life and activity of the Jews of Russia, the Soviet Union and the CIS. The encyclopedia is structurally divided into three parts: 1. biographical information, 2. local history of the Jewish community in pre-revolutionary Russia, the Soviet Union and the CIS, and 3. thematic information on concepts related to Jewish civilization, the contribution of the Jews of Russia in various fields of activity, various Jewish social, scientific, cultural organizations, etc. The originally published volumes contain more than 10,000 biographies and more than 10,000 place names. The electronic version contains corrections and additions in the form of new articles[JudaicaLink http://judaicalink.org/page/encyclopediae]
Gale Virtual Reference Library @ Gale Ebooks
Gale Ebooks (formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library) is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library¸ but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7.
Oxford Reference Online
The Core Collection is a huge and comprehensive resource that contains over 100 dictionaries and reference titles covering the complete subject spectrum: from General Reference and Language to Science and Medicine¸ and from Humanities and Social Sciences to Business and Professional.
The YIVO Encyclopedia of Jews in Eastern Europe
The only resource of its kind, this encyclopedia provides the most complete picture of the history and culture of Jews in Eastern Europe from the beginnings of their settlement in the region to the present. This website makes accurate, reliable, scholarly information about East European Jewish life accessible to everyone. [Site Description]