Research Guides: English Composition 2089: Researching Discourse: Research Refresher--Finding articles, books, and more!

Find Articles with Academic Search Complete

Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive database that is easy to search and contains materials on many different subjects.

Start your search:

1. Watch this overview video of tips for using Academic Search Complete (Link to Video)

2. Use the link below the video to access the database (it will prompt you to login via off campus access)

3. Use your keywords to start searching for sources on your topic.

4. Use the features to limit your search: format (type of source), date range, etc.

5. When you find an article you like, look for "Full Text" icons or links like these - PDF, PDF Full Text, HTML Full Text, Article Linker - in order to access the entire article online. Be sure to download, save, or email your article!

Access Academic Search Complete using the link below:

Academic Search Complete Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions includes more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields. Academic Search Complete offers critical information from many sources unique to this massive collection. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.Coverage: 1865 - present

Find a Little Bit of Everything in Summon, our Mega-Search Tool!

This tool searches for books, articles, and other materials...It's like a library version of Google!

Start your search:

1. Watch this overview video of tips for using Summon (Link to video here)

2. Use the search box below to directly search Summon; enter your keywords to get started!

3. Use the features to limit your search: content type (type of source), date range, etc.

4. When you find an article you like, click on the title; you'll be taken to a new page to access the article. Look for "Full Text" icons or links like these - PDF, PDF Full Text, HTML Full Text - in order to access the entire article online. Be sure to download, save, or email your article!

Directly search Summon using the box below:

Summon Step by Step Handout