The Copyright Handbook by 
Getting Permission by
Using copyrighted materials? Get permission and stay legal If you plan to use any copyrighted material for your own purposes, you need to get permission first from the owners of that work. If you don't, you could find yourself slapped with an expensive and time-consuming lawsuit. Getting Permission tackles the permissions process head-on -- without the legalese. It shines the light on whom to ask for permission, as well as when -- and how much to expect -- to pay for permission. Comprehensive and easy-to-read, the book covers: the permissions process the public domain copyright research fair use academic permissions the elements of a license and merchandise agreement the use of a trademark or fictional character and much more Getting Permission includes agreements for acquiring authorization to use text, photographs, artwork, and music, whether it's found online or off. The 4th edition of this essential guide is completely updated to reflect the latest laws and court decisions. Plus, read an all-new collection of practical, real-life FAQs, based on author Richard Stim's popular intellectual property blog, Dear Rich: Nolo's Patent, Copyright & Trademark Blog.
How to Make Patent Drawings by
Save on patent drafting and do it yourself! If you’re trying to patent your invention, you know need a drawing to complete your USPTO application. Professional patent drafters charge per sheet for their patent drawing services and it can cost you hundreds of dollars. But with How to Make Patent Drawings you’ll be able to complete this crucial step and create a patent drawing that complies with the strict rules of the USPTO. The 6th edition is completely updated to reflect recent changes to patent law and the newest advances in technical drawing. It includes all necessary forms with step-by-step instructions.
A Legal Guide to Web and Software Development by 
Patent, Copyright and Trademark by 
Patent Searching Made Easy by
Inventor? Find out if you're the first to file a patent, online and in the library In the past, if you wanted to assess the novelty of an idea, you had to wade through the patent database at the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office (PTO) in Virginia -- or hire a lawyer to do a patent search for $500 and up. The cost and inconvenience of these searches often meant that good ideas were left to rot on the vine. In Patent Searching Made Easy, find the plain-English information you need to: verify the patent status of an idea search Patent and Trademark Depository Libraries use online patent search services A physicist, engineer, and patent searching expert, author David Hitchcock gives you the vocabulary, instructions and strategies you need to search for a patent quickly and easily. He explains how the PTO classifies different types of inventions, so that you can assign your idea to the right class, compare it to related ideas, and then determine if it's novel enough to qualify for a patent. Patent Searching Made Easy shows you how do patent searches yourself, on the Internet, at little or no cost. Plus, you'll learn how to: prepare for online searches with the right hardware, software and computer skills access online patent searching resources narrow online searches with keywords and Boolean logic perform database searches at Patent and Trademark Depository Libraries (PTDLs) do microfiche searches at PTDLs search fee-based patent databases on the Internet search international patent offices, and do advanced searches at the PTO and PTDL. Written for both inventors and business owners interested in expanding their product line through the license, distribution or manufacture of other people's ideas, Patent Searching Made Easy is the easiest way for you to determine the answer to that all-important question, "Am I the first?"
Every Tenant's Legal Guide by 
