Disability Law

Encyclopedia of American Disability History is the first encyclopedia to focus on this important topic in U.S. history. By examining the issues, events, people, activism, laws, personal experiences, and social ramifications of disability throughout American history, this comprehensive three-volume reference provides a new and broader, more inclusive approach to our nation's past. More than 350 historians, scholars, and experts contributed to the 750-plus articles in this impressive work. Arranged alphabetically, each signed article includes cross-references to related entries and suggestions for further reading. Ideal for the high school and college curriculum, this accessible encyclopedia also includes a comprehensive chronology and dozens of original documents, as well as an extensive bibliography.

The Encyclopedia of Disability is an award-winning five-volume set from SAGE Reference, awarded Best Reference 2005 award from the Library Journal along with an Outstanding Award from the American Library Association's Booklist journal. It represents the first attempt to bring an authoritative reference resource to the many faces of disability. More than 500 world-renowned scholars have written over 1000 entries, in a clear, accessible style, with the desire to bring all students, researchers, and interested readers closer to the daily experience of disability. The first four volumes cover disability in an A to Z format, including a reader's guide, comprehensive bibliography and index. Volume five contains a wealth of primary source documents in the field of disability, everything from photographs to correspondence to excerpts from movie scripts and more. ·· Sample entries are available to download from the resources section of the website - click on Sample Chapters & Resources to see more ·· The Encyclopedia of Disability is a must-have reference for all academic libraries, large public libraries and any social science, medical, legal, or governmental reference collections. Non-governmental organizations, charitable foundations and law firms will also want to add this set to their collections. Senior Editors Jerome Bickenbach, Queen's University Scott Brown Dudley Childress, Northwestern University Medical School Joseph Flaherty, Univeristy of Illinois at Chicago Allen Heinemann, Northwestern University Tamar Heller, Univeristy of Illinois at Chicago Christopher Keys, Univeristy of Illinois at Chicago David Mitchell, Univeristy of Illinois at Chicago Trevor Parmenter, University of Sydney, Australia Mairian Scott-Hill, Marsh Hills Cottage Tom Shakespeare, University of Newcastle Sharon Snyder, Univeristy of Illinois at Chicago Henri-Jacques Stiker, Univeristy of Paris Key Themes Conditions Therapies Biographies/History Laws Policy Consumer Organizations/Advocacy Definition/Concepts Movement Ideology International Developing Countries/Cultural Differences Professional and Lay Cultures Interventions Prevention Identity and Representation Products/Technology/Assisted Devices Social Political Universal Design/Architecture /Physical Environment Outcomes/Efficacy Cross Cultural/Cross National Journals/Resources Gary L Albrecht is Professor of Public Health and of Disability and Human Development at the University of Illinois at Chicago.

Truly comprehensive in scope -- and arranged in A-Z format for quick access -- this monumental eight-volume set is a one-source reference for anyone researching the historical and contemporary details of major issues confronting American society. Chapters cover the full range of hotly-contested social issues -- everything from academic freedom to consumer debt, homeland security, medical malpractice, poverty and wealth, reproductive rights, terrorism, and xenophobia. Each chapter discusses the historical origins of the problem or debate; past means used to deal with the issue; the current controversy surrounding the issue from all perspectives; and the near-term and future implications for society. In addition, chapters include chronologies, bibliographies, and directories of internet resources, as well as primary documents tables.

West's Encyclopedia of American Law fully illuminates today's leading cases, major statutes, legal terms and concepts, notable persons involved with the law, important documents and more. Legal issues are fully discussed in easy-to-understand language, including such high-profile topics as the Americans with Disabilities Act, capital punishment, domestic violence, gay and lesbian rights, physician-assisted suicide and thousands more.

A landmark in legal publishing,The Oxford Companion to the Supreme Courtis a now classic text many of whose entries are regularly cited by scholars as the definitive statement on any particular subject. In the tradition of that work, editor in chief Kermit L. Hall offers up The Oxford Companion to American Law, a one-volume, A-Z encyclopedia that covers topics ranging from aging and the law, wiretapping and electronic eavesdropping, the Salem Witch Trials and Plessy vs. Ferguson. The Companion takes as its starting point the insight that law is embedded in society, and that to understand American law one must necessarily ask questions about the relationship between it and the social order, now and in the past. The volume assumes that American law, in all its richness and complexity, cannot be understood in isolation, as simply the business of the Supreme Court, or as a list of common law doctrines. Hence, the volume takes seriously issues involving laws role in structuring decisions about governance, the significance of state and local law and legal institutions, and the place of American law in a comparative international perspective. Nearly 500 entries are included, written by over 300 expert contributors. Intended for the working lawyer or judge, the high school student working on a term paper, or the general adult reader interested in the topic, the Companion is the authoritative reference work on the subject of American law.

In nearly 275 entries, this 3-vol. set examines landmark pieces of legislation, explaining the historical factors that led to the proposal of each act, looking at the adoption process and assessing each act's impact on American life. A great addition to collections in needof resources on government, civics, citizenship, history and the law.

American Jurisprudence provides an unparalleled breadth of coverage of all fields of American law - state and federal, civil and criminal, substantive and procedural. The articles collect, examine, and summarize the broad principles of American law and, at the same time, provide direct leads to supporting cases and related annotations.

This set is alphabetically arranged in more than 400 topics or chapters. It provides prompt answers to client questions, helps propose sound courses of action, and provides a quick look at unfamiliar areas of the law. A new Topic Service Binder reviews new areas of law until they can be placed accurately within the set.