Research Guides: Africana Studies : Journal and Newspaper Articles

Journals and Newspapers @ UC

Africana Studies Journals and Newspapers

Access World News A database of articles from 1,700 U.S. and international full-text information sources, mostly newspapers and wire services. Very useful for access to state-by-state coverage. Coverage: late 1950"s - present
African American Newspapers: 19th century¸ Parts 1-5 (Accessible Archives) This collection of African-american Newspapers contains information about the cultural life and history during the 1800s¸ and is rich with first-hand reports of the major events and issues of the day¸ including the Mexican War¸ Presidential and congressional addresses¸ Congressional abstracts¸ business and commodity markets¸ the humanities¸ world travel and religion. They also contain large numbers of early biographies¸ vital statistics¸ essays and editorials¸ poetry and prose¸ and advertisements all of which embody the African-American experience. Coverage: 1827 - 1876
African American Newspapers¸ 1827-1998 (Readex) African American Newspapers¸ 1827-1998 provides online access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. This unique collection features papers from more than 35 states including many rare and historically significant 19th century titles. Newly digitized¸ these newspapers published by or for African Americans can now be browsed and searched as never before. Supported by the Charles Phelps Taft Research Center. Coverage: 1827-1998

AFRO American Newspaper Archives (Google Partnership Project)
Antebellum Black Newspapers indices to New York Freedom's journal (1827-1829), The Rights of all (1829), The Weekly advocate (1837), and The Colored American (1837-1841)

JSTOR JSTOR is a digital library of academic content in many formats and disciplines. The collections include top peer-reviewed scholarly journals as well as respected literary journals, academic monographs, research reports from trusted institutes, and diverse primary sources. Explore the visual side of JSTOR, including artwork, newspapers, manuscripts, photographs, and other artifacts contributed by libraries, museums, archives, and historical societies around the world

Obsidian Collection: Black Legacy Press A partnership between Google and The Obsidian Collection aims to digitize the archives of every Black newspaper. The work is in progress.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Defender (1910-1975) The Chicago Defender (1910-1975) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. Supported by the Charles Phelps Taft Research Center. Coverage: 1910-1975
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002) ProQuest Historical Newspapers Pittsburgh Courier: 1911-2002 offers full page and article images with searchable full text. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. Supported by the Charles Phelps Taft Research Center. Coverage: 1911-2002

Rose Bibliography Project: This project produced the following analytical guides to four African American periodicals:

  Analytical Guide and Indexes to “Alexander’s Magazine” 1905-1909
   Langsam Stacks LC2701.A42 1974 Use in conjunction with
   “Alexander’s Magazine” v.1-7, no.5/6 May 1905-March/April 1909
   Langsam Stacks LC2701.A4 7 vols. In 4

Analytical Guide and Indexes to the “Colored American Magazine” 1900-1909
Langsam Stacks AP2.C59R67 1974 2 vols.
Use in conjunction with “Colored American Magazine” v.1-17, no.5 May 1900- November 1909 Langsam Microfilm 270 4 reels

Analytical Guide and Indexes to “The Crisis” 1910-1960 Langsam Stacks E185.5.C68R67 Use in conjunction with “The Crisis; A Record of the Darker Races” Langsam Microfilm 5017 [1910-1964] 11 reels /Some early volumes digitized at HathiTrust Connect Langsam Stacks E185.5.C68 v.67 (1960)-v.103 (1996) 1993-1996 digitized in Academic Search Complete New Crisis 1997-2003 digitized in Academic Search Complete 2003- Bound issues Langsam Stacks E185.5 .C68

Analytical Guide and Indexes to the “Voice of the Negro” 1904-1907 Langsam Stacks E185.5.V882 Use in conjunction with “Voice of the Negro” Vol. 1, no. 1 (Jan. 1904)-v. 3, no. 10 (Oct. 1906) Langsam Microfilm 271, reel 1 and “The Voice” Vol. 3, no. 11 (Nov. 1906)-v. 4, no. 10 (Oct. 1907)Microfilm 271 reel 1

Multidisciplinary Journals and Newspapers

Academic Search Complete Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions includes more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields. Academic Search Complete offers critical information from many sources unique to this massive collection. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.Coverage: 1865 - present
Cincinnati Enquirer Available through ProQuest Newspapers. Coverage: 1999-current
Cincinnati Enquirer Recent (ProQuest Digitized Newspapers) ProQuest Recent Newspapers offers select local and national Newspapers in Microform online, where they can accessed simultaneously and remotely by multiple users. Just like traditional microform versions, all of the newspapers are browsable, uncut and in full image--complete with editorials, photos, charts, graphs, and other visual material. Coverage: 2010 - present (3-month embargo)

[see ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Cincinnati Enquirer (1841-1922) at PLCH—requires PLCH library card to use. See also Microfilm N4 Cincinnati Enquirer 1872- Use microfilm in conjunction with Cincinnati Newsdex (see below).

Cincinnati NEWSDEX Produced by the Public Library of Cincinnati and Hamilton County NEWSDEX provides indexing to Cincinnati newspapers.
Ethnic NewsWatch Full text articles from newspapers and periodicals published by the ethnic and minority press in America¸ some dating back to 1985. Coverage: Full Text; 1985 - present

Gale Academic OneFile Select Indexes and abstracts 1,500+ scholarly and general interest periodicals, with over 900 full-text titles in the fields of astronomy, religion, law, history, psychology, humanities, current events, sociology, communications and the general sciences

New York Times (1851-2020) The New York Times (1851-2020) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. Supported by the Charles Phelps Taft Research Center. Coverage: 1851 - 2020
New York Times Recent - Late Edition¸ East Coast (ProQuest Digitized Newspapers) ProQuest Recent Newspapers offers select local and national Newspapers in Microform online¸ where they can accessed simultaneously and remotely by multiple users. Just like traditional microform versions¸ all of the newspapers are browsable¸ uncut and in full image -- complete with editorials¸ photos¸ charts¸ graphs¸ and other visual material. Coverage: 2008 - present (3-month embargo)
New York Times¸ Late Edition¸ East Coast (June 1¸ 1980 - Present) The New York Times offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to June 1¸ 1980. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. Coverage: 6/1/1980 - Present
Project MUSE Access to articles from over 40 journals in the humanities starting in 1995. Coverage: Full Text; 1995 - present
ProQuest Research Library One of the most comprehensive databases available through the ProQuest online system¸ Research Library provides access to full-text journals across a wide range of subject areas¸ including business¸ education¸ literature¸ political science¸ and psychology. The database can be customized to meet the specific needs of many different types of libraries and information centers.Coverage: 1971 - present
Wall Street Journal Recent - Eastern Edition (ProQuest Digitized Newspapers) ProQuest Recent Newspapers offers select local and national Newspapers in Microform online¸ where they can accessed simultaneously and remotely by multiple users. Just like traditional microform versions¸ all of the newspapers are browsable¸ uncut and in full image - complete with editorials¸ photos¸ charts¸ graphs¸ and other visual material. Coverage: 2008 - present (3-month embargo)
Wall Street Journal¸ Eastern Edition (January 2¸ 1984 - Present) The Wall Street Journal is the single most authoritative source of global and national business reporting. Coverage: 1/2/1984 - Present
Washington Post, Final Edition (ProQuest Recent Newspapers) ProQuest Recent Newspapers offers select local and national Newspapers in Microform online¸ where they can accessed simultaneously and remotely by multiple users. Just like traditional microform versions¸ all of the newspapers are browsable¸ uncut and in full image -- complete with editorials¸ photos¸ charts¸ graphs¸ and other visual material. Coverage: 2008 - present (3-month embargo)
World News Connection World News Connection (WNC) is an online news service¸ only accessible via the World Wide Web¸ that offers an extensive array of translated and English-language news and information. Particularly effective in its coverage of local media sources¸ WNC provides you with the power to identify what really is happening in a specific country or region. Compiled from thousands of non-U.S. media sources¸ the information in WNC covers significant socioeconomic¸ political¸ scientific¸ technical¸ and environmental issues and events. The information is obtained from full text and summaries of newspaper articles¸ conference proceedings¸ television and radio broadcasts¸ periodicals¸ and non-classified technical reports. New information is entered into WNC every government business day. Generally¸ new information is available within 48-72 hours from the time of original publication or broadcast. Coverage: November 1995 - December 31, 2013

Citation Searching

Scopus (Elsevier) Indexing¸ abstracts¸ and citation searching for science and social science scholarly literature. Scopus covers 14¸000 titles across 4¸000 publishers¸ providing access to over 25 million abstracts going back to 1966 and 5 years of cited reference back years¸ building up to 10 years by the end of 2005. Coverage: 1966 - present

Web of Science [All Areas] The Web of Science is a combination of several databases: Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index and Conference Proceedings Citation Index (Science & Technical Edition). It indexes more than 12,000 peer-reviewed journals, providing complete bibliographic data and author abstracts.