Research Guides: AEEM9072: Aerospace Graduate Seminar: Find Books

E-Books and Library Catalog

UC Library Catalog
The library catalog searches for print books and selected e-books. You can connect to OhioLINK to locate additional print books to borrow.
E-Books Search (all subject areas)
Many more UC-subscribed e-books are searchable here, though not often full-text of books. Individual publisher sites below include full-text searching.
E-Book Collections in Science & Engineering
A listing of our e-book collections that include sci-tech content. Unlike the catalog, most allow for full-text searching of books. Some e-book sources allow searching of chemical and material property data - Knovel (engineering data sets), ChemNetBase (chemical property databases), and the CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics.

E-Book Collections of Interest to Aerospace Engineering:

O'Reilly Ebooks
O'Reilly Ebooks (formerly Safari Ebooks Online) provides electronic books and videos in computer science, information technology, business and related fields from O'Reilly and other IT and business publishers.
NOTE: First time users (authorized UC users) need to register for an account at O'Reilly with their UC email address to access the site.
Knovel
Provides leading science and engineering books¸ conferences¸ and databases embedded with productivity tools in one online service. The Knovel product provides the ability to interact with the data¸ deep searchability¸ valuable subject collections through aggregation¸ and continuing expanding content. Approximately 500 books are included in the collection at the end of 2003.

Knovel - Aerospace Books
Browse Aerospace eBooks on Knovel.

Taylor & Francis Ebooks
Full-text of thousands of e-books and technical handbooks in engineering, technology, science, bioscience, medicine and business published by Taylor & Francis and its imprints: CRC Press, Routledge, Apple Academic Press. The CRCNetBase e-book collections are included in this database.

CRCnetBASE: Aerospace Engineering Books
Browse Aerospace Engineering eBooks from Taylor & Francis.
Wiley Online Library - E-Books
Includes all Wiley e-books from 2012-present, excluding 'textbook' items and some reference works and encyclopedias. Topics span all areas of science, engineering, and technology.
SpringerLink E-books
As of January 2016, over 58,000 online books and conferences are available covering Computer Science, Engineering, Life Sciences, Mathematics, Medicine, and Physical Sciences.
IOPScience E-Books
Selected books published by Institute of Physics (IOP) on a variety of physics-related topics. Subscribed books are from the collections "IOP Concise Physics" and "IOP Expanding Physics." Some recent books are not subscribed to at this time.

CRC Handbook of Chemistry & Physics
The 98th Edition of the CRC Handbook of Chemistry & Physics provides the widest and most complete coverage of data on properties of inorganic and organic compounds. Includes completely revised versions of many of the most commonly used tables. Features a new format with structures listed beside applicable data for easy reference.

Optica Publishing Group (formerly OSA)
Full-text of current and historical conference proceedings from Optica, the optics and photonics society formerly known as OSA (Optical Society of America). Topics include light and laser science, sensing, imaging, and optical fibers.
Oxford - University Press Scholarship Online
Oxford University Press e-books, including titles in biology, chemistry, environmental science, mathematics, physics, and much more.

ScienceDirect (Elsevier)
A database for research that contains abstracts, tables of contents, and full text from 2500+ journals and ebooks in the physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities.
Scientific.Net
Includes full-text (2004-present) of materials science and engineering journals published by Trans Tech. Journal titles include: Advanced Materials Research, Applied Mechanics and Materials, Defect and Diffusion Forum, Journal of Biomimetics, Biomaterials and Biomedical Engineering, Journal of Metastable and Nanocrystalline Materials, Journal of Nano Research, Materials Science Forum, and Nano Hybrids and Composites.

Very Short Introductions (Oxford University Press)
This series offers concise introductions to a wide range of topics in science, medicine, arts, social sciences and more. It bridges encyclopedic content and higher academic work, offering intelligent introductions authored by experts in the field. Each book combines facts, analysis, new ideas, and enthusiasm to make challenging topics understandable and highly approachable.
World Scientific E-Books
World Scientific e-books span a wide range of science and technology topics.

Books

Books about Aerospace Engineering can be located through the UC Library Catalog. You can search in the UC Library Catalog by author, title, keyword or subject.

Looking for Course Textbooks?

They can be accessed through UC Libraries Textbook and Reserves List, both online and in print.

Aerodynamics

Aerodynamics for Engineering Students by Steven H. Collicott; E. L. Houghton; P. W. Carpenter; Daniel T. Valentine
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: TL570.H84 2013
Publication Date: 2012-04-25
A textbook for engineering students. Includes basic fluid mechanics, compressible flow, computational fluid dynamics, and contemporary applications.
Flight Vehicle Aerodynamics by Mark Drela
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: TL570.D74 2014
Publication Date: 2014-02-07
A general overview of the physics, concepts, theories, and models underlying aerodynamics. A particular focus is velocity field representation and idealized modeling. Force analysis, drag decomposition, flow interference estimation, and other important applications for flight vehicles are included.

More books about Aerodynamics >>>

Aircraft

Aircraft Design: A Systems Engineering Approach by Mohammad H. Sadraey
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: TL671.2.S3136 2013
Publication Date: 2012-11-28
This book presents the entire process of aircraft design based on a systems engineering approach from conceptual design phase, through to preliminary design phase and to detail design phase. Aerodynamics, flight stability and control, and aircraft performance are reviewed.
Aircraft Engine Design by Jack D. Mattingly; William H. Heiser; David T. Pratt
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: TL709.5.T87 M38
Publication Date: 2002-10-01
A complete and aircraft engine design text, from the request for proposal for a new aircraft to the final engine layout, this book emphasizes developments such as theta break/throttle ratio, life management, controls, and stealth. Ten chapters encompass aircraft constraint analysis, aircraft mission analysis, engine parametric (design point) analysis, engine performance (off-design), engine installation drag and sizing, and the design of inlets, fans, compressors, main combustors, turbines, afterburners, and exhaust nozzles.

More books about Aircraft >>>

Astronautics

Astronautics: The Physics of Space Flight by Ulrich Walter
Publication Date: 2019-03-01
This introductory text covers the ideas behind spaceflight and is the perfect companion for students pursuing courses on or related to astronautics. These include rocket flight and staging, propulsion, orbital mechanics, and spacecraft dynamics. New sections address regularized equations of orbital motion and their algebraic solutions and also state vector propagation; two new chapters are devoted to orbit geometry and orbit determination and to thermal radiation physics and modelling.
Orbital Mechanics for Engineering Students by Howard D. Curtis
Call Number: TL1050.C87 2010
Publication Date: 2009-12-07
Provides an introduction to the basic concepts of space mechanics. These include vector kinematics in three dimensions; Newton's laws of motion and gravitation; relative motion; the vector-based solution of the classical two-body problem; derivation of Kepler's equations; orbits in three dimensions; preliminary orbit determination; and orbital maneuvers.

More books about Astronautics >>>

Fluid Mechanics

Applied Fluid Mechanics by Robert L. Mott; Joseph A. Untener
Call Number: TA357.M67 2015
Publication Date: 2014-01-22
Applied Fluid Mechanics, Seventh Edition, covers many topics, including hose, plastic pipe, tubing, pumps, viscosity measurement devices, and computational fluid mechanics.

More books about Fluid Mechanics >>>

General Flight

Introduction to Flight by John D. Anderson
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: TL570.A68 2016
ISBN: 9780078027673
Publication Date: 2015-02-19
Anderson covers basic flight topics, including the standard atmosphere, airfoils, flight mechanics, unmanned aerial vehicles, and applications of CFD in aircraft design.

More books about Flight >>>

Heat Transfer

Heat Transfer in Aerospace Applications by Bengt Sunden; Juan Fu
Call Number: QC320.S86 2017
Publication Date: 2016-10-19
Heat Transfer in Aerospace Applications is the first book to provide an overall description of various heat transfer issues of relevance for aerospace applications. The book contains chapters relating to convection cooling, heat pipes, ablation, heat transfer at high velocity, low pressure and microgravity, aircraft heat exchangers, fuel cells, and cryogenic cooling systems.

More books about Heat Transfer >>>

History of Aerospace

100 Years of Flight: a chronology of aerospace history, 1903-2003 by F. Robert Van der Linden; Frank H. Winter
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: TL515.W526 2003
Publication Date: 2003-07-01
This volume chronicles the most significant accomplishments in aerospace since 1903.
The Airplane, a History of Its Technology by John D. Anderson
Call Number: TL670.3 .A49 2002
Publication Date: 2002-12-01
This book outlines the history of the technical development of the airplane. Richly illustrated, it moves the reader through time beginning with Leonardo da Vinci and forward to the present. In each chronological period, the various aspects of the synthesis of aerodynamics, propulsion, flight dynamics, and structures to the design of flying machines is described and critically evaluated.

More books about Aerospace History >>>

Helicopters and Rotorcraft

Rotorcraft Aeromechanics by Wayne Johnson
Publication Date: 2013-04-29
A rotorcraft is a class of aircraft that uses large-diameter rotating wings to accomplish efficient vertical take-off and landing. The class encompasses helicopters of numerous configurations (single main rotor and tail rotor, tandem rotors, coaxial rotors), tilting proprotor aircraft, compound helicopters, and many other innovative configuration concepts. Performance, loads, vibration, stability, flight dynamics, and noise are discussed.

Human Factors for Aerospace Applications

Architecture for Astronauts by Sandra Hauplik-Meusburger
Call Number: TL875.H38 2011
Publication Date: 2011-10-18
This book is the result of researching the interface between people, space and objects in an extra-terrestrial environment. Living and working in extra-terrestrial habitats means being potentially vulnerable to very harsh environmental, social, and psychological conditions. It summarizes relevant human-related design directions. The work is addressed to architects and designers as well as engineers.
Basic Flight Physiology by Richard O. Reinhart
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: RC1075.R45 2008
Publication Date: 2007-11-12
The Third Edition of Basic Flight Physiology contains information on psychological human factors in the flying environment. It covers crew resource management, in-flight medical emergencies, health maintenance programs, and handling stress. It provides guidance on the effects of caffeine, alcohol, and over-the-counter drugs in pilots, as well as chapters on basic human anatomy, the atmosphere, situational awareness, hearing and vibration, vision, sleep, and fatigue.

Jet Propulsion

Jet Propulsion by Nicholas Cumpsty; Andrew Heyes
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: TL709.3.T83C85 2015
Publication Date: 2015-07-22
Jet Propulsion offers a self-contained introduction to the aerodynamic and thermodynamic design of modern civil and military jet engine design. Individual sections cover aircraft requirements, aerodynamics, principles of gas turbines and jet engines, elementary compressible fluid mechanics, bypass ratio selection, scaling and dimensional analysis, turbine and compressor design and characteristics, design optimization, and off-design performance.
Fundamentals of Jet Propulsion with Applications by Ronald D. Flack; Michael J. Rycroft (Contribution by); Wei Shyy (Contribution by)
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: TL709 .F5953 2005
Publication Date: 2005-04-25
This text on air-breathing jet propulsion focuses on the basic operating principles of jet engines and gas turbines. Previous coursework in fluid mechanics and thermodynamics is elucidated and applied to help the student understand and predict the characteristics of engine components and various types of engines and power gas turbines. The book is designed for advanced undergraduate and first-year graduate students in aerospace and mechanical engineering. A basic understanding of fluid dynamics and thermodynamics is presumed.

Rocketry

Manned Spacecraft Design Principles by Pasquale M. Sforza
Call Number: TL873
ISBN: 9780124199767
Publication Date: 2015-11-13
Manned Spacecraft Design Principles presents readers with a brief introduction to the information required at the preliminary design stage of a manned space transportation system. Covers atmospheric entry dynamics, space launch dynamics, hypersonic flow fields, hypersonic heat transfer, and skin friction, along with the economic aspects of space flight. Key concepts relating to human factors and crew support systems are also included.
Rocket Propulsion Elements by George P. Sutton; Oscar Biblarz
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: TL782.S8 2010
Publication Date: 2011-09-07
The definitive text on rocket propulsion offers a thorough introduction to basic principles of rocket propulsion for guided missiles, space flight, or satellite flight. It describes the physical mechanisms for the fundamentals of rocket propulsion, its essential technologies, and its key design rationale, for solid, liquid, and hybrid-fueled rockets.

Satellites and Space Vehicles

Space Mission Engineering: The New SMAD by James Richard Wertz; David F. Everett; Jeffery John Puschell
Call Number: TL790.S732 2011
Publication Date: 2011-01-01
This comprehensive text provides students and engineers with an overview of key concepts involved with the design, systems analysis, construction, and mission planning of spacecraft. Including new topics such as cube satellites (CubeSats) and constellation satellites.
Planetary Landers and Entry Probes by Andrew Ball; Ralph Lorenz; Viktor Kerzhanovich; James Garry
- This link opens in a new window
Publication Date: 2007-05-10
This book provides a concise but broad overview of the engineering, science and flight history of planetary landers and atmospheric entry probes designed to explore the atmospheres and surfaces of other planets. Examples are drawn from over thirty different lander and entry probe designs that have been used for lunar and planetary missions since the early 1960s. The authors provide detailed illustrations of many vehicle designs from different international space programs, and give basic information on their missions and payloads, irrespective of the mission's success or failure.

Structural Dynamics

Introduction to Aircraft Structural Analysis by T. H. G. Megson
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: TL671.6.M36 2018
Publication Date: 2017-06-14
Introduction to Aircraft Structure Analysis, Third Edition covers the basics of structural analysis as applied to aircraft structures. Coverage of elasticity, energy methods and virtual work set the stage for discussions of airworthiness/airframe loads and stress analysis of aircraft components. Numerous worked examples, illustrations and sample problems show how to apply the concepts to realistic situations.
Structural Dynamics by Yong Bai; Qiang Bai; Zhao-Dong Xu (Editor)
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: TA654.B335 2019
Publication Date: 2019-06-28
This book focuses on the basic theories and concepts, as well as the application and background of theories and concepts in engineering. The main contents include basic theory of dynamics, establishment of equation of motion, single degree of freedom systems, multi-degree of freedom systems, distributed-parameter systems, stochastic structural vibrations, research projects of structural dynamics, and structural dynamics of marine pipeline and risers.

Turbomachinery

Aircraft Powerplants by Thomas W. Wild; Michael J. Kroes
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: TL701 .A4 2014
Publication Date: 2013-09-18
The most comprehensive, current guide to aircraft powerplants. This book prepares you for certification as an FAA powerplant technician in accordance with the Federal Aviation Regulations (FAR). This new edition features expanded coverage of turbine-engine theory and nomenclature; current models of turbofan, turboprop, and turboshaft engines; and up-to-date details on turbine-engine fuel, oil, warning, and ignition systems.

Unmanned Aerial Systems (UAS)

Automated Systems in the Aviation and Aerospace Industries by Tetiana Shmelova (Editor); Yuliya Sikirda (Editor); Nina Rizun (Editor); Dmytro Kucherov (Editor); Konstantin Dergachov (Editor)
Publication Date: 2019-03-22
Automated Systems in the Aviation and Aerospace Industries is a reference source that provides research on the application of underlying technologies used to enforce automation safety and efficiency. While highlighting topics such as expert systems, text mining, and human-machine interface, this publication explores the concept of constructing navigation algorithms, based on the use of video information and the methods of the estimation of the availability and accuracy parameters of satellite navigation. This book is ideal for aviation professionals, researchers, and managers seeking current research on information technology used to reduce the risk involved in aviation.
Introduction to UAV Systems by Paul Fahlstrom; Thomas Gleason
Call Number: UG1242.D7 .F34 2012
Publication Date: 2012-08-29
This book provides a comprehensive introduction to all of the elements of a complete Unmanned Aircraft System (UAS). It addresses the air vehicle, mission planning and control, several types of mission payloads, data links and how they interact with mission performance, and launch and recovery concepts.

Vibrations

Vibrations by Balakumar Balachandran; Edward B. Magrab
Call Number: TA355 .B28 2019
Publication Date: 2018-11-01
Explains how vibrations can be used in a broad spectrum of applications and how to meet the challenges faced by engineers and system designers. The text integrates linear and nonlinear systems, and covers the time domain and the frequency domain, responses to harmonic and transient excitations, and discrete and continuous system models. It focuses on modeling, analysis, prediction, and measurement to provide a complete understanding of the underlying physical vibratory phenomena and their relevance for engineering design.

AEEM9072: Aerospace Graduate Seminar

E-Books and Library Catalog

Books

Books

Looking for Course Textbooks?

Aerodynamics

More books about Aerodynamics >>>

Aircraft

More books about Aircraft >>>

Astronautics

More books about Astronautics >>>

Fluid Mechanics

More books about Fluid Mechanics >>>

General Flight

More books about Flight >>>

Heat Transfer

More books about Heat Transfer >>>

History of Aerospace

More books about Aerospace History >>>

Helicopters and Rotorcraft

Human Factors for Aerospace Applications

Jet Propulsion

Rocketry

Satellites and Space Vehicles

Structural Dynamics

Turbomachinery

Unmanned Aerial Systems (UAS)

Vibrations

More books about Vibrations >>>