Skip to main content
UC Logo
Libraries | Ask the Libraries

AEEM9072: Aerospace Graduate Seminar

Off Campus Login

How to Connect: Click on the Login to Proxy Server for Off Campus Access button to login with your UC ID username and password. Once you login, you will be directed back to this guide.

(Note: UC's AnyConnect VPN no longer authenticates you to access library e-resources.  If you use AnyConnect for remote desktop/virtual machines, you CAN log in to proxy while on AnyConnect VPN).

General Information

 

Search Tips

Start with a keyword search, then refine by subject or other facets later. 

Building a search query:

  • Create a search set of synonyms (use "OR" operator) for a concept
  • Combine search sets for concepts with "AND" operator
  • use quote marks " " to identify a phrase
  • Use truncation and wild cards to expand based on a word stem (e.g., nano* )

Narrow your results:

  • Examine search result record to see what subjects have been assigned (if any) to the record. Subjects can be combined with keywords to focus search, or searched individually to find items that are primarily about the topic.
  • Use refine or limit features such as date, material type (e.g., review article), treatment (in Compendex - theoretical, applied, etc).

Citation searching

  • Expand to related articles with shared citations (Scopus)
  • Use citation searching and browsing features, including sorting by # of times cited (Scopus, SciFinder, Google Scholar, etc)

 

Finding Dissertations and Theses

Look at theses/dissertations at UC and worldwide

Where to Look

Specialized indexes:

Patent searching

Other Resources

Tools for locating full-text

  • When searching in an article database, find the "UC Article Linker" icon Article Linker icon ("Find Full Text" in Google Scholar)
    • From Article Linker, check if your desired volume/issue is available online.  Otherwise, search for a print copy in the Library Catalog.
    • If not online or in print, submit an interlibrary loan (ILLiad) request.  ILLiad will automatically populate the request form with the journal article information. 
      • NOTE: First time ILLiad users will be prompted to fill in a profile. The "M number" is on your UC ID card in the upper left corner.  Enter the M number so it looks like this: M12345678.
  • Use Full Text Journals to search for full-text sources by journal title.
  • Search by journal title in the Library Catalog.

Configure Google Scholar for UC Libraries access

Enable Google Scholar to identify UC-licensed full-text of journal articles.  Access appears as a "Find Full-Text at UC" link.

  1. Go to Google Scholar
  2. Sign in to your Google account (or create one if needed)
  3. Click the icon in the upper left and select “Settings”
  4. Click on “Library Links”
  5. Search for "University of Cincinnati” and add.
  6. Check the box next to "The University of Cincinnati – Find Full-Text at UC” and click “Save”

Kopernio Browser Plug-In for Full-Text

Download at https://kopernio.com/

  • After installing Kopernio, you should be taken to a page to create a Kopernio account.
  • Create account and log in.  Click Settings on the left side or go to https://kopernio.com/settings
  • From the "Account" section, go to the “Personal Details” section and add University of Cincinnati as your affiliation.
  • Further down, there should be a “Library Credentials” section where you can save your UC Central Login credentials and reduce some clicks to reach full-text.  This step is not required.

When you reach available full-text, you should get a green Kopernio “View PDF” prompt for full-text in the lower left.  You can try out this example from Nature Nano - https://www.nature.com/articles/s41565-020-0655-z and ACS Nano - https://pubs.acs.org/doi/10.1021/acsnano.0c01687 .  You need to be on the article’s page (vs. search results) to trigger a “View PDF” prompt.

Kopernio plug-in

Initially, the full-text opens in Kopernio’s viewer.  You can download the PDF file from here.  You can also save PDFs to a personal Kopernio locker; however, there is a limit in their storage space.  A paid Premium account gives more storage (how they make money).

Citation Management

Research Data & GIS Services

Contact: Amy Koshoffer, Assistant Director, Research & Data Services: amy.koshoffer@uc.edu

Other tools and services for researchers

  • Data & GIS Collab (GMP Library) - large dual monitors, collaboration space, consulting on data and geospatial analysis
  • Visualization Laboratory (GMP Library) - large wall for collaboration & multi-input projection, consultation on data visualization
  • Contact AskData@uc.edu for data, informatics, GIS project consultation, reserving lab space
  • OneDrive - (access through Office 365 - https://mail.uc.edu) (storage and backup - more info), Scholar@UC (data archiving, DOI/permanent URL)

Fun staff

UC Libraries access to some popular newspapers (including current day):

Music & Theater/Opera Video and Audio (with thanks to CCM's college library)

Cincinnati Public Library

 

University of Cincinnati Libraries

PO Box 210033 Cincinnati, Ohio 45221-0033

Phone: 513-556-1424

Contact Us | Staff Directory

University of Cincinnati

Alerts | Clery and HEOA Notice | Notice of Non-Discrimination | eAccessibility Concern | Privacy Statement | Copyright Information

© 2019 University of Cincinnati