CVE7005: Civil Engineering Graduate Seminar

Airport design and operation are always closely related. The aim of this third edition is to present an updated and integrated approach to the two. The chapters have been enhanced to reflect changes in technology and the way the air transport industry functions. Key topics that are newly addressed in this book include low cost airline operations, security issues and EASA regulations on airports. A new chapter covering extended details about wildlife control has been added to the volume.

Bridge Engineering, Third Edition covers highway bridge planning, design, construction, maintenance, and rehabilitation. This thoroughly revised reference contains cutting-edge analytical, design, and construction practices, the most current information on new materials and methods, and proven, cost-effective maintenance and repair techniques. Real-world case studies and hundreds of helpful photos and illustrations are also included in this practical resource.

Building Construction Handbook contains everything you need to know about the construction process. Up-to-date examples of everyday practices and processes, accompanied by detailed drawings to illustrate the construction building elements, make this text a core reference for both students and professionals.

Building Structures Illustrated takes a new approach to structural design, showing how structural systems of a building such as an integrated assembly of elements with pattern, proportions, and scale are related to the fundamental aspects of architectural design. The book features a one-stop guide to structural design in practice, a thorough treatment of structural design as part of the entire building process, and an overview of the historical development of architectural materials and structure.

This second edition brings the models and examples of practice up to date. It has expanded coverage of tsunamis and generating energy from waves to focus both on the great dangers and the great opportunities that the ocean presents to the coastal zone. With an emphasis on practice and detailed modelling, this is a thorough introduction to all aspects of coastal processes, morphology, and design of coastal defences. It describes numerous case studies to illustrate the successful application of mathematical modelling to real-world practice. A must-have book for engineering students looking to specialize in coastal engineering and management.

This edition brings together more information on aspects of concrete technology and construction. It covers: high strength concrete; new additives such as silca fume; technical advances and techniques available; and codes and standards updates, including the 1995 concrete building code.

This book provides senior undergraduate students, master students and structural engineers who do not have a background in the field with core knowledge of structural earthquake engineering that will be invaluable in their professional lives. The basics of seismotectonics, including the causes, magnitude, and intensity of earthquakes, are first explained. Then the book introduces basic elements of seismic hazard analysis and presents the concept of a seismic hazard map for use in seismic design. Subsequent chapters cover key aspects of the response analysis of simple systems and building struc­tures to earthquake ground motions, design spectrum, the adoption of seismic analysis procedures in seismic design codes, seismic design principles and seismic design of reinforced concrete structures. Helpful worked examples on seismic analysis of linear, nonlinear and base isolated buildings, earthquake-resistant design of frame and frame-shear wall systems are included, most of which can be solved using a hand calculator.

Transport Planning and Traffic Engineeringis a comprehensive textbook on principles and practice. It includes sections on transport policy and planning, traffic surveys and accident investigation, road design for capacity and safety, and traffic management. Clearly written and illustrated, the book is ideal reading for students of transport, transport planning, traffic engineering and road design.

Providing the fundamental knowledge on how a typical hydraulic system generates, delivers, and deploys fluid power, Basics of Hydraulic Systems highlights the key configuration features of the components that are needed to support their functionality in a system, such as operating principles, structural features, functionalities, and applications of core composing elements.

A proper quality of a track and other infrastructure objects represents a basic requirement for train safety and punctuality. Most of the physical systems and their components deteriorate over time. This affects performance and may lead to failures.

Engineering rock mechanics is the discipline used to design structures built in rock. These structures encompass building foundations, dams, slopes, shafts, tunnels, caverns, hydroelectric schemes, mines, radioactive waste repositories and geothermal energy projects: in short, any structure built on or in a rock mass. Engineering Rock Mechanics clearly and systematically explains the key principles behind rock engineering.

Knowledge of the behavior of soil mechanics is essential for forecasting the internal displacements and actions of any construction. This book, although theoretical at first glance, also offers a more practical scope, giving readers adequate tools to plan geotechnical projects correctly.

Nanotechnology in Civil Infrastructure is a state-of-the art reference source describing the latest developments in nano-engineering and nano-modification of construction materials to improve the bulk properties, development of sustainable, intelligent, and smart concrete materials through the integration of nanotechnology based self-sensing and self-powered materials and cyber infrastructure technologies, review of nanotechnology applications in pavement engineering, development of novel, cost-effective, high-performance and long-lasting concrete products and processes through nanotechnology-based innovative processing of cement and cement paste, and advanced nanoscience modeling, visualization, and measurement systems for characterizing and testing civil infrastructure materials at the nano-scale.

A modern view on structural dynamics originating from the work of nearly all members of the Research Center on Structural Dynamics as well as some guests.

This book provides students and practitioners with both surveying theory and real-world practice in mapping and engineering surveys.

Civil Engineering and Urban Planning IV includes the papers presented at the 4th International Conference on Civil Engineering and Urban Planning (CEUP 2015, Beijing, China, 25-27 July 2015). The contributions from experts and world-renowned scientists cover a wide variety of topics: - Civil engineering; - Architecture and urban planning; - Transportation engineering; - Geomatics; - Natural hazards and risk, and - Rock mechanics and rock engineering. Civil Engineering and Urban Planning IV will appeal to professionals and academics involved in the above mentioned areas.

This text contains a strong focus on advanced wastewater treatment technologies, including biological treatment processes, and stresses the reuse aspect of wastewater and biosolids.