Research Guides: Standards and Codes (Engineering): Home

Standards and Codes in CEAS Library

Frequently-Used Standards

ASTM Compass
Current and historical versions of all ASTM standards, STPs (Special Technical Publications) and all ASTM Journals.
IEEE Xplore Digital Library
Full-text access to high quality technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, electronics, and other related technology disciplines. Includes IEEE journals, magazines, conference proceedings, and standards, in addition to books and educational courses.

ASME Standards in our Print Collection
Browse ASME standards that are available in the CEAS Library reference collection.
ASCE Standards
American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE) technical standards.

ASHRAE Standards and Guidelines
Read-only access to ASHRAE standards and guidelines (current versions) via their website. ASHRAE (American Society of Heating, Refrigerating and Air-Conditioning Engineers) publications focus on sustainable technology for the built environment, including building systems, energy efficiency, indoor air quality, refrigeration and sustainability.
NFPA Standards & Codes
NFPA codes and standards are a leading resource on fire, electrical, and life safety guidelines and requirements. NFPA makes its codes and standards available online to the public for free. Users will be asked to "sign-in" or create a profile to access codes/standards.
ICC Building Codes
Read-Only access to freely available ICC International Building Codes via their website. Codes include the most recent editions of International Building Code (IBC), International Fire Code (IFC), International Mechanical Code (IMC), International Plumbing Code (IPC), International Residential Code (IRC) and more.

Knovel
Knovel provides access to AASHTO Standards and Specifications including the current LRFD Bridge Design Specifications.

If ISO (International Organization for Standardization) or IEC (International Electrotechnical Commission) Standards are needed, please contact a Science & Engineering Librarian. We will share information from ANSI's University Outreach program that allows you to request no-cost electronic access to ISO and IEC standards for educational purposes.

Standards Databases (Commercial Vendors)

Search these "aggregator" sources to find standards issued by many different organizations and associations. The majority of these standards will not be in UC subscriptions and will need to be purchased. Contact the libraries for assistance in locating or purchasing a particular standard.

Techstreet
A commercial database of over 50,000 titles.
SAI Global InfoStore
A commercial database to help identify standards.
IHS Markit Standards Store
Provides a web based searchable database for standards.

Standards, Specifications and Codes by Organization

Acoustical Society of America - Aluminium Assocation

Acoustical Society of America
American National Standard Method for Calculation of the Absorption of Sound by the Atmosphere, (ASA 113-1995; ANSI S1.26-1995) (Reaffirmed by ANSI June 15, 2009) (QC233.A44 1995)
Aerospace Industries Association of America
Industry Standards (Older pre-1992 standards on Microfiche 36)
Air-Conditioning and Refrigeration Institute
Industry Standards (Older pre-1992 standards on Microfiche 36)
Aluminum Association
Aluminum Design Manual: Specifications and Guidelines for Aluminum Structures (TA690.A45 2015 - CEAS Reference)

AASHTO

American Concrete Institute (ACI)

American Concrete Institute (ACI)
ACI manual of concrete practice
Contains all ACI code requirements, specifications, guides and reports, including ACI 318
ACI Manual of Concrete Inspection
The Reinforced Concrete Design Handbook : A Companion to ACI 318-14 (ACI SP-17(14))

ACGHI - AICHE

American Conference of Governmental Industrial Hygienists (ACGIH)
Industrial Ventilation: A Manual of Recommended Practice for Design (TH7684.F2 A5 2007 - CEAS Reference)
American Gear Manufacturers Association (AGMA)
Industry Standards (Older pre-1992 standards on Microfiche 36)
American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA)
Recommended Practice for Atmospheric and Space Flight Vehicle Coordinate Systems. (TL570.R3733 1992 - CEAS Reference)
American Institute of Chemical Engineers (AICHE)
Centrifugal Compressors : A Guide to Performance Evaluation and Site Testing. (TJ990.A36 2013 - CEAS Reference)

American Institute of Steel Construction (AISC)

American Institute of Steel Construction
Industry Standards (Older pre-1992 standards on Microfiche 36)
Code of Standard Practice for Steel Buildings and Bridges
Seismic design manual
Specification for Safety-Related Steel Structures for Nuclear Facilities
Specification for Structural Steel Buildings
Seismic Provisions for Structural Steel Buildings
Steel Construction Manual, 14th edition

American Institute of Timber Construction

American National Standards Committees

American National Standards Committees
Library holds a number of ANSI Standards, most are issued independently under the organizational name or in conjunction with other organizations. See library catalog under "American National Standards Institute" or other organizational name.

American Railway Engineering and Maintenance-of-Way Association

American Society for Materials (ASM)

American Society for Testing and Materials (ASTM)

American Society for Testing and Materials

ASTM Compass
Current and historical versions of ASTM standards, all STPs (Special Technical Publications) and all ASTM Journals.

ASTM and SAE-AMS Standards and Specifications for Stainless Steel
ASTM Standards in Building Codes
Annual Book of ASTM Standards
Guide to ASTM Test Methods for Analysis of Petroleum Products and Lubricants
Handbook of Comparative World Steel Standards
Metals and Alloys in the Unified Numbering System
ASTM Building Standards
If the standard is part of the ASTM Compass subscription, you will be redirected to the subscribed content.

American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers (ASABE)

American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers (ASABE)
(formerly American Society of Agricultural Engineers - ASAE)
ASABE Standards 2011, with Supplement

American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE)

American Society of Heating, Refrigerating, and Air-Conditioning Engineers (ASHRAE)

American Society of Heating, Refrigerating and Air-Conditioning Engineers (ASHRAE)
ASHRAE Standards & Guidelines from Techstreet
ASHRAE is the American Society of Heating, Refrigerating and Air Conditioning Engineers. Free, read-only, versions of current standards available on their site. ASHRAE publications focus on sustainable technology for the built environment, including building systems, energy efficiency, indoor air quality, refrigeration and sustainability.
ASHRAE Design Guide for Tall, Supertall, and Megatall Building Systems
ASHRAE Greenguide : Design, Construction, and Operation of Sustainable Buildings
ASHRAE Handbook--Fundamentals
ASHRAE handbook. Heating, ventilating, and air-conditioning systems and equipment
ASHRAE Handbook--HVAC Applications
ASHRAE Handbook--Refrigeration (IP)
ASHRAE Standards and Guidelines 2014
Additional ASHRAE Standards (these are READ-ONLY Versions)

American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME)

American Water Works Association (AWWA)

American Welding Society - Asphalt Institute

American Welding Society
Structural Welding Code--Steel, 23rd edition, 2015. ( TS227 .A474 2015 - CEAS Reference)
Asphalt Institute
Industry Standards (Older pre-1992 standards on Microfiche 36)

American Wood Council (AWC)

Association for the Advancement of Medical Instrumentation (AAMI)

Brick Institute of America

British Standards (BSI)

Building Officials and Code Administrators International (BOCA)

Canadian Standards Association

Cincinnati, Ohio

Compressed Gas Association - Council of American Building Officials

Compressed Gas Association (Industry Standards)
Industry Standards (Older pre-1992 standards on Microfiche 36)
Concrete Reinforcing Steel Institute (CRSI)
CRSI Design Handbook 2008 (TA683.24.C76 2008 - CEAS Reference)
Manual of Standard Practice 28th edition (TA683.42.C64 2009 - CEAS Reference)
Council of American Building Officials (see: International Code Council)

Department of Defense

DIN - Environmental Industry Associations

Deutsches Institute fur Normung e.V. (DIN)
Environmental Industry Associations
Manual of Recommended Safety Practices (TD794.M36 2001 - CEAS Reference)

Eurocodes Expert

Hamilton County, Ohio

Illuminating Engineering Society of North America (IES)

Industrial Fasteners Institute

Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE)

Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE)

IEEE Xplore Digital Library Full-text access to high quality technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, electronics, and other related technology disciplines. Includes IEEE journals, magazines, conference proceedings, and standards, in addition to books and educational courses.

Institute of Petroleum (Now the Energy Institute)

Institute of Transportation Engineers (ITE)

Instrument Society of America (ISA) - International Association for the Properties of Water & Steam

Instrument Society of America (ISA)
ISA Standards, Recommended Practices, and Technical Reports (TA165.I82 1999 - CEAS Reference)
International Association for the Properties of Water & Steam
Properties of Water and Steam: The Industrial Standard IAPWS-IF97 for the Thermodynamic Properties and Supplementary Equations for Other Properties (TJ268.W42 1998 - CEAS Reference)

International Association of Plumbing and Mechanical Officials

International Atomic Energy Agency (IAE)

International Code Council (ICC)

International Conference of Building Officials

International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC) - International Energy Administration

International Electrotechnical Commission
Medical Devices: Applications of Usability Engineering to Medical Devices (IEC 62366) (R856.6.I58 2007 - CEAS Reference)
Ultrasonics: Focusing Transducers: Definitions and Measurement Methods for the Transmitted Fields (CEI/IEC 61828) (TK5982.U48 2006 - CEAS Reference)
International Energy Administration
Emission Standards for Coal-Fired Plants, 1988. (TD195.C58 V47 - CEAS Reference)

International Federation for Structural Concrete (FIB)

International Organization for Standardization (ISO)

International Telecommunications Union (ITU)

Intersociety Committee

Methods of Air Sampling and Analysis, 3rd edition

Means Construction Cost Guides

Metal Powder Industries Federation

National Association of Corrosion Engineers (NACE)

National Concrete Masonry Association

National Conference of States on Building Codes & Standards, Inc - National Electrical Manufacturers Association

National Conference of States on Building Codes & Standards, Inc
Directory of Building Codes and Regulations by City and State (KF5701.Z95 D57 2002 - CEAS Reference)
National Electrical Manufacturers Association (NEMA)
Industry Standards (Older pre-1992 standards on Microfiche 36)

National Fire Protection Agency

National Fire Protection Agency (NFPA)
Fire Protection Handbook
National Electrical Code (NEC) 2014
National Electrical Code Handbook
National Fire Codes 2015
NFPA Codes and Standards
"As part of its commitment to enhancing public safety and to serving the public's increasing interest in technical information, NFPA makes its codes and standards available online for free."

National Information Standards Organization (NISO) - National Roofing Contractor's Association

National Information Standards Organization
Full text in PDF format is available for many NISO standards
National Institute of Standards & Technology (NIST)/National Bureau of Standards (NBS)
The library receives most NIST/NBS publications except NBSIR series (interagency reports). See the UC Library Catalog under "United States. [name of agency] or use the title of a specific series of publications.
National Roofing Contractor's Association (NRCA)
The NRCA Roofing and Waterproofing Manual, 5th edition (TH2401.N36 2001 v.1-4 - CEAS Reference)

Ohio

Portland Cement Association - Sheet Metal & Air Conditioning Contractors National Association, Inc.

Portland Cement Association (PCA)
Notes on ACI 318-08 Building Code Requirements for Structural Concrete (TA444.N48 2008 - CEAS Reference)
PCI (Precast/Prestressed Concrete Institute)
PCI Design Handbook : Precast and Prestressed Concrete, 7th ed. (TA683.7.P44 2010 - CEAS Reference)
Precast Prestressed Concrete Parking Structures: Recommended Practice for Design and Construction, 3rd ed., (MNL-129-15) (TL175.P74 2015 - CEAS Reserves)
Public Works Standards, Inc.
Greenbook: Standard Specifications for Public Works Construction, 2015 ed. (TA180.G74 2015 - CEAS Reference)
Semiconductor Equipment and Materials Institute (SEMI)
Book of SEMI Standards, 1991. (TK7871.85.S437 1991 - CEAS Reference)
Sheet Metal & Air Conditioning Contractors National Association, Inc. (SMACNA)
Architectural Sheet Metal Manual, 7th ed., 2012 (TH1651.A66 2012 - CEAS Reference)

Society of Automotive Engineers

Society of Fire Protection Engineers

Southern Building Code Congress International

Steel Joist Institute - Tubular Exchanger Manufacturers Association

Steel Joist Institute
Standard Specifications Load Tables and Weight Tables for Steel Joists and Joist Girders, 1994. (TA685.S73 1994 - CEAS Reference)
Most recent edition available through the Steel Joint Institute Website.
TAPPI (Technical Association of the Pulp and Paper Industry)
TAPPI Test Methods, 1998-1999 (TS1109.T274 1998-1999 - CEAS Reference)
Tubular Exchanger Manufacturers Association (TEMA)
Standards of the Tubular Exchange Manufacturers Association, 9th ed., 2007 (TJ263.T8 2007 - CEAS Reference)

Transportation Research Board

Underwriters Laboratories (UL)

United States Department of Defense

United States Department of Energy

United States Environmental Protection Agency

United States National Highway Traffic Safety Administration

United States National Highway Traffic Safety Administration
Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standards and Regulations
Found in US Code of Federal Regulations, Title 49, Part 571. (Search by year, go to title and Part 571, Sub Title B, Chapter V)
Vehicle and Equipment Information

United States Department of Transportation

Ask A Science & Engineering Librarian

Send questions to Ask-A-Librarian at https://guides.libraries.uc.edu/ceas-ask-a-librarian or email Mark Chalmers: Mark.Chalmers@uc.edu .

Return to CEAS Library
Return to CEAS Library Subject Guides