The Bluebook: A Uniform System of Citation is generally the default legal citation manual. It is compiled by the editors of the Columbia Law Review, the Harvard Law Review, the University of Pennsylvania Law Review, and The Yale Law Journal and began in 1926. It is now in its 21st edition. Other general legal citation manuals include ALWD, and The Redbook. Additionally, each jurisdiction and court may have its own citation rules. Ohio, for example, has its own writing manual.
Chicago Manual of Style Online by
The Chicago Manual of Style Online is completely searchable, providing quick answers to your style and editing questions. The Chicago Manual of Style Online also provides convenient Tools, such as sample forms, letters, and style sheets.
The Redbook by
Since the first edition was published in 2002, The Redbook has established itself as the most authoritative, comprehensive, and easily usable manual of legal style. Written by Bryan A. Garner, with contributions from all six lawyers at LawProse Inc., The Redbook covers everything that mere citation manuals don't and can't: punctuation, capitalization, grammar, prose style, and clarity in general. The Redbook is an eminently usable reference book. Written in the style of a restatement, the black-letter rules are followed by exhaustive comments and illustrations.
Texas Law Review Manual on Style
The Texas Law Review Manual on Usage & Style is a pocket-sized guide to style and usage for legal writing—a convenient and accessible reference tool used by many lawyers and law students.
Prince's Bieber Dictionary of Legal Citations by
States' highest courts -- Discontinued state reporters -- Year, Congress & session, volume numbers -- Numbering acts of Congress -- Dates and coverage of united states code editions -- United States Supreme Court reporters -- West's national reporter regions -- Annotated reports from multiple jurisdictions and their periods of coverage -- Dating of major law reports
Understanding and Mastering the Bluebook by
The Bluebook provides the rules for legal citation, but can be intimidating and frustrating to use. Rules are fully described and illustrated using: clear explanations and illustrations of the basic components of legal citations; step-by-step instructions for building citations to the most common authorities cited by legal practitioners; detailed guidance for citing legal materials to both print and electronic sources; examples, comparison charts, illustrations, and bullet-point explanations designed for quick mastery of basic Bluebook citation rules; tips, hints, and cautions to help users avoid common citation errors; cross references to the controlling Bluebook rules; and a user-friendly format gathering The Bluebook's scattered rules for each authority into one place. The third edition of Understanding and Mastering The Bluebook is thoroughly revised and updated to the 20th edition of The Bluebook.
User's Guide to the "Bluebook" by
Written for practitioners, the User's Guide covers the major Bluebook rules and most commonly cited materials.
Legal Citation in a Nutshell by 