Bluebook Citation 101 -- Practitioner Format

Rule 11 & B11 of The Bluebook (22nd ed. 2025) covers the citation of Constitutions.

Elements

The citation should include the following:

• U.S. or the abbreviated name of the state (see T. 10)
• Const.
• Abbreviate any subdivisions per Table 16

Constitutions in Online Databases

Follow the above rules but add a parenthetical identifying the publisher (or editor or compiler), database and its currency.

Examples

U.S. Const. amend. XIII, § 1.

Ohio Const. art. I.

Ohio Const. art. 1 (LexisNexis, Lexis+ current through 2022 general election).

Short Form

Id.

ALWD

R. 13 of The ALWD Citation Manual (7th ed.) covers the citation of Constitutions.

Elements

The citation should include the following:

• U.S. or the abbreviated name of the state (see Appendix 3(b))
• Const.
• Abbreviate any subdivisions per Appendix 3(c). See also R. 4 (numbers) & 6 (subdivisions)

Constitutions in Online Databases

Follow the above rules but add a parenthetical identifying the database and its currency.

Examples

U.S. Const. amend. XIII, § 1.

Ohio Const. art. I.

Ohio Const. art. 1 (Lexis+ current through 2022 general election).

Short Form

Id.

Rule 12 of The Bluebook (22d ed. 2025) covers the citation of statutes. B 12 and T.1 should also be consulted. Cite the official federal code. Citation to official state codes is preferred but not required.

Elements

• Name and original section number as it appears in the session laws (only if the statute is commonly cited that way)
  • Omit the word "The" as the 1st word
  • Include the year if it is in the official title
  • Official or popular names can be used
• Title, Chapter, or Volume (see  T. 1, 1.3) 
  • If each title, chapter or volume contains differently numbered sections or paragraphs than you can omit the volume, chapter, or title
  • If a subject matter rather than title, volume, or chapter are used, use the subject matter instead (see T. 1.3)
• Code (cite to the official federal code, official state code if possible)
• Section
• Publisher, editor or compiler (unless the code is published by or under the supervision of government officials)
• Year (optional for federal codes) (on spine or title page if available, otherwise year on title page, and if not that, the copyright year)
• Supplements (see Rule 3.1 to cite any material appearing in supplements)

Examples:

42 U.S.C.§ 1983.

8 U.S.C. §§ 1187-89.

Ohio Rev. Code Ann. § 3503.06 (West 2007).

Ohio Rev. Code Ann. § 3503.06 (LexisNexis 2009).

Citing to Online Codes -- Rule 12.5 and 18.3:

If citing to a statute that is available on a commercial online service such as Lexis or Westlaw, follow the above rules but also give the name of the publisher, editor or compiler; the name of the database; and the currency of code.

Examples:

Ohio Rev. Code Ann. § 3503.06 (Page's, Lexis+ through File 11 of the 136th General Assembly (2025-2026)).

Ohio Rev. Code Ann. § 3503.06 (Baldwin's, Westlaw Precision through through File 11 of the 136th General Assembly (2025-2026) and 2025 Statewide Issue 2 (May election)(2024 H.J.R. No. 8)).

ALWD

Rule 14 of The ALWD Citation Manual (7th ed.) covers the citations to codes.

Elements

A citation to the Federal statutes should include the following:

• Name and original section number as it appears in the session laws (only if the statute is commonly cited that way)
  • Omit the word "The" as the 1st word
  • Include the year if it is in the official title
  • Official or popular names can be used
• Title number
• Code Abbreviation (cite to official code where possible - see Appendix 1)
• Section
• Publisher and Date (if unofficial)

Citations to State codes will vary. Consult Appendix 1(B) and analogize to the federal code citation format.

Online Codes

• Use regular citation form but add the name of the database provider and currency information

Examples

42 U.S.C.§ 1983.

8 U.S.C. §§ 1187-89.

Ohio Rev. Code Ann. § 3503.06 (West 2007).

Ohio Rev. Code Ann. § 3503.06 (LexisNexis 2009).

Ohio Rev. Code Ann. § 3503.06 (Lexis+ through File 11 of the 136th General Assembly (2025-2026)).