Advanced Legal Research: Researching Secondary Sources & Practice Tools

Anderson's Appellate Practice and Procedure in Ohio is a complete step-by-step guide to handling an appeal and provides information on how to correctly file, prosecute, and defend appeals. It is designed primarily for the occasional visitor to the Courts of Appeals of Ohio, and focuses on the basic principles of appellate practice and procedure as they apply to appeals from the decisions of both courts and administrative agencies. It gives thorough, real-world guidance on the Ohio appellate process.

Anderson's Ohio Civil Practice with Forms takes readers step-by-step from the beginning of an action through all appellate procedures. Topically organized, the text includes an explanation of substantive law, special proceedings under the Ohio Revised Code and other areas not covered by the Civil Rules. In addition, a complete collection of forms guides the practitioner from the commencement of an action through final remedies. Hundreds of additional forms cover specific actions.

Anderson's Ohio Civil Rules Practice with Forms is a desk reference that provides practicing attorneys and judges in Ohio with a manual to find quick and accurate answers to procedural questions under the Civil Rules. This single volume reference guide presents a practice-oriented approach where the rules are discussed in an integrated way rather than in isolation, in recognition of how an action is handled from commencement to judgment. When a topic, such as motions, is discussed, provisions of the Civil Rules that relate to motions are discussed in that chapter, thus shortening the search for relevant answers and making it easier to avoid overlooking allied concerns. In addition to expert analytical discussion, Anderson's Ohio Civil Rules Practice With Forms includes illustrative forms and appendices containing the Ohio Rules of Civil Procedure, Court of Claims Rules, a Time Table under the Civil Rules, and selected Rules of Superintendence for the Courts of Ohio, along with a comprehensive subject index.

Anderson's Ohio Consumer Law contains federal and state consumer statutes as well as extensive treatment of common law doctrines that are frequently invoked in consumer disputes. It also includes substantial coverage of both warranty law under Article 2 of the Uniform Commercial Code and the law of products liability, which are both critically important to consumers.

Anderson's Ohio Creditor's Rights Manual leads the attorney step-by-step through all the situations and problems that a creditor may encounter in attempting to collect money from a debtor. All chapters are accompanied by examples, suggested forms, and other materials designed to assist in the practical aspects of representing creditors.

More than 500 Ohio Criminal Forms are the centerpiece of this title. This treatise also seeks to give practical guidance to judges and lawyers concerning the meaning of the Rules of Criminal Procedure, the Rules of Appellate Procedure for Courts of Appeals Relating to Criminal Appeals, and Special Proceedings Related to Criminal Matters.

The treatise takes you step-by-step through an Ohio criminal prosecution, from investigation through the post-conviction appellate and habeas corpus processes. It contains discussion, as well as annotations, research references, and forms.

Written for the legal professional whose practice includes domestic relations cases, this detailed manual leads the attorney step-by-step through a divorce or dissolution proceeding. Focusing on the issues, questions, and problems that commonly arise in typical divorce or dissolution cases, this guidebook provides detailed coverage of special issues of current interest such as custody (allocation of parental rights and responsibilities), spousal and child support, and health care. Common post-decree matters such as modification of support or custody are also considered, as well as issues relating to the validity and enforcement of antenuptial agreements.

Anderson's Ohio Elder Law Practice Manual offers up-to-date and comprehensive coverage of the many financial and health care planning issues affecting Ohio seniors. Covered topics include: powers of attorney; living trusts; joint trusts; Medicaid; long-term care and Medigap insurance; durable powers of attorney for health care; and living wills. In addition to full analysis of federal and Ohio law, this publication also covers relevant portions of the law of selected states, such as Kentucky, Indiana and Florida. Included as well are relevant forms.

Anderson's Ohio Family Law is the essential two-volume set addressing the legal issues in the ever-evolving Family Law arena. Volume One presents an overview of domestic relations and Volume Two covers juvenile court practice and procedure.

This manual provides both police and prosecutors an easy-to-use format for the filing of criminal charges and preparing indictments that will be viable in court. It provides access to charging information, containing complete language for all offenses in Title 29 of the Ohio Revised Code, as well as important statutory definitions. This manual presents practical notes to assist law enforcement officials in making crucial charging and indictment decisions. Essential information on appropriate selection of charges in individual cases is included, as well as penalties, affirmative defenses, and statutory definitions. The appendix provides sample forms that conform to the policies expressed in the Criminal Rules.

Anderson's Ohio OVI Law with Forms details the process from the moment the police officer initiates the stop, through trial, and appeal. This comprehensive reference allows practitioners to have at their fingertips the case citations, court rules, statutes, and forms you need to plan the prosecution or defense, prepare pretrial motions, support or overcome objections, and obtain favorable evidentiary rulings. The discussion is packed with winning strategies and tactics to maximize the chance of a successful prosecution or defense.

Anderson's Ohio Personal Injury Litigation Manual provides coverage of the most significant personal injury topics in Ohio: motor vehicle negligence, product liability, premises liability, government liability, and medical malpractice. It also includes hundreds of practice tips for the personal injury attorney, including checklists, warnings, strategic points, exceptions, and resources. And if you need to conduct more in-depth research, Anderson's Ohio Personal Injury Litigation Manual provides relevant cross-references to other personal injury treatises and forms.

Anderson’s Ohio Pretrial Litigation Practice Manual is a complete step-by-step guide to handling a civil case prior to trial, from pre-filing investigation and planning through the final pretrial conference and settlement. The text explains the procedures governing initial and responsive pleadings, pretrial motion practice, and discovery. It also identifies potential problems, suggesting effective strategies for dealing with such matters as the argumentative deposition witness or fragmented testimony. This treatise includes guidance about drafting pretrial documents and a complete set of forms.

Anderson's Ohio Probate Practice and Procedure is a comprehensive, annotated text discussing every aspect of probate procedure in chronological order detailing every move the practitioner will need to follow in Outlines of Procedure. Major topics include: Adoptions, Estates, Trusts, Guardianships, Care and treatment for the mentally handicapped, Anatomical Gifts, Declaration for Mental Health Treatment, and Alternative Dispute Resolution. It also contains forms.

Anderson's Ohio Residential Real Estate Manual discusses all the steps in a residential real estate transaction and alerts the user to issues that may interrupt the smooth flow of a purchase or sale. Covering topics such as brokers, contracts of sale, financing, title and title insurance, land registration, actions to quiet title, foreclosure, deeds, closings, condominiums, taxes, and liens and replete with frequently used forms – both official and attorney drafted – it collects in one place a wealth of guidance at every step of the process. Checklists and strategic points help ensure that no detail is overlooked.

Anderson's Ohio School Law Guide is a comprehensive, practical work that gives definitive answers to questions relating to public schools. It covers school districts, administration, school finance and management, buildings and property, teachers, pupils, and pupil services, liability of school districts and officers, and federal issues.

The authoritative source on Ohio's blue sky laws, this set combines the formal requirements and more informal aspects of Ohio securities practice, explaining all aspects of Ohio blue sky practice, from routine registration, exemption, and liability questions to more complex issues involving Ohio's merit requirements.

Featuring more than 1,000 official forms in a convenient topical format, the set also includes general commentary explaining the law governing the forms followed by tax commentary explaining state and federal tax laws.

Ohio Workers' Compensation Law encompasses the full scope of modern workers' compensation law, from its historic origins to its operation in today's hearing rooms and courthouses. It contains in-depth coverage of: Definitions of types of injury, disability and compensation; Types of administrative proceedings; Range of appeals to the court; Fraud, subrogation, intentional tort and psychological injury; Non-complying employers; Claims for occupational diseases; Chiropractic treatment; Standards for self-insuring employers; Permanent disability; Wage loss; and Managed care.

The three-volume Business Organizations is an authoritative resource that gives business attorneys a solid understanding of every facet of business law practice. Updated every year with expert commentary and analysis, it provides step-by-step instructions for planning a new business or going concern in Ohio, plus all the requirements of incorporation.

Baldwin's Civil Practice contains an in-depth discussion of the Ohio Rules of Civil Procedure plus related text and forms.

Domestic Relations Law (Baldwin’s Ohio Practice) provides comprehensive coverage of domestic relations law in Ohio. Case analysis and hypotheticals illustrate successful strategies. It includes recently drafted forms regarding modification of separation agreements and child support enforcement agencies.

Evidence, 4th (Baldwin's Ohio Practice) includes coverage of the Ohio Rules of Evidence, along with discussion of significant cases decided by the Ohio Supreme Court and the courts of appeals.

Katz & Giannelli Criminal Law covers all aspects of criminal procedure, from initial appearance to post-conviction remedies, with special emphasis on constitutional and evidentiary issues. The authors have integrated the Rules of Criminal Procedure with revised code provisions, common-law precedent, and recent caselaw from Ohio, other states, and the federal system. Expert commentary is enhanced with convenient cross-references to all major related treatises.

This reference serves as a practical resource of analytical text, statutes, and caselaw governing the administration and operations of Ohio counties. Coverage includes the organization and government of Ohio's counties, roles of county officers and employees, and zoning and tax implications.

Local Government Law – Municipal covers Ohio municipal law and practice, from annexation to zoning, plus municipal tort liability, collective bargaining, and public finance. It includes calendars for municipal and fiscal officers, ethics opinions, and public notice requirements, as well as forms, an Ohio guide to candidate requirements, and Tables of compatible/incompatible offices.

This looseleaf volume covers all aspects of Ohio township law, including: appointment and duties of administrators; duties under the ethics law; requirements of the open meeting law; employment of outside counsel; computer services contracts; inspection and supervision of public offices; and more. Numerous model forms are provided.

Merrick-Rippner Probate Law, 7th (Baldwin's Ohio Practice) analyzes issues arising from the administration of an estate from beginning to end. It also covers all other matters falling within the jurisdiction of the probate court in Ohio, such as adoption, guardianship, and juvenile law. It also includes checklists, timetables, forms, and other practice aids. A group of Ohio probate authorities provide up-to-date commentary that reflected changes in probate practice recently made by the Ohio General Assembly and Congress.

Ohio Appellate Practice provides fast answers to questions about appellate practice in Ohio, as well as in-depth analysis of all of the most recent caselaw, rules, and statutes governing it. The text covers all aspects of practice, including: Appellate forums and jurisdiction; General principles of appeals; Appealable orders; Commencement of an appeal; The record on appeal; Briefs and oral argument; Motion practice; Consideration and decision by the courts of appeals; and Appeals to the Ohio Supreme Court. It includes Ohio Rules of Appellate Procedure, relevant Ohio Revised Code provisions and court rules, timetables for appeals, standards of review, a model brief, and 6th Circuit materials.

Ohio Arrest, Search and Seizure examines the balance of an individual’s rights with legitimate law enforcement procedures, as reflected in decisions of the U.S. Supreme Court, Ohio criminal rules and statutes, and state caselaw.
Topics include: Plain view, Traffic stops, Arrest and search warrants, Interrogation, Confessions, Lineups, and Pretrial identification. It provides checklists for requirements for arrest, search, and seizure. It also contains a table of cases, table of laws and rules, and a subject index.

Ohio Condominium Law contains a thorough discussion on a wide range of topics affecting condominium owners, condominium associations, and real estate practitioners. This title presents a sweeping treatment of condominium law specifically tailored for the numerous differences caused by Ohio statutes.

Ohio Consumer Law analyzes hundreds of cases that are essential to interpreting the law and provides examples of how the courts have applied Ohio consumer laws to specific facts. The book starts with a chart of laws applicable to consumer transactions and includes a chapter on arbitration, which offers in-depth analysis of applicable statutes and caselaw. Checklists and sample forms are also provided.

Ohio Domestic Violence Law covers Ohio civil and criminal laws governing domestic violence. It discusses current issues and emerging trends, with references to applicable state and federal statutes, rules, and caselaw. It includes:
Forms, checklists, interview formats, charts, sample questions, a sample brief, and other aids; Analysis of civil protection orders, including issuance, hearings, court and police enforcement, and criminal protection orders; Full text of selected provisions of the Ohio Revised Code and selected Rules of Superintendence for Ohio Courts; and Analysis and commentary.

Ohio Driving Under the Influence Law provides answers to a myriad of questions that arise in DUI. It includes comprehensive review and analysis of legislation and court decisions that govern Ohio’s drunk driving law. This handbook includes: Official test report forms for all authorized breath-testing instruments; Ohio BMV forms for the imposition and disposition of administrative license suspensions; Relevant statutes and administrative rules; Alcohol testing requirements; The Ohio Traffic Rules; Table of Cases; bibliography; and subject index.

Ohio Elder Law provides practical information and guidance on how to comply with Ohio's statutes and regulations in the area of elder law and related practice areas, including probate law, health care law, estate planning, financial concerns, and tax law. The author describes the practice area as one in which the attorney can make a difference in the quality of life of the elderly client. Forms, checklists, and sample documents are provided.

Ohio Employment Practices Law is a one-volume source for Ohio and federal law relating to proper hiring, compensation, disciplinary, and other practices for employers. This book provides: Coverage of the substantive and procedural aspects of employment law; A chapter of time-saving forms; A table of lawful/unlawful interview questions; An extensive glossary; Court-tested measures to prevent or minimize risk in employee litigation; and Coverage of Ohio’s interpretation of the employment at will doctrine.

Ohio Forms and Transactions provides forms you will need for civil transactions in Ohio. Forms cover such topics as: Corporations; Partnerships and Other Business Organizations; Employment; Personal Property Transactions; Real Property Transactions; General Forms; Nonprofit Organizations; Estate Planning; and Law Office Management.

Ohio Insurance Coverage comprehensively examines Ohio caselaw interpreting major provisions of the widely used commercial general liability (CGL) insurance policy. The text includes: Selected equivalent provisions of other liability policies, such as the expected or intended injury exclusion; and Discussion of Ohio caselaw dealing with coverage disputes and litigation, including such topics as the duties to defend, indemnify, and settle, intervention, reformation, supplemental proceedings, declaratory judgment actions, and bad faith.

Ohio Juvenile Law contains selected provisions of the state revised code and rules of procedure and covers all major aspects of juvenile law, including: Abuse and neglect, Dependency; Delinquency and unruliness, and Traffic offenses. Rules of evidence, a table of cases, a table of laws and rules, and glossary index are included.

Ohio Landlord Tenant Law examines all aspects of the landlord-tenant relationship. The book also includes selected Ohio Revised Code provisions. Topics include: Lease applications; Lease and rental agreements; Tenant and landlord letters; Rent deposits; Pleading; Insurance and taxes; Tenant duties; Fair housing; Rent and security; and Landlord liability. This publication features: Ready-to-use rental agreements and applications; Sample letters covering lease terminations, requests to leave premises, and other common disputes; An advertising checklist, fair housing accessibility guidelines, and sample ordinances; Information on lead paint disclosure requirements and housing dispute mediation; and A table of cases and a table of laws and rules. Significant cases from other states are also mentioned.

Ohio Personal Injury Practice gives you practice pointers, tactical tips, and strategies for all areas of personal injury, from intake to closing arguments and posttrial prejudgment interest motions. The text illustrates how to: Gain advantages in litigation; Enhance the settlement value of a case; Increase the likelihood of winning at trial; and Gather medical records, accident reports, and other documentary evidence. The text answers the most frequently asked questions on medical malpractice, wrongful death, products liability, and personal injury. Revised code sections are cross-referenced to the text for easy access. There is also a reference table of statutes of limitations.

Ohio Planning and Zoning Law is a comprehensive treatise on Ohio land use controls and related planning and economic development issues. It offers a step-by-step guide to Ohio's permit process as well as in-depth analysis of state legislation governing planning, economic development, and affordable housing. The text emphasizes Ohio statutes and caselaw, along with significant decisions from other state and federal courts. Features include: A detailed discussion of local comprehensive plans; Checklists; Guidelines; Tips for reviewing a proposal; and Advice for conducting good public hearings.

Ohio Real Estate Law provides a comprehensive discussion of all the legal issues associated with real estate law in Ohio. Featuring the text of relevant statutes and updated expert commentary, this set provides in-depth analysis of: Title issues, Conveyances, Commercial real estate law, Condominium law, Planned unit developments, Residential leasing, Evictions, Real estate brokerage, Mechanic's lien law, Foreclosure procedures, Valuation of property. In addition to annotated references to reported state and federal cases, attorney general opinions, law review articles, and significant unreported cases, it also contains checklists, practice tips, tables, charts, and more than 200 forms accompanied by filing notes, include proper format and style, and reference authorizing sections of the state revised code.

Ohio School Law discusses all aspects of Ohio school law, with special emphasis on topics of current concern, such as: Teachers' compensation, fringe benefits, and leave; and The training of board of education members and personnel. It contains cross-references to federal and state statutes and caselaw.

Intended to be part of the Appendix to Criminal Law (Baldwin's Ohio Practice), this product provides useful text references for preparing criminal charges and indictments that comply with Ohio criminal statutes. The compilation of charges is particularly helpful for prosecutors, law enforcement officers, and criminal defense attorneys.

Ohio Trial Practice provides basic principles of Ohio trial law and their proper application, as well as a step-by-step guide for preparing and pleading cases. The text discusses both procedural and substantive aspects of trial law.

Tort Law is an authoritative resource designed to provide the civil attorney with a comprehensive reference to tort law in the state of Ohio. It analyzes the law based on subject area, fact scenario, and appellate district, allowing easy and quick research for practically any situation. A discussion of how the appellate districts vary in their approaches to the same fact scenarios is also included. The set covers topics such as assault, battery, and trespass. Other topics covered include: Business torts (including computer and cyberspace litigation), Products liability, Professional malpractice, and Insurance bad faith.

Corbin on Ohio Contracts provides a comprehensive and accurate statement of Ohio contract law. It also demonstrates how Ohio law differs from the majority or other prominent positions.

This single volume desktop reference provides basic information concerning the laws, regulations, and policies affecting labor and employment in Ohio. The book offers guidance on important new procedures and potential sources of liability and keeps you abreast of important regulations governing all aspects of the employer-employee relationship - from hiring to termination or retirement.

New Appleman Ohio Insurance Law is the only Ohio-specific litigation practice guide that covers the broad sweep of insurance law. This resource includes extensive cross-references to related, authoritative New Appleman Insurance Law coverage and numerous examples, practice pointers, strategic advice, warnings, checklists, and references to countless statutes, regulations, and cases, as well as cross-references to other LexisNexis treatises. In addition, it includes discussion of not only one line of insurance, but also health, homeowners, life, CGL, D&O, EPL, and many others.

Ohio Business Entities, Second Edition is a concise two-volume practice guide for advising a business client through all stages of the business life-cycle from creating, to maintaining, to modifying, or dissolving a business entity in Ohio. Expert authors address choice of entity and formation, financing, fiduciary duties, securities regulation and more, with a particular emphasis on understanding the tax consequences of various business decisions. Specific topics covered include pre-incorporation planning; the mechanics of incorporation; shareholders’ rights; the purchase, sale and dissolution of businesses; S corporations; state securities regulations; federal and state tax law; close corporations; limited liability companies; partnerships; business trusts and nonprofit corporations. Each chapter includes commentary, practice tips and references to relevant state and federal case law, Ohio statutes and federal statutes, including the Internal Revenue Code. An essential collection of business forms for creating, maintaining and dissolving a business have been inserted into relevant chapters.

Law students and faculty only. Ohio Forms: Legal and Business contains hundreds of predrafted forms, each with a companion explanation of relevant law. Ohio-specific forms cover every contingency, including real property, lease and consumer protection, contracts, personal property and business enterprises, assignments, estate planning, family law, nonprofit organizations, and the Uniform Commercial Code. Each chapter includes an overview, section descriptions, forms, tables, index, and cross-references to noteworthy articles. Research aids direct you to pertinent annotations, law reviews, and other legal sources.

Ohio Forms of Pleading and Practice is an 18-volume set with total forms coverage of the Civil Rules, Appellate Procedure, Probate Practice, selected Special Proceedings, Criminal and Juvenile Rules and the Rules of Evidence, as well as the complete text of the Ohio Rules of Court. The complete text of each Rule is followed by the forms, along with annotations to relevant statutes, cases, rules and other related forms, along with comparisons to each rule's federal counterpart.

Ohio Legal Ethics Law analyzes the Rules of Professional Conduct against the backdrop of Ohio legal ethics precedent, as reflected in disciplinary, malpractice, and disqualification decisions and in formal and advisory ethics opinions. The Treatise is updated annually.

This publication provides practical guidance regarding the various procedures involved in the Ohio probate process. The text includes analysis, tools such as forms and checklists to be used at various stages of the process, as well as citations to authorities.

The Seventh Edition of Ohio Real Property Law and Practice includes virtually everything an attorney needs to practice real estate law in Ohio: three volumes of indispensable analysis, practice tips, checklists, and forms. Checklists, Warnings and Practice Tips have been inserted throughout the chapters. It also contains the full text of the Ohio Title Standards, comprehensive and practical coverage of contracts, deeds, title, condominiums, mortgages, mechanics' liens, landlord-tenant law, zoning, economic development incentives, taxes, and eminent domain.

This set provides practitioners with research tools, analyses, practice tips, checklists and forms pertaining to business entities, wills, trusts, and real estate, commercial and personal transactions in Ohio. Most of the chapters contain a research guide, a legal background discussion, a practice guide and a forms section. The research guide provides a list of primary and secondary sources that relate to the subject matter of the chapter. The legal background discussion summarizes the applicable law, while the practice guide contains helpful outlines or checklists. The forms section, which constitutes roughly half of each chapter, not only contains many useful forms but also describes how to use them.

Weissenberger's Ohio Civil Procedure Litigation Manual provides a thorough, yet concise, analysis of the Ohio Rules of Civil Procedure. It is intended to aid the practitioner, judge, and student alike in understanding the operation and application of the Rules in situations that recur throughout the course of litigation. This manual identifies other additional sources on Ohio law, resolves problems frequently engendered by the application of the Rules, and provides practical commentary on each rule, as well as hundreds of illustrations of possible applications. Each chapter in Weissenberger's Ohio Civil Procedure Litigation Manual contains the full text of each Rule in a format that lends itself to easy examination and dissection. This publication also includes lists of additional Ohio authorities and lists of carefully selected leading cases as starting points for additional research. This manual contains a host of other useful features, including a note on judicial rulemaking in Ohio, and a table used to calculate the number of days between two dates, as well as the full text of the Ohio Rules of Appellate Procedure. A quick reference index is located on the inside front cover and a section locator on the back cover will direct the user to the section of the book where the desired information can be found.