Let’s talk about things that are not treatises, specifically form books and practice guides. There are two types of legal practice:
1) Transactional practice or out of court practice; and
2) Trial Practice
Trial Practice materials involve things used in the actual litigation. Examples of these would be complaints, answers, motions, etc.
One thing to keep in mind any time you are looking to use a form is that you don’t want to just take a form off the shelf and use it. You’re going to need to change and adapt it to your jurisdiction and circumstances.
Many of these practice treatises have associated form books.
Art of Advocacy Appeals
Law students & faculty only. Step-by-step practical analysis of written and oral arguments, with expert advice on preparation and presentation. Included are sample written briefs and oral arguments in products liability cases, medical malpractice cases, and wrongful death actions. Arguments are compared, do's and don'ts are highlighted, and checklists are provided.
Art of Advocacy Cross Examination of Non-Medical Experts
Law students & faculty only. Learn how to undermine an expert's testimony by showing bias, lack of qualification, inconsistency with prior statements, etc., how to use a witness to prove your case and how to control a hostile witness. Cross examinations are contributed by Richard Caulfield, Ronald Krist, Paul Luvera, Robert Ely, Richard Sommer, Scott Baldwin, Fred Peters, Bruce Walkup, Frank Raichle, Stanley Preiser, Adrian Schoone, Joseph L. Young and Leonard Decof.
Art of Advocacy Demonstrative Evidence
Law students & faculty only. Provides uidance for the litigator on how and when to use demonstrative evidence in a personal injury case. Complete with sample testimony and arguments, illustrations, charts and diagrams, the volume covers: Technical and practical problems involved in obtaining and handling demonstrative exhibits The legal principles related to the use, admissibility and opposition of virtually every type of demonstrative presentation.
Art of Advocacy Discovery
Law students & faculty only. This treatise covers the following areas of practice: Depositions, Interrogatories, and requests for production of documents; Requests for admissions; and Combined discovery demands.
Art of Advocacy Documentary Evidence
Law students & faculty only. his publication covers such important topics as sources of documentary evidence, retrieval of documents from clients and third parties, discovery of documents, and more. It covers such important topics as: - Sources of documentary evidence - Retrieval of documents from clients and third parties - Use of computers to assist in document storage and production - Discovery of documents - Document alteration and forgery - Technical and practical problems in managing, handling, and storing documents - Introduction of documents during a trial - The effect of computers and other technological advances on documentary evidence.
Art of Advocacy Jury Selection
Law students & faculty only. A guide for the novice and a practical source of new techniques for the experienced advocate. The following respected attorneys are among those who have contributed jury selections: Lawrence Charfoos, William Davis, Wayne Fisher, Robert Habush, Fred Hazouri, James Hullverson, Thomas Malone, Stanley Preiser, Leonard Ring, and Ward Wagner Jr.
Art of Advocacy Preparation of the Case
A planning guide that takes you from the moment the potential client steps into your office, through all aspects of case preparation, to the moment you step before the judge as an advocate.
Art of Advocacy Settlement
Law students & faculty only. This is a planning guide covering the issue of settlements. The first part of the book covers the "practical." It is the "How to Settle" part of the book. The next part covers the "academic" -- a reference source for those who need a starting point for research of a specific problem. The final chapters include the subjects of Ethics and the principles that have animated the discussions in the book -- "The Ten Commandments of Settlement."
Bender's Forms of Discovery Treatise (Volumes 11-17)
Law students & faculty only. This comprehensive litigation guide also offers in-depth discussion and action-oriented practice materials for all other discovery methods, including: Federal Rules of Civil Procedure 26 through 33; Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, Rule 34; an expanded Digest of Items Sought under FRCP 34 and 45(d); FRCP 35 and 36; FRCP 37 and 45(d); Criminal Discovery; and an in-depth discussion of discovery in complex litigation. Bender's Forms of Discovery features comprehensive, updated charts comparing the discovery rules of the 50 states with the various federal discovery rules, as well as appendices providing the text of the state discovery rules at variance with the federal rules.
Causes of Action
Law students & faculty only. Identifies the various elements of each case, provides detailed research and procedure guidelines, and a Damages Awards Survey,covers legal interpretations of courts through extensive sample cases. It also includes practice checklists, and litigation forms.
Federal Practice and Procedure (Wright & Miller)
Westlaw is available for law students & faculty only. Wright & Miller's Federal Practice and Procedure is another major treatise on federal practice. Like Moore's it covers Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, Criminal Procedure, Appeallate Procedure and Evidence and features extensive annotations.
Moore's Federal Practice -- Civil (Lexis)
Law faculty & students only. This is one of the major treatises on Federal practice. This part covers the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure. Annotations include the legislative history and an historical analysis for each rule.
American Jurisprudence Legal Forms 2d
Law students & faculty only. Arranged alphabetically, each title contains form drafting guides, notes on use, and sample forms.
American Jurisprudence Pleading and Practice Forms
Law students & faculty only. Litigation forms with procedural timetables and drafting checklists.
American Jurisprudence Proof of Facts
Law students & faculty only. Am. Jur. POF in 3 series explains how to determine and prove the facts essential to winning a case for a wide range of civil litigation and selected criminal defense topics. Checklists included with elements of damages and elements of proof. Sample pleadings, discovery, motions, and other documents are included in each article. Sample Proofs in detailed question-and-answer format show you how to prove particular facts.
American Jurisprudence Trials
Westlaw is available to Law students & faculty only. Contains hundreds of model trial articles that cover the spectrum of personal injury, business, and criminal litigation. Provides step-by-step guidance through all the phases of trial from initial client interview, discovery, pleadings, motions and trial itself, to post-trial motions and appeals. It features checklists, model forms, sample opening statements and final arguments, sample litigation aidsphotos, maps, diagrams, charts, tables, graphs, and more.
Bender's Federal Practice Forms
Law students & faculty only. This set provides a complete range of the litigation forms you need for federal practice at any level, from U.S. District Courts all the way up to and including the Supreme Court of the United States. Forms are conveniently organized into chapters based on the controlling procedural rules. Each chapter in each volume contains a brief, but current, analysis of the procedural rules on which the forms in that chapter are based. This analysis is a handy reference for questions attorneys may have while completing the forms, and explains the importance and function of the forms provisions the attorney is drafting.
Bender's Forms of Discovery Interrogatories (Volumes 1 to 10A)
This text provides an A-to-Z selection of sample interrogatories under more than 200 title categories from Accounting to Zoning. It also features appendices providing the text of the state discovery rules at variance with the federal rules.
Federal Procedural Forms
Law students & faculty only. Forms for federal judicial and administrative matters; includes references to primary law and research resources.
Lane's Goldstein Litigation Forms
Law students & faculty only. This set provides more than 1,000 practice-proven, chronologically organized forms to guide you through every phase of the litigation process. It covers initiation of litigation, pleadings, discovery, pretrial matters, motions, trial, verdicts, findings, judgments, posttrial procedures, arbitration, and settlements. Subjects covered include personal injury, medical malpractice, product liability, and contracts. It also contains extensive checklists.
Nichols Cyclopedia of Federal Procedure Forms
Westlaw is available to Law students & faculty only. Nichols Cyclopedia of Federal Procedure Forms provides to the practitioner a comprehensive array of federal pleading and practice forms, accompanied by a concise treatment of the latest relevant federal law.
