Research Guides: Advanced Legal Research: Researching Statutes, 50-State Surveys, Uniform Laws & Municipal Codes: Uniform Laws

Overview

Just as the Restatements are an attempt to give a uniform statement of the common law, there are also attempts to establish uniform statutory laws across jurisdictions. In 1892, the National Conference of Commissioners on Uniform State Laws, also sometimes referred to as NCCUSL was organized. NCCUSL has now been renamed the Uniform Law Commission. A uniform law is so designated when it has a reasonable chance of enactment in a substantial number of states. One of the most well known uniform laws is the Uniform Commercial Code.

A model act is a proposal that does not have a reasonable chance of enactment in a substantial number of states. The American Law Institute, the same people who do the Restatements, often propose Model Acts. The Model Penal Code is an example of a well known model act.

Many jurisdictions will adopt a uniform law completely or adopt a modified version of that law. Use Uniform Laws to research uniform statutory language, locate state codifications from jurisdictions that have adopted the uniform language, and explore jurisdictional variations in the adoption of the law.

Uniform Law Commission (formerly NCCUSL)

The Uniform Law Commission, also known as The National Conference of Commissioners on Uniform State Laws (NCCUSL), has a website where you can access uniform laws information. While this is a good source to find drafts of uniform laws and jurisdictions adopting uniform laws, it is not a good source to find case law interpreting those uniform laws. For case law, you want to use that Uniform Laws Annotated or go to your state annotated codes.

You can also check the individual state web sites for bills and session laws.

LII Uniform Code Locator You can look up which states have adopted a particular Uniform Law using one of the LII's Uniform Code locators. Locators are available for the Uniform Probate Code, Uniform Code of Evidence, and uniform laws in the areas of: matrimonial, family and health and business and finance.
National Conference of Commissioners on Uniform State Laws - Archive Publications This provides access to the full text of all Model Acts drafted, recommended or endorsed by the Conference. It includes the NCCUSL - Archive Publications, Handbook of the NCCUSL and Proceedings of the Annual Conference Meeting, 1st-123rd Conference (1891-2014) are all available transcripts of the Proceedings of each Annual Meeting, as well as the transcripts of the discussions in the Committee of the whole of each Uniform and Model Act. Also included are the approved "successive drafts" of each Uniform and Model Act.
Uniform Law Commission Model Acts on Lexis Advance This source consists of Uniform and Model Acts created by the Uniform Law Commission (ULC) of the National Conference of Commissioners on Uniform State Laws (NCCUSL).The Commission drafts uniform state laws on subjects where uniformity is desirable and practicable. The commission is the source of more than 250 uniform acts which seek to secure uniformity of state laws where diversity obstructs the interests of all the citizens of the United States.
Uniform Law Commission The Uniform Law Commission (ULC) has worked for the uniformity of state laws since 1892. It provides states with non-partisan, drafted legislation that brings clarity and stability to critical areas of state statutory law. It is a non-profit unincorporated association, comprised of state commissions on uniform laws from each state, the District of Columbia, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, and the U.S. Virgin Islands.

Uniform Laws Annotated

One of the best known sources of uniform laws is Uniform Laws Annotated. This is a set that is similar in many ways to an annotated code only it covers uniform laws instead of actual statutes. After each section are cases that interpret that section. The set has a Directory and Tables pamphlet that is extremely useful. Not only will this directory tell you which volume to find that uniform act, but it also has a Table of Jurisdictions Listing Uniform Acts adopted and if there is more than one version of a uniform act, which version. The Table of Jurisdictions Listing Uniform Acts Adopted is also available online in the references and annotations section for each Uniform Law.

Uniform Laws Annotated Also available on Westlaw: ULA Use the table of contents when online. In order to see which jurisdictions have adopted a uniform law, go to the ULA References and Annotations for your particular uniform law. That will give you a table where you can find jurisdictions that have adopted the uniform law, the state code citation to the law, and the effective date.
Call Number: Law Reference 2 KF165 .A5
Uniform Laws Annotated (on Westlaw) Use the table of contents when online. In order to see which jurisdictions have adopted a uniform law, go to the ULA References and Annotations for your particular uniform law. That will give you a table where you can find jurisdictions that have adopted the uniform law, the state code citation to the law, and the effective date.

Model Acts & Laws

Some Model Acts are published in West's Uniform Laws Annotated. The American Bar Association publishes a number of Model Acts. The American Law Institute (www.ali.org) publishes a number of model codes. Probably the best known of these is the Model Penal Code. Some associations and organizations will also draft model laws.

American Law Institute Codifications by ALI The American Law Institute publishes a number of model codes. Probably the best known of these is the Model Penal Code.