Skip to main content
UC Logo
Libraries | Ask the Libraries

Citing Sources in Engineering & Science

What are Citation Managers?

Citation managers help you to create databases of citation information. Most importantly:

  • References can be directly imported from databases and the library catalog into the citation manager
  • PDFs of the articles or other documents to be added to the citations as well
  • Citation managers offer a wide variety of citation formats that can be used for writing and citing within your paper RefWorks offers hundreds of output styles including: IEEE, ASCE, ASME, ASABE, APA, and MLA.

RefWorks

RefWorks is licensed by the University of Cincinnati and is freely available to all UC students, faculty and staff!

To create a RefWorks account:

  1. Go to http://refworks.proquest.com and click the 'sign up' link.
  2. Fill in your information and be sure to use your UC email address.

Once you have created an account, you'll get immediate access and can start managing your citations.

RefWorks can help you:

  • Electronically collect, organize and manage your references in a personal database
  • Easily format bibliographies, footnotes and in-text citations into almost any output style
  • Conveniently link references to full-text articles, eliminating unwieldy storage of paper copy
  • Access your personal database 24/7 anywhere you have web access
  • Share your personal database (or any part of it) with anyone in the world who has Internet access
  • Receive quarterly automatic quarterly upgrades (no installation required)

Getting Started or Need Help with RefWorks?

Other Citation Manager Options

  • EndNote (must purchase): A software program for publishing and managing bibliographies that you must purchase and load on your computer. A free 30 day trial is available.
  • Zotero: "A free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources. It lives right where you do your work - in the web browser itself"
  • Mendeley: "A free reference manager and academic social network that can help you organize your research, collaborate with others online, and discover the latest research. Automatically generate bibliographies, collaborate easily with other researchers online, easily import papers from other research software, find relevant papers based on what you're reading, access your papers from anywhere online..." and more.

Questions?

Not sure where to begin? Contact a CEAS Librarian with questions or submit an Ask-A-Librarian question.

Have a technical or specific question about RefWorks? Contact the UC Libraries RefWorks trainer Randall Roberts.

University of Cincinnati Libraries

PO Box 210033 Cincinnati, Ohio 45221-0033

Phone: 513-556-1424

Contact Us | Staff Directory

University of Cincinnati

Alerts | Clery and HEOA Notice | Notice of Non-Discrimination | eAccessibility Concern | Privacy Statement | Copyright Information

© 2019 University of Cincinnati