Research Guides: SciFinder (Chemical Research Database): Home

Science & Engineering Librarian

he, him, his

Email Me

Contact:

CEAS Library, ML 0018
850G Baldwin Hall

513-556-4211

Subjects: Biology, Chemistry & Physics, Engineering & Technology, Mathematics

SciFinder-N : Account Registration (First Time Users)
First-time users sign up here. Register for your account using your UC.edu email address. SciFinder-N is an extensive database for chemistry-related literature and patents, chemical substance and reaction databases, and chemical supplier catalogs. The database searches journal articles, book chapters, patents, conference papers, technical reports, chemical property data.
SciFinder-N (Registered Users)
Access is limited to registered UC users. SciFinder-N is the updated version of this chemistry research portal. It is an extensive database for chemistry-related literature and patents, chemical substance and reaction databases, and chemical supplier catalogs. SciFinder-N searches journal articles, book chapters, patents, conference proceedings, technical reports and chemical substance databases. It also includes MethodsNow (synthetic protocols), the PatentPak patent mapping tool, a predictive retrosynthesis planner, and added content for formulations and NMR spectra. Coverage: 1907 – present.

Introduction to searching SciFinder-N
UC Libraries SciFinder-n Workshop Slides
Training & Tutorials - Scifinder-N
Includes recorded trainings on literature, citation, structure, substructure, reaction, patent and biosequence searching.

Questions? Please contact:

Restrictions on use:

You must be a current faculty, staff member, or officially registered student of the University.
You must use SciFinder ONLY for your own academic research.
You must not use SciFinder for commercial research or for research that involves patentability searching.
You must not share your unique username and password with any other individual.
You must not use an automated script for extracting or downloading CAS data, or any other systematic retrieval of data.
You may store no more than 5,000 records in electronic form at any one time.

Violation of these terms may result in your University losing SciFinder access.

University of Cincinnati's SciFinder License and the CAS Information Use Policies apply to my use of SciFinder.

Browse Upcoming Library Workshops
Browse and register for UC Libraries workshops. Workshop topics include foundational python topics, GitHub, LaTeX, Julia, Matlab, Swift, SciFinder, Reaxys, and more. New workshops are added each semester.