COLLEGE OF ARTS AND SCIENCES
Subjects covered : Four major divisions of anthropology are covered: physical anthropology, social/cultural anthropology (ethnology), linguistics, and archaeology/prehistory. These major divisions include specific areas of interest such as: ethnography, evolution, economic and urban anthropology, linguistic typology, forensic anthropology, medical anthropology, spatial anthropology, paleoanthropology and skeletal biology, the Ohio Valley (Archaic, Adena, Hopewell, and Fort Ancient sites), environmental archaeology, geoarchaeology, landscape archaeology and economic prehistory. See the department's home page for additional detail:http://www.artsci.uc.edu/departments/anthropology.html
Quantitative information: http://www.artsci.uc.edu/departments/anthropology.html
Graduate Program: http://www.artsci.uc.edu/departments/anthropology/graduate-programs.html
Research Opportunities and Special Programs: http://www.artsci.uc.edu/departments/anthropology/research-and-scholarship.html
GENERAL DESCRIPTION OF COLLECTION
Location of collection : Langsam Library
Other collections supporting program : Classics Library, Archives and Rare Books Department, Geology/Physics library, the geography, history, sociology and women's gender and sexuality studies collections, and OhioLINK libraries.
General level of collecting :
Level 3 (instructional) & Level 4 (research)
SPECIFIC ASPECTS OF THE COLLECTION
Call numbers : Primarily GN-GR; relevant titles within B, C, D, E, F and G, as well as other call numbers with an anthropology perspective.
Current and retrospective collecting : Current materials are primarily acquired. Retrospective materials are acquired as needed. Back runs of serial titles are occasionally purchased, and replacement copies of volumes that are damaged or lost may be purchased. New journal subscriptions are added when relevant to the collection and depending on funding availability.
Level & treatment : Materials are collected at the undergraduate, graduate, and research levels. Selected upper level textbooks are added if relevant to the program.
Languages : Primarily English language material is added to the collection. Titles in Spanish and French are also added as appropriate.
Geographical areas : U.S. (especially., Ohio and the American Southwest), Mesoamerica, Latin America, China, Taiwan, Siberia, Europe (especially the Balkans ).
Types of resources : Books, journals and government documents.
Resource formats (including electronic) : Paper format as well as video and electronic formats. An increasing number of anthropology journals are available full-text through electronic resources such as the EJC (OhioLINK's Electronic Journal Center) and JSTOR (electronic backfiles of scholarly journals). Anthropological Literature , which is the major indexing/abstracting service for anthropology, is available online through OhioLINK. Online access is also now available for the Human Relations Area Files (HRAF) which is another major resource for anthropology. A large portion of the HRAF, however, is still available only on microfiche.
Endowed areas : In addition to receiving UC general funds, funding is also made available from the Charles P. Taft Memorial Fund.
Approval plan : Many anthropology monographs are received through an approval plan vendor. This plan supplies monographs from many of the major publishers based on a profile established by the library to cover relevant subject and non-subject parameters. .
Firm orders : Firm orders are placed for individually selected titles through the Libraries' Acquisitions Department. These are selected based on (1) notification slips received from vendors, (2) book review sources (3) publishers catalogs and new title announcements, and (4) requests from anthropology faculty and students.
Standing orders : Standing orders and subscriptions are placed for relevant titles that are published on a regular basis, such as annual publications and journals.
University of Cincinnati Libraries
PO Box 210033 Cincinnati, Ohio 45221-0033
Contact Us | Staff Directory