ARCHIVES & RARE BOOKS LIBRARY
RARE BOOK COLLECTION
Subjects Covered : The Rare Book Collection is an eclectic one, including materials in the arts, humanities, and sciences.
Departments & Users Served : The collection supports reference and research needs of faculty, students, and staff, as well as other scholars and the general public. The collection has been used in instruction and research in the departments of Anthropology, Architecture, Art History, Classics, English, History, Geography, Germanic Studies, Math, Political Science, and Romance Languages.
General Description of Collection
Location of Collection : Archives & Rare Books Library, 808 Carl Blegen Library.
Other Collections Supporting Program :
Internal : The collection contains rare materials from collections throughout the University Libraries.
External : Cincinnati Historical Society Library and the Public Library of Cincinnati and Hamilton County, the Lloyd Library, and the Hebrew Union College Library
Collection History: Over the years, items from the collections of the University Libraries were set aside for special care because they were old, fragile, or valuable. In 1973, with the establishment of the Special Collections Department (now the Archives & Rare Books Library), permanent staffing was provided for the collection. Between 1978 and 1980, the collection was inventoried and cataloging converted to OCLC. In 1986, guidelines for additions to the collection were established.
GENERAL LEVEL OF COLLECTING
Overall the collection is one which supports instruction. In areas of specialization, research is supported.
SPECIFIC COLLECTION DESCRIPTION
Call Numbers : LC A - Z
Size : Approximately 30,000 volumes
Current and Retrospective Collecting :
While the holdings range from papyri and cuneiform tablets to modern firsts and fine press editions, there are four areas of particular strength and active collecting:
Time Period Collected : All
Levels & Treatments : This is principally a teaching collection. It includes examples of many types of materials, useful for instruction throughout the arts, humanities, and sciences. Areas of specialization are developed at the research level.
Languages: Predominantly European: English, French, German, Latin, Italian
Geographical Areas : All
Types of Resources:
Resource Formats : Manuscript and Print
Endowed Areas : None
Materials are acquired through gift, purchase, and transfer. Purchases are firm orders. Transfers are made from other collections in University Libraries based upon the "Guidelines for Additions to the Rare Book Collection" and the recommendations of faculty and selectors.
RBA.1 - Revised
8/29/01 Alice M. Cornell
5/27/05 Kevin Grace
University of Cincinnati Libraries
PO Box 210033 Cincinnati, Ohio 45221-0033
Contact Us | Staff Directory