ARCHIVES & RARE BOOKS LIBRARY
REFERENCE COLLECTION
PROGRAM DESCRIPTION
Subjects covered :
Departments & users served : Archives & Rare Books Library and patrons The collection provides general reference and materials supporting the department's specialized collections.
GENERAL DESCRIPTION OF COLLECTION
Location of collection : Archives & Rare Books Library, 808 Carl Blegen Library.
Other collections supporting program :
Internal : Design, Architecture, Art and Planning Collection and the Langsam General & Reference Collections
External: Cincinnati Historical Society Library and the Public Library of Cincinnati and Hamilton County, Lloyd Library, Hebrew Union College Library, and American Jewish Archives.
Electronic :
Collection history : The Archives & Rare Books Library was established in 1973 as the Special Collections Department. Shortly thereafter, the most basic reference tools were provided for use in the department. The collection has been augmented with purchases to support areas of specialization.
General level of collecting : The collection provides basic general information and materials at instructional and research levels for areas of departmental specialization.
SPECIFIC ASPECTS OF COLLECTION
Call numbers : LC A - Z
Size : Approximately. 3,000 volumes
Current & retrospective collecting :
Time period collected : All
Levels and treatments : Basic informational level for general materials with instructional and research depth in areas of
specialization.
Languages : English
Geographical areas : All
Types of resources :
Resource formats : Print and electronic
Endowed areas : None
ACQUISITION PROCESS:
ARBREF.1 - Revised
8/28/01 Alice M. Cornell
5/27/05 Kevin Grace
University of Cincinnati Libraries
PO Box 210033 Cincinnati, Ohio 45221-0033
Phone: 513-556-1424
University of Cincinnati
Alerts | Clery and HEOA Notice | Notice of Non-Discrimination | eAccessibility Concern | Privacy Statement | Copyright Information
© 2021 University of Cincinnati
