Skip to main content
UC Logo
Libraries | Ask the Libraries

Collection Policies

Collection Policies by Subject

Communication

DEPARTMENT OF COMMUNICATION

PROGRAM DESCRIPTION

Subjects covered: Rhetorical theory, persuasion, public address, media study, mass communication, interpersonal/group/organizational communication, ethics, telecommunication, risk management, environmental communication, and interaction and discourse analysis

Departments and users served: The collection serves primarily the undergraduates, graduates and faculty of the Department of Communication. As with many subject areas the collection also serves programs that may involve communication, such as business administration, professional writing, political analysis, and electronic media.

Degrees granted: The Department of Communication offers undergraduate and graduate study towards the BA and MA degrees.

GENERAL DESCRIPTION OF THE COLLECTION

Location of collection: The collection is located in Langsam Library and the Southwest Depository off-site location.

General level of current collecting: Collecting is currently at the instructional support level.

SPECIFIC ASPECTS OF THE COLLECTION

Call number Range: BF, HM, P, PB, PE, PN, PS, R, RC, RD RF

Current and retrospective: Current materials are collected; retrospective collecting is performed only in the area of historical public speeches.

Time period collected: Current; political speeches from historical periods are collected.

Levels and treatments: Materials are collected at the instructional level.

Languages: English, includes translations, and French

Geographic areas: International/global in scope, though most imprints are US or UK publishers

Types of resources: Print format for monographs and serials; electronic format for monographs (netLibrary) and research data bases

ACQUISITION PROCESS

Approval plan are profiled through Yankee Book Peddlar. Firm orders are placed through vendors and other book distribution sources.

All funding is through general collection funds and no endowed or special funds exist.

Rosemary Aud Franklin
Communication Bibliographer
10/18/00

University of Cincinnati Libraries

PO Box 210033 Cincinnati, Ohio 45221-0033

Phone: 513-556-1424

Contact Us | Staff Directory

University of Cincinnati

Alerts | Clery and HEOA Notice | Notice of Non-Discrimination | eAccessibility Concern | Privacy Statement | Copyright Information

© 2019 University of Cincinnati