Collection Policies

College of Applied Science

PROGRAM DESCRIPTION

Subjects covered : The College of Applied Science offers programs in the following subject areas: architectural technology, business management technology, chemical technology, construction management, computer engineering technology, culinary arts and science, electrical engineering technology, fire and safety engineering technology, horticulture, information technology, and mechanical engineering technology.

The College also offers service courses for all degree programs, in the areas of humanities, social sciences, mathematics, physics, and professional practice.

Departments and users served : The College consists of two campuses, located at Victory Parkway (East Walnut Hills) and Uptown (Clifton).  The College’s departments are: Business and Commerce Technology, Chemical Technology, Construction Science, Electrical and Computer Engineering Technology, Fire Science Technology, Humanities/Media/Cultural Studies, Information Technology, Mathematics and Physics, Mechanical Engineering Technology, and Professional Practice/Career Placement.  The College also administratively oversees the University’s Center for Access and Transition (CAT).

Collection development at the College of Applied Science Library is primarily directed toward the information needs of the undergraduate student population at the College.

Quantitative information :

Users : For academic year 2000-2001, CAS has approximately 50 full-time faculty, 70 part-time faculty, 30 staff members, and 1420 undergraduate students.

Activity Level : Total checkouts are approximately 14,000 annually with another ### used in-house (2004-2005 statistics). The majority of materials circulate to undergraduates, the main focus of CAS degree programs. Graduate students and faculty from other units of the University also make frequent use of materials. The CAS collection is in demand among the other OhioLINK statewide institutions.

Circulation Percentages by User Category
For the CAS Library 2004-2005

Degrees granted : Bachelor degrees (day and evening programs) granted by the College of Applied Science are: architectural engineering technology, chemical technology, computer engineering technology, construction management, culinary arts and science, electrical engineering technology, fire and safety engineering technology, facilities and hospitality management, horticulture, information technology, life sciences, mechanical engineering technology.

Associate degrees (day and evening programs) granted by the College of Applied Science are architectural technology, business management, civil and construction engineering technology, chemical technology, electrical engineering technology, fire science technology, free enterprise business, manufacturing engineering technology, mechanical engineering technology, pre-business administration.

Special Programs : Numerous technology certificate programs are also offered at CAS. These are business management, database management, free enterprise and entrepreneurship, horticulture, manufacturing processes, networking, open learning fire science, software development, technical and professional communications, and webmaster.

Craftsmanship Programs are also offered at CAS. Programs are: wood technology and a variety of industry certificates: Boiler Operator & Stationary Engineer, HVAC, Machining CNC and CAD, Plant Maintenance, and Welding.

Accreditation requirements : The Library must pass the accreditation requirements of the Technology Accreditation Commission of the Accreditation Board for Engineering and Technology, and the American Council for Construction Education.

Research focus, grants, special funding : The College of Applied Science is a teaching college.

GENERAL DESCRIPTION OF COLLECTION

Location of collection : The Library is located on the 2nd & 3rd floors of the Library Building at the College of Applied Science Campus, 2220 Victory Parkway in the East Walnut Hills neighborhood of Cincinnati. The CAS Library has approximately 1100 volumes at the Southwest Ohio Regional Depository (SWORD), as of 2004-2005.

Other collections supporting programs :

Internal : CAS students and faculty make use of materials located at other UC libraries, including the Engineering Library, the Design, Architecture, Art and Planning (DAAP) Library, the Chemistry/Biology Library, the Geology/Mathematics/Physics Library, and Langsam Library.

External : CAS students and faculty also make use of materials located at other OhioLINK institutions, the Public Library of Cincinnati & Hamilton County, and the Lloyd Library and Museum.

Collection history : The Ohio Mechanics Institute (precursor to the College of Applied Science) has maintained a library since its inception in 1828. The library's collection has been enhanced over the years by numerous mergers with other notable Cincinnati libraries. Cincinnati's first library, the Circulating Library Society (incorporated 1812) was merged with the Ohio Mechanics Institute Library in 1852 due to financial troubles at both institutions. In 1856, the Board of Education of the city of Cincinnati suggested a merger of the Cincinnati Common School and Family Library with the Ohio Mechanics Institute Library. The libraries were housed in the Ohio Mechanics Institute at 6th and Vine in the Greenwood Building. The combined library was renamed the Ohio School Library and was under the direction of the Board of Education.

In 1869, The Public Library (formerly the Cincinnati Common School and Family Library) gave notice to the directors of the Ohio Mechanics Institute that they were moving off the Institute premises. As the Board of Education had been managing the combined libraries, the Institute's library had to close briefly to formulate a plan of management. At this point it was decided that the collection would begin to focus in the scientific and technical rather than the literary.

In 1911, Mary Hopkins Emery provided funding for the building at 100 E. Central Parkway. At that time the library also received the bequest of Timothy C. Day. The library now bears the name of the Timothy C. Day Technical Library.

In 1969, the University of Cincinnati purchased the Ohio Mechanics Institute/Ohio College of Applied Science (Now named the College of Applied Science). At that time, all archival materials and rare books were transferred to the University Libraries Archives and Rare Books Department.

In 1984-86, it was thought that the library would be dissolved and its collection dispersed among the appropriate University Libraries. Transfers of library materials began at that time. In 1986, the decision was made to continue maintaining the CAS Library and transfers were halted, materials already transferred were not returned.

In 1989, the College and its library moved to 2220 Victory Parkway where it is currently housed. The library's collection focuses on technical books that support the baccalaureate and associate level programs taught at the College. The library’s focus on applied and technical books supporting undergraduate needs creates a specialized collection of materials that are often requested for use by users located across the university and at other OhioLINK institutions.

General level of collecting : In the technology programs of the college, the library collects at a study level. In all other subjects, the library collects at the basic level.

SPECIFIC ASPECTS OF THE COLLECTION

Call numbers. The CAS Library collects primarily in scientific and technical subjects; some items are purchased for humanities and social science disciplines. The bulk of the collection lies in the H, NA, Q and T classifications.

Library of Congress Class Number/Percentage of Collection

Current and retrospective collecting. The CAS Library purchases mostly current materials. As directed by new program offerings or other changing needs, retrospective collecting is performed to build core collections or fill in collection gaps. Out-dated materials that do not represent current standards and methods are removed on a regular basis; however, key classic works are retained.

Levels and treatments. Undergraduate and professional level items are collected. Emphasis is placed on practical applications and design, rather than theoretical. Some basic texts, how-to and non-technical materials are acquired. Special areas of strength include technology in society, history of technology, technical and professional writing, and ethics and technology.

Languages. Primarily English language monographs and journals are collected.

Geographical areas. Geographical area does not serve a role in selection for the CAS collection.

Special aspects. Senior design reports written by CAS students of the Chemical Technology, Computer Engineering Technology, Electrical Engineering Technology, Information Technology, and Mechanical Engineering Technology Departments are bound and maintained.

Types of resources. The CAS collection consists of monographs, journals, technical papers, conference proceedings, engineering standards and industrial catalogs.

Resource formats (including electronic). The CAS collection consists of print monographs and serials, computer disks, CDs, DVDs, videotapes, microforms, and online subscriptions.

Endowed areas. In addition to an annual collections allotment of University Libraries general funds, the CAS Library receives funding from two endowed sources: Armstrong and Day. Both funds permit the purchase of a broader range of library materials, including both serials and monographs.

ACQUISITION PROCESSES

Firm orders. The library receives notification slips on relevant materials from an approval plan vendor, and places orders for these items directly with the vendor. Materials not available through this vendor are obtained from other sources by the Acquisitions Department.

Standing orders. Standing orders are important to staying current with technology. Core research materials are received on standing order where possible. Standing orders are set up for major reference sets such as ASTM standards, ASM Handbook, and R.S. Means cost data manuals.

Document Suppliers. The OhioLINK shared library catalog is used to locate and request many books and conference proceedings not typically purchased for the CAS Library.  OhioLINK’s delivery service provides statewide materials within 3-5 working days.  An interlibrary loan service, ILLiad, allows for electronic or print delivery of articles and conference papers from worldwide libraries, and print delivery of specialized items not available through OhioLINK institutions. 

Unique sources. Some unique sources for engineering and technology disciplines are company or consultant publications, society publications, and report series from universities or research institutes.

Ted Baldwin
08/05