Research Guides: Open Source Portal for the Future University in Egypt: Economics & Political Science

Diplomatic Representation

The Diplomatic List (U.S. Department of State)
This publication covers foreign missions (embassies, interest sections) in the United States.
more...less...
It contains the names of members of the diplomatic staffs of these missions and their spouses. Members of the diplomatic staff are the members of the staff of the mission having diplomatic rank.
Foreign Consular Offices in the United States
his publication contains a complete and official listing of the foreign consular offices in the United States, and recognized consular officers.

Corruption

Transparency International
The organization gives voice to the victims and witnesses of corruption.
more...less...
They work together with governments, businesses and citizens to stop the abuse of power, bribery and secret deals. It is recommended to check out their research publications such as Corruption Perceptions Index and Global Corruption Report.

Consitutions

Constitution Finder
Maintained by University of Richmond, this site is a free resource providing links and in some instances copies of Constitutions from around the world. You can find constitution language in English, Arabic, and many more.

International Relations

The WWW Virtual Library: International Affairs Resources
The site is a frequently updated Internet directory of over 2000 annotated links to high-quality English-language sources of information and analysis in a wide range of international affairs,
more...less...
international relations, international studies, global studies, and global education topics.
Wilson Center Digital Archive
The website contains newly declassified historical materials from archives around the world—much of it in translation and including diplomatic cables, high level correspondence, meeting minutes and more.
more...less...
The historical documents presented in the ever-expanding Digital Archive provide fresh, unprecedented insights into recent international history. The archive supports the mission and research aims of three Wilson Center projects:
The cold war in international history project
The North Korea international documentation project
The nuclear proliferation international history project

Homeland Security

Homeland Security Digital Library
Electronic documents made available by the Dudley Knox Library at the Naval Postgraduate School, searchable by keyword or by topic, including general U.S. policy documents, national strategy documents,
more...less...
theses and research papers from the Center for Homeland Defense and Security and the Naval Postgraduate School, and homeland security executive orders. Also includes notices of events and conferences pertaining to homeland security, and news items drawn from various news sources.

Political and Statistical Information

Europa World Plus
First published in 1926, the year book is renowned as one of the world's leading reference works, covering political and economic information in more than 250 countries and territories.
more...less...
Europa World Plus is the online version of the Europa World Year Book and the nine-volume Europa Regional Surveys of the World series.
ICPSR
The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research maintains a data archive of more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences. It hosts 16 specialized collections of data in education,
more...less...
aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.
Statesman's Yearbook Online
he Statesman's Yearbook includes reliable information on all 194 countries in the world plus states and dependencies, covering key historical events, population, and many other topics.
Pew Research Center
Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world.
more...less...
They conduct public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research. We do not take policy positions.
RAND Abstracts
or more than 50 years, the RAND Corporation has fulfilled its mission by providing objective research and analysis to address challenges facing the world. The rigorous quality standards of research has earned RAND a world-class reputation.
more...less...
s a nonprofit institution, RAND conducts independent research and provides objective research services to public and private clients. These comprehensive bibliographies include abstracts for every publicly available RAND document in a given year. After locating documents within the Selected RAND Abstracts, use our Publications Search to order a copy or to discover the many titles available online for free download.

Political Science Online Journals

Cultural Politics
Moving beyond the boundaries of race, gender, and class, Cultural Politics examines the political ramifications of global cultural productions across artistic and academic disciplines.
more...less...
The journal explores precisely what is cultural about politics and what is political about culture by bringing together text and visual art that offer diverse modes of engagement with theory, cultural production, and politics.
Public Culture
Public Culture has been publishing field-defining ethnographies and analyses of the cultural politics of globalization for more than twenty-five years.
more...less...
The journal provides a forum for the discussion of the places and occasions where cultural, social, and political differences emerge as public phenomena, manifested in everything from highly particular and localized events in popular or folk culture to global advertising, consumption, and information networks.

Economics Sources

National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER)
The NBER is a private, nonprofit, nonpartisan research organization dedicated to promoting a greater understanding of how the economy works. Our research is conducted by more than 600 university professors around the country, the leading scholars in their fields.
more...less...
The NBER sells subscriptions to its online working paper series but offers free service to residents of developing countries and transition economies. Egypt is one of them. Natural-resource rich countries are not on the free-distribution list. NBER provides a list of the country-code domains currently eligible for free downloads of NBER working papers. If your computer is in one of these domains, you should be offered a download on the bibliographic page for the paper. If that doesn’t happen, it is probably because your network does not support Reverse Name Lookup. Without that facility on your network, NBER can’t learn what your domain name is. However, selecting the “Information for subscribers and others expecting free downloads” link offers the opportunity to provide to NBER your email address, and NBER will then email you a URL for the paper.
Oxford Economic Papers
It is a general economics journal, publishing refereed papers in economic theory, applied economics, econometrics, economic development, economic history, and the history of economic thought.

Economics Online Journals

Tax Policy and the Economy
Sponsored by The National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER), Tax Policy and the Economy publishes current academic research on taxation and government spending with both immediate bearing on policy debates and longer-term interest.
NBER Microeconomics Annual
Sponsored by the The National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER), the journal provides a forum for leading economists to participate in important debates in macroeconomics and to report on major developments in macroeconomic analysis and policy
Innovation Policy and the Economy
The journal provides a forum for research on the interactions among public policy, the innovation process, and the economy. The distinguished contributors cover all types of policy that affect the ability of an economy to achieve scientific and technological progress or that affect the impact of science and technology on economic growth