Research Guides: Law Faculty Publishing: A Guide: Journals: Acceptance Rates and Submission

Circulation Numbers and Journal Acceptance Rates

Some good places to check for journal circulation numbers and acceptance rates are:

The website of the journal to see if this information is posted online.
The journal itself to see if the numbers are published.

Find contact information using the links below:

Scholastica Submissions Center An automatically-updating table of law reviews. This table includes all law reviews that accept submissions via Scholastica. You can use this table to search and sort journals by name, category, and whether they’re currently accepting submissions or not.

Ulrichsweb Global Serials Directory Ulrichsweb is an easy to search source of detailed information on more than 300¸000 periodicals (also called serials) of all types: academic and scholarly journals¸ e-journals¸ peer-reviewed titles¸ popular magazines¸ newspapers¸ newsletters¸ and more. Ulrichsweb covers more than 900 subject areas. Ulrich's records provide data points such as ISSN¸ publisher¸ language¸ subject¸ abstracting & indexing coverage¸ full-text database coverage¸ tables of contents¸ and reviews written by librarians.
Serials Directory The Serials Directory provides access to up-to-date bibliographic information as well as current pricing structures for popular serials. This database contains over 182¸000 U.S. and international titles¸ including newspapers¸ historical data for an additional 20¸000 titles and data from over 85¸000 publishers worldwide.
Cabells Journalytics (formerly Scholarly Analytics) Journalytics provides article submission information for over 11,000 research journals, including analytics such as impact factors and altmetrics scores. Predatory Reports notes journals identified as engaging in deceptive, fraudulent, and/or predatory practices. (This database was formerly known as Cabell's Directory of Publishing Opportunities.) UC has access only to Journalytics

Journal Submission Guidelines

Peak submission times for student journals are February-March and August. It is common to submit law review articles to multiple publishers at a time, however, be sure and check the journal's guidelines. Peer reviewed publications will vary in their peak submission times and policies.

Washington & Lee Law Journal Submissions and Ranking The Washington & Lee Law School Library produces this list of law journals by subject, country and other factors, and allows users to rank journals by impact factor or immediacy index. (Both are based on citation counts more or less, see ranking methodology). Provides contact and submission information.
Scholastica A law review submission service. It also serves as a publishing platform for journals. The submission cost is $5.00/journal.
Leah M. Christensen & Julie A. Oseid, Navigating the Law Review Article Selection Process: An Empirical Study of Those with All the Power - Student Editors, 59 S.C. L. Rev. 175 (2007) Although a handful of peer-reviewed legal publications exist, the majority of law reviews are edited by students. Yet, even with student editors holding the keys to academic success, few empirical studies have explored what factors student editors consider most important when making article selection decisions. The study reported in this Article attempts to shed light on this process and provide suggestions for new law professors as they navigate the law review article submission process.
Allen Rostron & Nancy Levit, Information for Submitting Articles to Law Reviews & Journals, This document contains information about submitting articles to law reviews and journals, including the methods for submitting an article, any special formatting requirements, how to contact them to request an expedited review, and how to contact them to withdraw an article from consideration. It covers 204 law reviews. The document was updated in January 2016.
Bridget J. Crawford, Information for Submitting to Specialty Law Reviews and Journals in Gender, Women & Sexuality The following materials, modeled after the chart prepared by Professor Allen Rostron and Professor Nancy Levit at the University of Missouri Kansas City School of Law, and after my Information for Submitting to Online Law Review Companions, contains information about twenty-nine (29) U.S.-based law reviews and journals classified under the subject “Gender, Women and Sexuality” by the Washington & Lee Law Journal Rankings (here) and five (5) additional journals that contain the word “gender” in their title, but that are not listed in the Washington & Lee Law Journal Rankings. Within each category (W&L-ranked journals, then non-ranked journals) journals are listed in the order of the “rank” of the school, if any (as determined by the most recent US News overall ranking, not because that system merits endorsement, but because it is convenient). Specifically, the chart derives from the journals’ websites the following information: • Name of the specialty journal • Word count limitation, if any • Preferred submission method • Whether articles from online journal are included in HeinOnline’s Law Journal Library • Other information of possible interest to authors • US News ranking of affiliated school, if any • W&L Law Journal Ranking within category of “Gender, Women and Sexuality,” by “combined” score for 2017 (most recent year available).
Bridget J. Crawford, Information for Submitting to Online Law Review Companions (Working Paper rev. Apr. 19, 2019)
Raizel Liebler, Information for Submitting to the Top Specialty Law Journals The following contains information about how to submit works to the top 50 U.S. based student edited specialty law journals, based on the most recent Washington & Lee journal rankings. Specifically, the chart derives from the journals’ websites and the Washington & Lee law journal ranking site, the following information: • Name of the journal • Washington & Lee specialty rankings • Submission via Expresso, Scholastica, or email • Specific information about submission, such as word count limitation, if any Hein’s Law Journal database is the source that the new U.S. News scholarship ranking will be drawn from. All of the journals ranked here are in this database. There are limitations to this information. Because this information relies on journal’s websites, some journals may have alternative methods of submission (such as ExpressO or Scholastica) that are not mentioned on their website and therefore not included here. Additionally, while Washington & Lee listed the following journals as student edited, their websites stated that they are not: American Journal of International Law; Business Lawyer; Journal of Legal Education; plus Law and Contemporary Problems. This information does not include information on the submission process for any online supplements to these top specialty journals.
Raizel Liebler, Information for Submitting to Intellectual Property and Science & Technology Law Journals (May 10, 2019) The following contains information about the top 40 specialty journals in intellectual property and technology, based on the most recent Washington & Lee journal rankings. Specifically, the chart derives from the journals’ websites, the Washington & Lee law journal ranking site, and Hein Law Journal database the following information: • Name of the journal • Washington & Lee ranking in top 50 specialty student-edited U.S. law journal • Washington & Lee specialty ranking • Submission via Expresso, Scholastica, or email • Whether articles from online journal are included in HeinOnline’s Law Journal Library • Specific information about submission, such as word count limitation, if any Because this information relies on journal’s websites, some journals may have alternative methods of submission (such as ExpressO or Scholastica) that are not mentioned on their website and therefore not included here. Additionally, the categories of journals are based on Washington & Lee’s categorization, not necessarily how the journal views the subject matter covered.

Law Conferences & Calls for Papers

The following sites cover conferences and calls for papers. If you only have time to look at one, look at the Legal Scholarship blog.

Legal Scholarship Blog The Legal Scholarship Blog features law-related Calls for Papers, Conferences, and Workshops as well as general legal scholarship resources. Legal Scholarship Blog is a free, non-profit service managed by librarians at The Ohio State University Moritz College of Law, the University of Pittsburgh School of Law, and the University of Washington School of Law.
Legal Scholarship Network Professional Announcements Part of SSRN, this site includes calls for papers for conferences, competitions, research projects, and journals and books, It also links to calls for fellowships, grants, authors, and more.
Conal Conference Alerts (Academic Conferences Worldwide) To subscribe to receive conference information in your areas of interest, click on Subscribe. You will begin receiving conference information after you have confirmed your subscription.
The Faculty Lounge: Calls for Papers