Law Faculty Publishing: A Guide

The Durham Statement on Open Access to Legal Scholarship, calls for all law schools to stop publishing their journals in print format and to rely instead on electronic publication coupled with a commitment to keep the electronic versions available in stable, open, digital formats. You can find a copy of The Durham Statement at https://cyber.law.harvard.edu/publications/durhamstatement.

Want to find out what your favorite journal's open access policy is?  Search for the journal title in SHERPA/RoMEO to find out what you are permitted to do with your article post-publication.

Green: archive pre-print, post-print or publisher's PDF
Blue: post-print (final draft post-refereeing) or publisher's PDF
Yellow: pre-print (pre-refereeing)
White: Archiving not formally supported

Remember that you can ALWAYS ask to retain the right to self-archive your article!

General

• Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
  Directory of peer reviewed journals that operate with an open access model, ie articles are freely available to anyone.
   
• Open Access Publishing in European Networks (OAPEN)
  Aggregates high quality academic research by aggregating peer reviewed Open Access publications from across Europe.
   
• Registry of Open Access Repositories (ROAR)
  The aim of ROAR is to promote the development of open access by providing timely information about the growth and status of repositories throughout the world.

Humanities

• Open Humanities Press
  Open Access Press that publishes peer reviewed monographs and journals in the humanities.
   
• Perseus Digital Library
  Covers the history, literature and culture of the Greco-Roman world

Sciences

• arXiv.org
  Access to 791,125 e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics.
   
• Public Library of Science (PLOS)
  Publishes seven peer-reviewed open-access journals in a variety of scientific disciplines.
   

Social Sciences

• Social Science Research Network
  Contains an abstract database (448,000 working papers) and an electronic paper collection (362,000 full text pdfs).
   
• IDEAS: Economics and Finance Research
  Contains 1,200,000 items, part of a large volunteer effort to enhance the free dissemination of research in Economics, RePEc.
   
• Research in Agricultural and Applied Economics (AgEcon)
  Contains working papers, conference papers and journal articles in applied economics, including the subtopics of agricultural, consumer, energy, environmental, and resource economics.