This site is dedicated to research in the field of the Roman road system located in ancient Anatolia, present-day Turkey. The site is sponsored by the History department of Wisconsin Lutheran College under the direction of Dr. Glen L. Thompson and by the Asia Minor Research Center under the direction of Dr. Mark Wilson. The Anatolian Roads Project (TARP) is a work in progress and thus will be updated and improved as time goes on. Purpose and Scope:To help reconstruct as accurately and precisely as possible the routes of the Roman road system of ancient Anatolia. In general we will limit ourselves to the area within the borders of modern-day Turkey; to construct a comprehensive archive of information and photos of the ancient road fragments, bridges, mileposts, and other associated structures which are still extant or which were noted by modern travelers; to provide an archive of the accounts of early modern travelers within Anatolia; to raise awareness of these historical artifacts and their fragile nature, and to encourage their preservation as an important part of the world’s cultural heritage.
This web site presents work done to collect, identify and locate ancient harbors and ports. It is based on a study of existing documentation. The result is a list of around 4500 ancient ports based on the writings of 81 ancient authors and hundreds of modern authors, incl. the Barrington Atlas.
GeoDia is an interactive spatial timeline covering the ancient Mediterranean world, broadly defined. Its spatial coverage ranges from Britain to Afghanistan, and its temporal coverage ranges from the Neolithic to Late Antiquity. It is intended to be a teaching tool that can help students in classes on the ancient Mediterranean world to orient themselves in space and time, to understand material culture in its spatial context (as opposed to art and archaeology textbooks, which usually use periods as their central organizing principle), and to discover connections across the cultural and spatial boundaries that normally dictate the way we teach Mediterranean civilizations.
The GeoNames geographical database contains over 10 million geographical names. Geonames covers all of Italy and the Mediterranean basin and beyond. The database integrates geographical data such as names of places in various languages, elevation, population and others from various sources.
The national GIS portal for Italy; provides a host of helpful resources, including orthophotos from multiple years, DEMs at various resolutions, the IGM 25000 series maps, and maps of erosion risk areas, protected areas, etc. Online consultation mainly, but one can create and print maps. Very useful for planning real or classroom-exercise surveys.
From the Getty Research Institute. Over 40 printed maps of the city of Rome depicting the ancient, medieval, and modern city by graphic artists such as Etienne Du Pérac, Giuseppe Vasi, and Giovanni Battista Piranesi.
The Nolli Web Site presents the 1748 Nolli map of Rome as a dynamic, interactive, hands-on tool. The public now has access to cataloged information about the map in both written and graphical form. The map not only provides rich information, but it has the ability to be updated with new data over time to embrace expanding knowledge.
Since 2009 the department of Classical Archaeology of the Radboud University Nijmegen has started a field work project in close collaboration with the Royal Netherlands Institute in Rome, named ‘Mapping the Via Appia’. The project aims at a thorough inventory and analysis of the Roman interventions in their suburban landscape, focusing on parts of the 5th and 6th mile of the road. The stretch starts where the modern Via di Erode Attico crosses the Via Appia antica and ends at the point where the Via di Casal Rotondo crosses the ancient road.
Seamless whole, in color, with overlaid layers. A project by Prof. Richard Talbert at the University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill. The Peutinger Map is the only map of the Roman world to come down to us from antiquity. Featuring land routes across Europe, North Africa, and the Near East, it was rediscovered around 1500. After coming into the ownership of Konrad Peutinger, for whom it is named, it is today housed in the Austrian National Library in Vienna.
Pleiades gives scholars,students, and enthusiasts worldwide the ability to use, create, and share historical geographic information about the Greek and Roman World in digital form. [It] is a joint project of the Ancient WorldMapping Center, the Stoa Consortium, and the Institute of the Ancient World.
This is a platform developed by the Center for Geographic Analysis (CGA) at Harvard; the platform permits to build custom maps, by editing and publishing geospatial information in a collaborative manner. It further contains many maps of cities detailing such items as trendy, poor, and wealthy neighborhoods as well as sections under historical reconstruction, etc.