Classical Studies, Sources : Types of Sources

From the Frick Collection.

Printed bibliography is updated by Bibliotheca Classica Selecta (BCS)

Click on the BOR tab; click on “plan” to go to a table arranged topically that links to the bibliographies.

Click on each title individually then on the blue Read button to access the full text.

Literature, including classical. Click on Access in green to get the full text.

A bibliographic guide to all aspects of Classical Studies with critical annotations.

Open access series.

List from Society for Classical Studies.

Nature of the Field; Stages of Research; Assembling a Bibliography; What Are Your Sources?; Book Reviews; Language; Lexicography; Grammar; Language and Linguistics; Using Classical Texts; Reading and Understanding Literature; Oratory and Rhetoric; Philosophy; History, Archaeology; Mycenaean Studies; Numismatics: Epigraphy; Papyrology; Paleography; Editing Classical Texts; Art; Mysic and Dance; Science and Technology; Editing Classical Texts; Religion and Mythology; Law; Sociology, Anthropology, Economics and Psychology; The Classical Tradition and Classical Reception; History of Classical Scholarship.

Third edition, 1995-ongoing.
University of Michigan & University of Cincinnati.
"By agreement with John Cherry and Jack Davis, the editors of the second edition (1995) of the International Directory of Aegean Prehistorians, Nestor will maintain a searchable index of the contents of the directory (now referred to as the third edition, ongoing). An extended Preface to the second edition, a unique snapshot of the profession in 1994, is available here as a pdf document. A new hardcopy edition will not be issued until enough changes have been made to the 1995 edition to merit it."

Click on each title to view the full text.

Museum Computer Network Blog with many links to digitized museum and exhibition collections.