Classical Studies, Sources : Types of Sources

From AWOL.

Continuing the pioneer work of the Perseus Project, where the first texts were treebanked (Ancient Greek and Latin Dependency Treebank 1.0), the Humboldt Chair for Digital Humanities promotes the building of the Ancient Greek and Latin Treebank 2.0 within the project Treebanking: building a linguistic corpus for Ancient Greek and Latin, started in 2015. The aim of the project is twofold: (1) produce new treebanked data following new specification and (2) develop annotation and conversion tools, so that annotation can be as automatic as possible and data can be converted into different formats: this is particularly relevant in that the newly produced data will also be released as part of the project. Digital Humanities, University of Leipzig.

Institute for the Study of the Ancient World, New York University.

Digitized materials in the archives of the Capitoline museums.

Digital holdings of Aristotle U. at Thessaloniki.

BASE (operated by Bielefeld University Library) provides more than 70 million documents from more than 3,000 sources. There is access to the full text of about 70% of the indexed documents.

Thousands of fully digitized manuscripts now kept at the BML in Florence, with full descriptions, digitized catalogue entries per item, etc. Among these, for instance, is the Laur. 32.9, the most important manuscript for Sophocles, of which the UC Classics Library owns a valuable facsimile, call no. Z115Z .S6A3, which is also available online: http://www.e-rara.ch/bau_1/content/titleinfo/8653825 )

Virtual reconstruction of the famous German renaissance library in Heidelberg housing a large number of books and manuscripts now included in the Vatican Library’s holdings.

Concordia uses the web to link up separately published online resources for ancient studies make it easier to use multiple resources by sharing content, improving cross-project discovery and enabling scholarly citation on the web. Primary sources (inscriptions, documents on papyrus), images and historical geography are central to current efforts.

The Digital Archaeology Toolkit is a collaborative project that aims to curate a crowd-sourced list of digital resources and tools for archaeological research, teaching, and publishing. Built atop these crowd-sourced resources, this project will curate multiple "deployable" digital toolkits to address particular research problems and workflows in archaeology. These toolkits can be customized by practitioners and tailored to specific project needs.

"DBAS - @egeanLab starts in 2005 as the portal of the Laboratory of Aegean Civilisations of the University of Florence. With the name of "Data Bases about Aegean Subjects", it was initially created as an online resource containing tools for scientific consultation, such as highly specialised Data Bases. Along the years it developed in something more complex and includes now a wider range of contents, especially digitization of museum collections and excavation materials, with scientific and educational aims. Consequently, we decided to maintain the same acronym while changing the whole name in "Digital Bank on Aegean Subjects". Since 2015 the Project belongs to the "Laboratori e centri di ricerca" of the Department SAGAS and the structure of the team has been updated."

Wiki and discussion group.

E-journal from die Universitätsbibliothek Heidelberg.

A searchable database of French and Francophone Studies digital projects.

In response to the tragic displacement of people, loss of life in conflict zones, and ongoing threats to the cultural heritage of the Middle East through destruction, looting, and illicit trafficking, the Digital Library of the Middle East (DLME) has begun to federate Middle Eastern collections from around the world, creating a publicly accessible, inter-operable digital library of cultural material.

"German JSTOR."

Open Access Corpora. DigiLibLT, Perseus Greek, Perseus Latin. DiogenesWeb is an web application, optimized for handheld devices, for reading XML files of Latin and Ancient Greek. These can be open-access files or can be files held in your private cloud storage.

Similar to the DOAJ : Directory of Open Access Journals, the DOAB provides access to books available in Open Access following OAI protocol for metadata harvesting. University of Lund.

The DPLA is a discovery tool for public domain and openly licensed content held by US archives, libraries, museums, and other institutions. It was started by Harvard University's Berkman Center for Internet & Society in 2010.

"Euporia is a platform aimed to foster the searchability and discoverability of Open Access philosophical resources and scholarly contributions on topics related to the philosophy of Open Science, digital culture and research ethics. Euporia pursues a twofold goal: to stimulate the use of Open Access philosophical literature and to intensify a critical discussion on Open Science and the impact of digitality on contemporary culture. Therefore the blog is intended to be a portal presenting, on the one hand, all the available Open Access primary and secondary literature in philosophy, and on the other hand all relevant contributions to the philosophy of Open Science, the philosophy of digital culture and research ethics."

A developing site, “Europeana enables people to explore the digital resources of Europe's museums, libraries, archives and audio-visual collections. It promotes discovery and networking opportunities in a multilingual space where users can engage, share in and be inspired by the rich diversity of Europe's cultural and scientific heritage.”

Searches records of printed and handwritten materials in digital form or on microfilm from institutions worldwide.

Over two million documents from the Bibliothèque nationale de France and other contributing French libraries.

The UC Library Catalog features a Google Books icon on the catalog records for print editions of texts in the Google Books database. However, going directly to Google Books will provide access to full text for titles not owned by our Classics Library. Note that Google does not provide full text for all titles.

Digital resources of many universities such as those of the U. of California system, U. of Michigan, Texas A&M U., Yale, Bryn Mawr, Harvard, NYU, Northwestern, Ohio State (though not the U. of Cincinnati), etc., including the English Short Title Catalog and the incunabula collection of the Universidad Complutense, Madrid, among countless other resources.

Different typologies of digitized materials can be found here. The website functions as a ‘hub’ for a variety of ongoing digitization projects promoted by the Italian ‘Direzione Generale Biblioteche e Istituti Culturali del Ministero dei beni e delle attività culturali e del turismo’. Start by checking out the ‘Esplora’ and ’Strumenti’ sections.

The Internet Archive offers over 12,000,000 freely downloadable books and texts.

A large number of digitized holdings of the Bayerische Staatsbibliothek in Germany.

Catalog of papers included in every conference, exhibition, workshop, symposium, and meeting received by the British Library.

Sponsored by the University of Pennsylvania, the Online Books Page is a website that facilitates access to books that are freely readable online.

An international collaboration (U. of Leipzig, Harvard, U. of Virginia, Perseus, etc.) committed to creating an open educational resource featuring a corpus of digital texts, deep-reading tools, and open-source software. This is an exiting project that will not only contain a combined corpus of Greek and Latin ancient literary texts, but also documentary texts in addition to multiple editions of the literary texts and translations in several ancient languages.

Nice interface. Not much there yet, but it seems promising.

French "JSTOR".

An international consortium of European and North American art historical photo archives committed to creating a digital research platform allowing for comprehensive consolidated access to photo archive images and their associated scholarly documentation. The collections collectively contain approx. 31 million images (works of art and architecture, the history of photography itself).

Project Gutenberg is the first and largest single collection of free electronic books.

University of Heidelberg.

Reviews in Digital Humanities, edited by Jennifer Guiliano (IUPUI) and Roopika Risam (Salem State University), is the pilot of a peer-reviewed journal that facilitates scholarly evaluation of digital humanities work and its outputs. The goal of Reviews in Digital Humanities is to foster critical discourse about digital scholarship in a format useful to other scholars. The journal publishes project overviews written by project directors alongside peer reviews written by members of the digital humanities communities. Projects submitted for review are also listed in our project registry, unless otherwise requested by project directors. Projects within the scope of Reviews in Digital Humanities may include, but are not limited to: digital archives, multimedia or multimodal scholarship, digital exhibits, visualizations, digital games, digital tools, and digital projects. Importantly, it is expected that the outputs selected for review in this journal will blend humanistic and technological inquiry.

RIDE is a review journal dedicated to digital editions and resources. RIDE aims to direct attention to digital editions and to provide a forum in which expert peers criticize and discuss the efforts of digital editors in order to improve current practices and advance future developments.

Stemmaweb is a set of tools that has grown out of the Tree of Texts, a CREA ("creative research") project funded by the KU Leuven.

Spell-checker for Greek and Latin, downloadable.

Museum Computer Network Blog with many links to digital museum and exhibition collections.

Journal of the Italian Association of Digital Humanities (AIUCD - Associazione per l’Informatica Umanistica e la Cultura Digitale).

Digital project undertaken by the UC Classics Library.

Many digital collections, including maps, from libraries worldwide (from the U.S., Brown U. library).

Offers full-text German-language publications in various disciplines.

The German national portal for digitized scholarly imprints.

Digital collections of the Academy of Athens.