The Acta Sanctorum Database is an electronic version of the complete printed text of Acta Sanctorum, from the edition published in sixty-eight volumes by the Société des Bollandistes in Antwerp and Brussels. It is a collection of documents examining the lives of saints, organised according to each saint's feast day, and runs from the two January volumes published in 1643 to the Propylaeum to December published in 1940. It contains the entire Acta Sanctorum, including all prefatory material, original texts, critical apparatus and indices. Bibliotheca Hagiographica Latina reference numbers, essential references for scholars, are also included.
The ANS collections database contains information on more than 600,000 objects in the Society’s collections. These include coins, paper money, tokens, ‘primitive’ money, medals and decorations, from all parts of the world, and all periods in which such objects have been produced.
The chief index to all aspects of classical studies, including language, literature, history, epigraphy, art, archaeology, law, science, philosophy. Covers all of the regions of the Roman Empire. Indexes monographs, journal articles, Festschriften, conference proceedings, published doctoral theses, book reviews.
APIS is a collections-based repository hosting information about and images of papyrological materials (e.g., papyri, ostraca, wood tablets, etc.) located in collections around the world. It contains physical descriptions and bibliographic information about the papyri and other written materials, as well as digital images and English translations of many of these texts. When possible, links are also provided to the original language texts (e.g., through the Duke Data Bank of Documentary Papyri). The user can move back and forth among text, translation, bibliography, description, and image.
ARTstor is a nonprofit organization committed to digital collection solutions for universities, museums, schools, and libraries worldwide. The ever-increasing digital library includes more than 1.9 million high-quality images for education and research from a wide variety of contributors around the world. ARTstor has also developed a complete set of tools to catalog, manage, and distribute digital media collections.
Work on women’s history has recently been supplemented by studies on eunuchs, and a concern for masculinity, which together enable work on the Byzantine gender system. Includes primary and secondary sources, as well as web sites.
Search Tips for Bibliotheca Teubneriana Latina
The search box for a quick search is displayed on top of the left‐hand side. Enter a search term and click the magnifying glass to launch your search.
Select More search options... from the menu bar to open the BTL search form. Three entry fields are available, each of them is preset with a search criterion. You can select a different search criterion from the list available for each entry field. Select the desired search category/ies from the pull‐down menus and enter your search term(s) in the adjacent search box(es).
Once you start typing a word, a word list or, in the Author and Title fields, an auto‐complete list will open. These lists contain all terms available in the selected field. Click the Search button to launch your search. Searches in the BTL and the number of search results always refer to so‐called Sententiae (roughly: sentences) into which the texts have been subdivided.
The following search criteria are used:
Full Text: Comprises the Latin texts, authors, titles. Tip: When searching on location information, use the abbreviations for liber, pagina, linea, etc. that are used in Detailed and Context View.
Title: The phrase list contains the titles of the Latin works.
Author: Names of Latin authors and titles of anonymous works. Entries are arranged alphabetically by the main name of the author. This is followed by the complete name, e.g., Ennius (Quintus Ennius). Additions in square brackets may identify different persons with the same name, e.g., Seneca [philosophus] (Lucius Annaeus Seneca) and Seneca [rhetor] (Lucius Annaeus Seneca) "pseudo" or "dubium" denote questionable attributions. Direct and indirect traditions of texts are reflected in different name phrases for the same author, e.g., Cicero (Marcus Tullius Cicero) [fragmenta in aliis scriptis seruata].
Tips for searching: You can enter the complete phrase or simply one or more words in any order. Even if you are interested in the differences reflected in the name phrases, you do not necessarily need to include them in your search. For example: If you search on the name Sallustius (Sallust), the Author/Editor selection box on the search screen will list all titles by Sallustius and Sallustius (pseudo) separately, and indirect tradition of a title will be denoted by 'fragmenta in aliis scriptis servata' or similar wording.
Brill's New Jacoby presents facing English translations of the Greek fragments, a new, critical commentary, and a brief encyclopedia-style entry about each historian’s life and works, with a select bibliography.
The Chicago Homer is a multilingual database that except for fragments contains the texts of epic poems in the original Greek. In addition, the Chicago Homer includes English and German translations, in particular Lattimore's Iliad, James Huddleston's Odyssey, Daryl Hine's translations of Hesiod and the Homeric Hymns, and the German translations of the Iliad and Odyssey by Johan Heinrich Voss. Through the associated website Eumaios, users of the Chicago Homer can also from each line of the poem access pertinent Iliad scholia and papyrus readings.
This collaborative project aims to create a digital library of the entire body of Latin literature, spanning from the earliest epigraphic remains to the Neo-Latinists of the eighteenth century. Includes a catalogue of Latin texts currently available online. From forumromanum.org.
Bibliographic and full-text primary and secondary source information from all CAORC member centers, covering both print collections and research collections in other media. The initial resources were located in overseas centers in Europe, the Near and Middle East, South and Southeast Asia, and West Africa. The program now includes bibliographic materials from Inner Asia and the New World, as well as from other collections in countries that host centers.
Includes information from the Greek vitae and martyria of 119 saints of the 8th-10th centuries, accounts of the translations of their relics, and collections of miracles, as well as notices from the Synaxarion of Constantinople (a 10th-century liturgical collection of brief hagiographical notices).
Searches the subject catalogs of the German Archaeological Institute in Rome, the Bibliography of Iberian Archaeology from the German Archaeological Institute in Madrid, and the Archaeology of Roman Provinces from RGK Frankfurt. The DYABOLA is a bibliography of literature on classical, early Christian, Byzantine, early Medieval, and ancient Middle Eastern art and archaeology and history. It provides citations for articles from over 1,100 scholarly journals, contributions to Festschriften, conference proceedings, and other collections; books; dissertations. The database covers publications from 1956 to the present and is updated monthly.
Formerly: Index of Christian Art. The Index records works of art produced without geographical limitations from early apostolic times to A.D. 1400 (extended in the case of the Morgan and Princeton Library projects to include manuscript holdings up to the end of the sixteenth century).
The IMB is the Web version of the semiannual publication of the same title. The discipline areas to which the IMB is relevant include Classics, English Language and Literature, History and Archaeology, Theology and Philosophy, Medieval European Languages and Literatures, Arabic and Islamic Studies, History of Education, Art History, Music, Theatre and Performance Arts, Rhetoric and Communication Studies.
This full-text search index includes over 25 million research articles and other scholarly documents preserved in the Internet Archive. The collection spans from digitized copies of eighteenth century journals through the latest Open Access conference proceedings and pre-prints from the Web.
Iter is a not-for-profit research project created for the advancement of learning in the study and teaching of the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700) through the development of electronic resources.
The complete digital Loeb Classical Library is fully accessible via the Library's subscription. More than 520 volumes of Latin and Greek texts with English translation are available, allowing readers to browse, search, bookmark, annotate, and share content. The new Loeb editions are added twice a year.
Medicina Antiqua is hosted by the Wellcome Trust Centre for the History of Medicine at UCL. It is devoted to the study of medicine in the Graeco-Roman world. It is intended to be a useful scholarly introduction and resource. It does this primarily either by including existing resources or linking to other web resources. The site currently hosts a number of essays and translations, which it is hoped will be expanded in the future.
Nestor is an international bibliography of Aegean studies, Homeric society, Indo-European linguistics, and related fields. It is published monthly from September to May (each volume covers one calendar year) by the Department of Classics, University of Cincinnati. It is currently edited by Carol R. Hershenson. The primary geographic nexus of Nestor is the Aegean, including all of Greece, Albania, and Cyprus, the southern area of Bulgaria, and the western and southern areas of Turkey. Nestor includes publications concerning the central and western Mediterranean, southeastern Europe, the eastern Mediterranean, western Asia, and other regions of archaeological research, if the specific bibliographic items contain Aegean artifacts, imitations, or influences, or make reference to Aegean comparanda.
Oxford Bibliographies Online offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on the Classics. Bibliographies are browsable by subject area and keyword searchable. Contains a "My OBO" function that allows users to create personalized bibliographies of individual citations from different bibliographies.
Papyri.info has two primary components. The Papyrological Navigator (PN) supports searching, browsing, and aggregation of ancient papyrological documents and related materials; the Papyrological Editor (PE) enables multi-author, version controlled, peer reviewed scholarly curation of papyrological texts, translations, commentary, scholarly metadata, institutional catalog records, bibliography, and images.
The Patrologia Latina Database is an electronic version of the first edition of Jacques-Paul Migne's Patrologia Latina, published between 1844 and 1855, and the four volumes of indexes published between 1862 and 1865. The Patrologia Latina comprises the works of the Church Fathers from Tertullian in 200 AD to the death of Pope Innocent III in 1216. The database contains the complete Patrologia Latina, including all prefatory material, original texts, critical apparatus and indexes. Migne's column numbers, essential references for scholars, are included. ProQuest.
The Philosopher's Index provides indexing and abstracts from books and journals of philosophy and related fields. It covers the areas of ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, and metaphysic logic as well as material on the philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, and language. Dates of coverage: 1940-present
Supplementum Epigraphicum Graecum (SEG) systematically collects newly published Greek inscriptions as well as publications on previously known documents. Material later than the 8th century CE is not included. Supplementum Epigraphicum Graecum presents complete Greek texts of all new inscriptions with a critical apparatus; it summarizes new readings, interpretations and studies of known inscriptions, and occasionally presents the Greek text of these documents. Inscriptions are listed by their provenance, e.g., Dodona or Abdera. These place names are grouped into regions, such as Attica or Illyria. In the SEG Online, in order to keep lists and loading times short, these regions are grouped into several larger areas: 1. Greece, 2. North, 3. Aegean, 4. West, 5. Asia Minor, and 6. East. The online edition includes all SEG volumes, and will incorporate all future volumes in the series.
The TLG is a concordance to ancient Greek literature. It was originally based on Estienne's work Thesaurus graecae linguae. It contains virtually all extant Greek literary texts from Homer (eight century B.C.E.) to 800 C.E. as well as the texts of many historiographical, lexicographical, and scholastic writers. The goal is to eventually include literary texts from antiquity to the present.
Consult tutorial under "more" below.
From the Text Search option, you can choose Simple (one word or phrase) or Proximity (Boolean, a combination of up to three words or phrases) searches.
You can search using Greek, Beta, Transliteration fonts from the drop down menu.
If you choose Greek, you can click on each letter in the keyboard icon. Note that there is no difference between regular and final sigma in the search box and you can ignore aspirations unless you wish to search on specific inflected forms or gain more precision in your word or phrase searches, and the iota subscript can be added by clicking on it following the letter; for example, clicking on the omega with iota subscript or other diphthong.
However, instead of clicking on the individual Greek letters, you may want to go to Settings on your computer and choose Language, Keyboard, Greek, Polytonic if you wish to facilitate the inputting of ancient Greek words and phrases. Once you have added Polytonic, you can click on the flag, usually in the upper right hand corner on Mac computers or “ΕΛ,” usually in the lower right hand corner on PC’s and start typing. Unless you have an actual Greek keyboard, you need to check the configuration chart or simply through trial and error find the corresponding letters, e.g., v for ω, h for η, u for θ, y for υ, etc.
If you choose Beta or Transliteration make sure to check the transliteration chart used in the TLG – w for ω, h for η, q for θ, etc.
You can also choose the distance between the combined words in Proximity searches, from changing the default of 15 words in the box to up to 50 words.
You can either decide to search the Full Author Corpus, which is the default, or a single author or a number of authors by choosing Author, e.g., Euripides.
In the results you can view the larger context of the passages by clicking on the rectangle with a right pointing arrow (the browser window) to read the entire text by moving backwards or forward in the text, and in the case of links to Translations, such as those in Perseus, read a translation. You can also click on the exact Citation of the edition you are consulting.
Note: You do not have to use diacritics, but you can, if you desire more precision. Wildcards can also be used by tagging this option which offers you inflected (declined, conjugated, derived, dialectical) forms of the word(s) or phrase(s) searched.
For morphological analysis choose a Lemma (dictionary form) search. For word forms choose a Word Index search from a list of words.
In the corpus of Euripides, for example, if you search on πόνος or the stem πον using the Word Index, you will find that there are 18 instances of this word. Once here you could choose to expand your search by clicking on Full Author Corpus which then will give all the instances in the corpus of Greek texts/authors in the TLG for comparative analysis.
If you choose Text Search, you will be taken to the texts in which this word is found. When you perform a Proximity search in the Euripides corpus on, for example, πόνος and βίος within a range of, let us say, 30 words, you will find three instances of this word "combination," in the Fragmenta and in the Hippolytus.
There are many other features to explore such as geographic and chronological distributions of words or phrases under Statistics. The N-Grams option allows you to compare similarities in phrases, for example, in the parallel Intertextual Phrase Matching comparing passages in all or individual works by two authors such as Sophocles and Euripides in order to identify common phrases to both or in general use at the time (chronological distribution) in Athens (geographic distribution), for example, or unique words and phrases in each author compared to parts or the full corpus of authors in the TLG.
The Thesaurus Linguae Latinae (TLL) is a monumental Latin dictionary covering the origin of the language to Isidore of Seville (died 636). The project began in 1894. The last fascicle of the P-volume appeared in 2010, and work is currently under way on both N and R. For search tips, see Fields of Study, Language, Latin.
Click on "more" below for brief instructions.
Type a word in the full text search box, for example, amicitia. This gives you all instances of the word in different entries along with the location in the print TLL. Clicking on the words listed displays the entries in their entirety. The word is highlighted throughout the entries. Clicking on the hyperlinks opens up various information in the Index Librorum (authors, dates, editions, etc.). To move forward or backward in the texts use arrows on the top of the page. In the Advanced Search module you can search using various criteria such as etymology, lemma, etc. The search will give you the exact vol. part or fascicle, page, and line in the print TLL as well as the text.
TOCS-IN provides the tables of contents of a selection of Classics, Near Eastern Studies, and Religion journals, both in text format and through a Web search program. Where possible, links are given with articles of which the full text or an abstract is available online (about 15%). The project began to archive current tables of contents in 1992, and now contains ca. 200 journals, and over 100,000 articles, in a database at Toronto. In addition, the Louvain mirror site archives much additional material for some of the journals before 1992. TOCS-IN also indexes Festschriften and Conference proceedings.
Very Short Introductions offer concise introductions to a diverse range of subject areas. It offers a bridge between reference content and higher academic work. All titles provide intelligent and serious introductions to a huge range of subjects, written by experts in the field who combine facts, analysis, new ideas, and enthusiasm to make challenging topics highly readable.
A multidisciplinary collection including more than 20,000 e-books covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. Under Humanities, click on the drop down menu to find Classical Studies.
In addition to containing records for materials held in the nine libraries of the German Archaeological Institute, Zenon DAI indexes journals, Festschriften and conference proceedings. It covers Greek and Roman material culture as well as Greek and Roman history, epigraphy, and numismatics.