Legal Oral Advocacy Research Guide

This publication focuses on writing and advocacy in appellate courts. It is well suited for use in an upper division appellate advocacy or advanced writing course or moot court program, or as a primary or supplemental text for first year legal writing courses that focus on appellate advocacy as the pedagogical model to teach legal writing skills.

This work is designed to assist the advocate in formulating arguments, oral or written, before appellate courts. The book addresses the appellate process, the nature and characteristics of various kinds of arguments and how different levels of review and the kind of case before the court influence the arguments to be advanced. There are extensive chapters on brief writing and oral argument. The book concludes with advice on learning from one's own experience, whether as an appellate advocate or in other professional work.

Former Judge Edward D. Re and litigator Joseph Re lead the reader through each step of the legal writing and oral argument process highlighting and addressing the nuances of trial practice as only a veteran judge and lawyer can.

This overview of the use of litigation in dispute resolution is particularly well-suited for use in an introductory lawyering course. It instructs students on efficient preparation, proper form, and effective presentation of arguments. Content covers interpreting facts and developing core theory, legal research, writing a legal research memorandum, writing a brief, and oral argument.

This publication is designed to help law students prepare for a variety of law school competitions. It focuses primarily on the client counseling, negotiation, and moot court competitions. It draws upon the advice of coaches and commentators as well as numerous theoretical and practical sources.

This book is designed to introduce and cover its subject in a simple and entertaining, yet comprehensive, way. It contains chapters on such topics as style, substance,structure, questions, and rebuttal to explain effective approaches to this peculiar form of conversation.

In their professional lives, courtroom lawyers must do these two things well: speak persuasively and write persuasively. In this noteworthy book, two noted legal writers systematically present every important idea about judicial persuasion in a fresh, entertaining way. The book covers the essentials of sound legal reasoning, including how to develop the syllogism that underlies any argument. From there the authors explain the art of brief writing, especially what to include and what to omit, so that you can induce the judge to focus closely on your arguments. Finally, they show what it takes to succeed in oral argument.

This book is designed to structure the process of writing a first brief and organizing a first oral argument on appeal. The book assumes that its typical user is a student addressing an appellate moot court problem during the student's first or second year of law school. The book further assumes a basic understanding of legal research and writing, including an understanding of citation form.

The Moot Court Workbook contains annotated examples drawn from filed briefs and oral arguments, exercises, tip sheets, rubrics, and checklists--to engage students and to help them learn and retain core content. The authors' experience as professors who teach legal writing (including persuasive writing and oral argument), coach moot court teams, and judge moot court competitions. Examples and exercises (with suggested answers) that are drawn from a variety of subject areas.

Persuasive Oral and Written Advocacy: In Trial and Appellate Courts offers detailed coverage of appellate practice as well as trial-court motions practice. it takes the reader from start to finish through the processes of writing, editing, and presenting effective written arguments, and also preparing and delivering persuasive oral arguments. to familiarize prospective lawyers with essential skills and concepts, this title includes: a step-by-step guide to preparing and editing effective written and oral arguments. The text demonstrates gives practical advice on oral argument in appellate and trial settings with an emphasis on the judge's perspective, which needs to be considered when preparing an argument.

A guide to the preparation and presentation of oral arguments before the Supreme Court and other appellate courts. Topics covered include: Approaches to openings; Transitions from difficult questions to affirmative points; Hypothetical questions; Closing the argument; and Maximizing rebuttal time. This treatise details various ways to master the case record and key court decisions and includes time-saving checklists and model arguments.

This short, easy reading book is designed to help students prepare for team selection competitions as well as students who will be competing at U.S. moot court competitions. It includes advice on a range of issues--from selecting a partner to keeping the competition in perspective after it is over. It includes advice based on interviews with successful moot court coaches from several law schools.

Examines twelve characteristics of a winning argument and presents the rudiments and sophisticated levels of persuasion based upon ancient and modern techniques.