Research Guides: Oral Advocacy: Articles

Selected Articles

Due to subscription and licensing agreements, certain library resources are restricted to UC faculty, staff, and currently enrolled students. Some of these databases are available to the entire University of Cincinnati community. Others are restricted to the College of Law.

Myron H. Bright, The 10 Commandments of Oral Argument, 67 A.B.A. J. 1136 (1981) (HeinOnline)
An appellate judge gives oral argument advice.
James D. Dimitri, Stepping up to the Podium with Confidence: A Primer for Law Students on Preparing and Delivering and Appellate Oral Argument (Center for Excellence in Advocacy Symposium), 38 Stetson L. Rev. 75 (2008) (HeinOnline)
This Article is targeted at oral argument novices. It discusses how you, as a beginner to appellate oral argument, may effectively prepare and deliver an argument, particularly if you are giving this argument as part of your law school's legal research and writing course or as a competitor in a moot court competition.
Stephen J. Dwyer, Leonard J. Feldman & Robert G. Nylander, Effective Oral Argument: Six Pitches, Five Do's, and Five Don'ts from One Judge and Two Lawyers, 33 Seattle U.L. Rev. 347 (2009) (HeinOnline)
This article offers a number of guidelines to teach lawyers how to craft such arguments and provides several "do's" and "don'ts" to help lawyers along the way, from preparation through argument itself. In Part II, the authors describe six different types of questions that you can expect when arguing a case - all described in baseball parlance - from the easy "soft-ball lob" to the more difficult "fastball." In Part III, they present five "do's" and five "don'ts" that should be kept in mind when preparing for and arguing a case.
Henry D. Gabriel, Preparation and Delivery of Oral Agrument in Appellate Courts, 22 Am. Jur. Trial Advoc. 571 (1999) (HeinOnline)
Former appellate litigator and law professor discusses: (1) the importance of oral argument; (2) the twin obligations of counsel to both the client and the court; (3) the preparation of oral argument; and (4) the delivery of oral argument.

Full-Text Legal Periodical Sources

You can find more articles by searching the following databases:

HeinOnline
HeinOnline is an ever expanding¸ comprehensive and image-based collection of over 350 legal periodicals¸ providing each journal from its inception and continuing to the most current volume allowed under contract between Hein and the journal. US titles dominate but an increasing number from the UK and other jurisdictions are included. In most cases coverage starts from the first issue of a journal. Pages appear as they would in the original hardcopy including all charts¸ graphs and photographs.
Westlaw
Westlaw is a legal database restricted to law faculty, staff and students.
Lexis+ This link opens in a new window
Lexis Advance is a legal database restricted to law faculty, staff and students.

Bloomberg Law Bloomberg Law is a legal database restricted to law students, faculty, and staff. Go to All Legal Content. Then expand out US Secondary Sources. Expand Law Reviews & Journals or Magazines & Trade Publications. Coverage spans the full range of legal practice areas, including tax & accounting, labor & employment, intellectual property, banking & securities, employee benefits, health care, privacy & data security, human resources, and environment, health & safety.
Berkeley Electronic Press (BePress) BePress is a repository for working papers and pre-prints. You can browse by recent publications, popular papers, and peer reviewed articles, or by institutions or subjects. You can also search full-text or fields such as author, title, subject, institution, etc. You can set up notification alerts of new articles posted at http://law.bepress.com/repository/search_by_subject.html.

Legal Collection
This database contains full text for nearly 250 of the world's most respected¸ scholarly law journals. The Legal Collection is an authoritative source for information on current issues¸ studies¸ thoughts and trends of the legal world.
Coverage: 1965 - present

Social Science Research Network (SSRN) SSRN is a for-profit collection designed to promote greater dissemination of social science research. In the Legal Scholarship Network, scholars will often post pre-publication drafts of papers and law review articles. To browse subjects, look at http://papers.ssrn.com/sol3/displayjel.cfm. You can also search by author, title, or find keywords in the abstract. You cannot search full-text.

Search for Online Full Text Journals at UC

If the article is unavailable through the above methods, and you need to request an article through Interlibrary Loan, fill out the ILL Form for Articles. The Law Library does not use ILLIAD at this time.