Research Guides: Bankruptcy Research Guide: Secondary Sources

Summon

Treatises

American Bankruptcy Institute (ABI) Containing everything from practice handbooks to appeals manuals, and everything in between, the American Bankruptcy Institute book collection provides practitioners with a wealth of information on virtually every topic and issue that arrises in bankruptcy practice. This collection of over 30 of the best bankruptcy books available ensures that practitioners will be prepared for any situation.

Bankruptcy Law Stories by Robert K. Rasmussen (Editor) In this text leading scholars explore the landmark decisions that shape modern bankruptcy law and practice. Ten short and accessible chapters provide students with an understanding of the institutional, economic, and social forces that shape our bankruptcy system. The cases cover corporate, individual, and transnational bankruptcy and illustrate the role that the Solicitor General plays in shaping bankruptcy law. The book focuses on the ways lawyers have operated within the parameters set by the bankruptcy code, such as establishing the Manville Asbestos Trust.
ISBN: 9781599410180
Publication Date: 2007-04-25

Bankruptcy Law Stories (West Academic) Questionable axiom of Butner v. United States / Barry E. Adler -- Timbers of Inwood Forest, the economics of rent, and the evolving dynamics of Chapter 11 / Edward R. Morrison -- Termination rights in bankruptcy: the story of Stephen Perlman v. Catapult Entertainment, Inc. / George G. Triantis -- Supreme Court, the Solicitor General and bankruptcy: BFP v. Resolution Trust Corporation / Ronald J. Mann -- Valuation of collateral / Alan Schwartz -- Story of Patterson: plainly protecting pensions / Mechele Dickerson -- Story of Case v. Los Angeles Lumber Products: old equity holders and the reorganized corporation / Robert K. Rasmussen -- Story of Saybrook: defining the limits of debtor-in-possession financing / David A. Skeel -- Story of Johns Manville Corporation: the intersection of bankruptcy and mass torts / G. Marcus Cole and David C. Thompson -- Maxwell case / John A.E. Pottow
Bloomberg Law: Bankruptcy Treatise Bloomberg Law: Bankruptcy Treatise integrates the trusted news content of Bloomberg BNA's bankruptcy news coverage with over 600 chapters and more than 13,000 pages of content and expert analysis from over 60 renowned judges, law professors, and practitioners.
Collier on Bankruptcy (Lexis) Lexis Advance. Appendices contain the relevant primary source material, including current versions of the Code, Rules, and Official Forms; the text of the Public Laws for all major bankruptcy legislation since 1978, with relevant legislative history; bankruptcy commission reports; and the text of other selected legislation. Found within the appendices are the text of the Bankruptcy Abuse Prevention and Consumer Protection Act and its relevant legislative history.
The Elements of Bankruptcy Regularly cited by the Supreme Court and others, Elements of Bankruptcy provides a comprehensive introduction to the basic principles of bankruptcy law. In addition to covering foundational questions such as the fresh start for individuals, property of the estate, executory contracts, adequate protection, preferences, and fraudulent conveyances, this book also covers cutting-edge issues such as restructuring support agreements, nonconsensual third-party releases, make-whole clauses, carve-outs, trap doors, and backstops. The seventh edition also takes stock of recent developments from the Supreme Court and elsewhere, including such cases as Mission Product Holdings, Jevic, Fulton, and Purdue Pharma.

Family Lawyer's Guide to Bankruptcy by Shayna M. Steinfeld; Bruce R. Steinfeld This book offers practical guidance on the new legislation and how it affects divorcing spouses. Among the aspects explained include the types of bankruptcy cases; case commencement; automatic stay; property of the estate; lien avoidance; priority of alimony, maintenance, and support debts; avoidability of transfers between married spouses; executory contracts; dismissal; closing the case; and revocation of discharge. Appendices are contained on an accompanying CD-ROM.
Call Number: KF1535.D58 S74 2008
ISBN: 9781590319628
Publication Date: 2009-06-16

Hawkland's Uniform Commercial Code Series This series provides the official code text, official comments, variations enacted by the states. It includes section-by-section analysis and commentary, other related legislation, and case references. It is organized by the Uniform Commercial Code (UCC) numbers for quick access and contains a concordance with more than 7,000 entries by words, phrases, and UCC section numbers.
Norton Bankruptcy Law & Practice (Westlaw) Westlaw. Part I, Subpart I, Chapter 2 covers: I. Legislative History and the Bankruptcy Code and II. The role of Legislative History in Construing the Bankruptcy Code.

Legal Encyclopedias

American Jurisprudence 2d (Lexis) American Jurisprudence, Second Edition, published by West Publishing Company a division of Thomson Reuters, is an encyclopedic text of both procedural and substantive American law, state, federal, criminal, civil and procedural. Consisting of over 430 topic headings (titles), Am Jur 2d articles collect, examine, and summarize the broad principles of American law and, at the same time, provide direct leads to supporting cases, related annotations, forms, proofs, and trial techniques.
American Jurisprudence 2d (Westlaw) American Jurisprudence 2d is an encyclopedia containing over 400 separate titles on a broad range of legal topics.
American Jurisprudence 2d General Index (Westlaw)
C.J.S. (Westlaw) C.J.S. is a legal encyclopedia covering state and federal legal topics, and has been cited over 90,000 times by all levels of U.S. Courts.
C.J.S. Index (Westlaw)

American Law Reports

American Law Reports (Lexis) The ALR database contains the full text of the annotations included in the Second, Third, Fourth, Fifth, Sixth, Seventh, Federal, Federal Second, and Federal Third Series of the American Law Reports (ALR), all published by West, a Thomson Reuters business.
American Law Reports - Bankruptcy (Westlaw) Full text of articles included in the First, Second, Third, Fourth, Fifth, Sixth, Seventh, Federal, Federal Second, and Federal Third series of American Law Reports (ALR) and the Index to Annotations covering these series.

Law Reviews and Journals

All Bankruptcy Law Reviews & Journals (HeinOnline) Coverage for all journals is from inception and goes through the most currently published issues allowed based on contracts with publishers. About 90% of journals are available through the current issue or volume. Search by article title, author, subject, state or country published, full text, and narrow by date.
All Bankruptcy Law Reviews and Journals (Lexis) Contains law review and journal articles pertaining to bankruptcy law.
All Bankruptcy Law Reviews and Journals (Westlaw)

Forms and Checklists

ABA's Bankruptcy Deadline Checklist (Bloomberg) The Checklist is meant to be a list of all of the potential deadlines in a case.
Administrative Office of the United States Courts - Forms Search for national federal court forms by keyword, number, or filter by category.
ALI-ABA Bankruptcy Forms (Bloomberg) The ALI-ABA Forms Library is an extensive collection of hundreds of forms prepared by top practitioners. It includes sample forms, checklists and other guidance related to the area of Bankruptcy Law.
Bankruptcy Agreements (Westlaw) Bankruptcy Agreements provides access to executed bankruptcy agreements with language, clauses, and provisions drafted by leading law firms and in-house counsel. Agreements are sourced from EDGAR filings. Coverage begins in 2000.
BNA Bankruptcy Forms & Checklists (Bloomberg) BNA Bankruptcy Forms & Checklists
Forms from Collier Bankruptcy Practice Guide (Lexis) Lexis Advance. Source contains the forms found within Collier Bankruptcy Practice Guide.
Forms from Collier Compensation, Employment and Appointment of Trustees and Professionals in Bankruptcy Cases (Lexis) Lexis Advance. Source contains the forms found within Collier Compensation, Employment and Appointment of Trustees Guide.
Forms from Collier Family Law and the Bankruptcy Code (Lexis) Lexis Advance. Source contains the forms found within Collier Family Law and the Bankruptcy Code.
Forms from Collier Handbook for Creditors' Committees (Lexis) Lexis Advance. Source contains the forms found within Collier Handbook For Creditors' Committees.
Forms from Collier Handbook for Trustees and Debtors in Possession (Lexis) Lexis Advance. Source contains the forms found within Collier Handbook For Trustees And Debtors In Possession.
Forms from Collier Lending Institutions and the Bankruptcy Code (Lexis) Source contains the forms found within Collier Lending Institutions & the Bankruptcy Code.
Forms from Collier on Bankruptcy (Lexis) Lexis Advance. Source contains the forms found within Collier on Bankruptcy 15th Edition Revised.
Forms from Collier Real Estate Transactions and the Bankruptcy Code (Lexis) Lexis Advance. Source contains the forms found within Collier Real Estate Transactions & the Bankruptcy Code.
Lexis Practice Advisor - Bankruptcy (Lexis) Bankruptcy forms, clauses, checklists and more.