Skip to Main Content
Case Law
Bankruptcy Cases (Lexis)
All available cases from any Federal or state court pertaining to bankruptcy law.
Bankruptcy Cases (Westlaw)
Federal Bankruptcy Cases has all available bankruptcy cases and includes U.S. Supreme Court cases. Coverage begins with 1789.
Key Number Search: 51 Bankruptcy
Includes:
Administration of estates of debtors under general bankruptcy laws for the purpose of distribution of assets among creditors and discharge of debtors from liability for their debts
What constitutes bankruptcy
Nature, grounds, limits and subjects of jurisdiction in bankruptcy cases, and procedure therein
Relief of debtors and reorganization of corporations and others under federal statutes enacted pursuant to the bankruptcy power
Collier Bankruptcy Case Update (Lexis)
Law Stacks KF1515.A2 .C65 1979. Lexis Advance. Provides concise summaries of significant bankruptcy issues in virtually all current bankruptcy cases decided by the U.S. Supreme Court, the U.S. Courts of Appeals, Bankruptcy Appellate Panels, District Courts and Bankruptcy Courts.The summaries are arranged by Bankruptcy Code section and Bankruptcy Rule number and note whether the case is commercial- or consumer-oriented.
Statutes
Bankruptcy Statutes & Court Rules (Lexis)
Contains all available statutory codes, constitutions, court rules, pending and enacted legislative enactments, and legislative history information regarding bankruptcy law.
Bankruptcy Statutes & Court Rules (Westlaw)
Documents from the United States Code Annotated that relate to federal bankruptcy laws and matters subject to bankruptcy jurisdiction, including rules of procedure for federal courts.
Collier on Bankruptcy (Lexis)
Lexis Advance. Appendices contain the relevant primary source material, including current versions of the Code, Rules, and Official Forms; the text of the Public Laws for all major bankruptcy legislation since 1978, with relevant legislative history; bankruptcy commission reports; and the text of other selected legislation. Found within the appendices are the text of the Bankruptcy Abuse Prevention and Consumer Protection Act and its relevant legislative history.
Collier Pamphlet Edition (Lexis Advance)
Lexis Advance. Part I of Collier Pamphlet Edition contains the complete and up to date text of the Bankruptcy Code, and Part II contains the complete and up to date text of the Federal Rules of Bankruptcy Procedure and Official Forms.
U.S. Code
The Bankruptcy Code is codified at Title 11.
Rules
Collier Pamphlet Edition (Lexis)
Lexis Advance. Part I of Collier Pamphlet Edition contains the complete and up to date text of the Bankruptcy Code, and Part II contains the complete and up to date text of the Federal Rules of Bankruptcy Procedure and Official Forms.
Local Bankruptcy Court Rules (Bloomberg)
The Local Bankruptcy Court Rules directory contains the rules for the United States Bankruptcy District Courts.
Local Bankruptcy Rules Toolkit (Westlaw Practical Law)
Resources concerning local rules for popular bankruptcy venues, including the US Bankruptcy Courts for the Southern District of New York, Eastern District of New York, District of New Jersey, and District of Delaware.
U.S. Bankruptcy Appellate Panel (BAP) Local Rules (Bloomberg)
Local Rules for the First, Second, Sixth, Eighth, Ninth and Tenth Circuit Bankruptcy Appellate Panels (BAP), which govern practice before the BAP and supplement Part VIII of the Federal Rules of Bankruptcy Procedure. The Local Rules are promulgated under Rule 8018 of the Federal Rules of Bankruptcy Procedure.
U.S. Code
Bankruptcy Rules are located in an appendix to Title 11.
USCA - Federal Rules Annotated (Westlaw)
Includes Federal Rules of Bankruptcy Procedure and Official Bankruptcy Forms.
USCS - Federal Rules Annotated (Lexis)
Includes Federal Rules of Bankruptcy Procedure and Official Bankruptcy Forms at the end of the set.
Legislative History
The Bankruptcy Reform Act of 1978: Analysis, Legislative History and Selected Bibliography (HeinOnline)
Law Stacks KF1506 .V63. This bibliography describes the changes to bankruptcy law brought about by the 1978 Act, provides a brief narrative summary of its legislative history, and lists hearings, committee prints, committee reports, debates, and bills pertaining to the Act.
Collier on Bankruptcy (Lexis)
Lexis Advance. Appendices contain the relevant primary source material, including current versions of the Code, Rules, and Official Forms; the text of the Public Laws for all major bankruptcy legislation since 1978, with relevant legislative history; bankruptcy commission reports; and the text of other selected legislation. Found within the appendices are the text of the Bankruptcy Abuse Prevention and Consumer Protection Act and its relevant legislative history.
Historical Versions of the U.S. Code (HeinOnline)
Historical versions of the U.S. Code from 1925 to 2012.
History of Bankruptcy: Taxation & Economic Reform in America Part III (HeinOnline)
Provides extensive compiled legislative history materials for bankruptcy laws going back to 1938 in its "History of Bankruptcy: Taxation & Economic Reform in America Part III" collection. This collection also includes Congressional Research Service reports and historical treatises, articles, and case reporters. Bankruptcy legislative histories are also available in Hein’s "U.S. Federal Legislative History Library."
Norton Bankruptcy Law & Practice (Westlaw)
Westlaw. Part I, Subpart I, Chapter 2 covers:
I. Legislative History and the Bankruptcy Code and II. The role of Legislative History in Construing the Bankruptcy Code.
Prior Bankruptcy Acts (Bloomberg)
Prior bankruptcy acts, from the first Bankruptcy Act of 1800 through the Bankruptcy Reform Act of 1994, which was the last bankruptcy act prior to the sweeping changes made by the current Bankruptcy Abuse Prevention and Consumer Protection Act of 2005.
Proquest Legislative Insights
Includes compiled legislative histories of the 1978 Act and all of its major amendments. Including bills, floor debates, hearings, committee prints, and presidential signing statements. Congressional Research Service reports are also available for some laws.
U.S. Federal Legislative History Library (HeinOnline)
The Sources of Compiled Legislative Histories Database is derived from the looseleaf publication Sources of Compiled Legislative Histories: A Bibliography of Government Documents, Periodical Articles, and Books by Nancy P. Johnson. All compilations for major laws are included in the database with the following exceptions: appropriations measures; ceremonial matters; laws that extend the life of an agency or authority; and laws that affect small numbers of persons or specific regions of the country. The sources for these compilations include congressional documents, legal periodicals, treatises and looseleaf services.
Westlaw Legislative History Search (Westlaw)
Search all Legislative History information on Westlaw.
