Useful Links in Classics

List of abbreviations for journals, series, lexica and frequently cited works in the field of archaeological and classical studies. From the Deutsches Archäologisches Institut (DAI) in Rome.

Excavation records kept in the archival repository of the Blegen Library at the ASCSA. The excavation records are arranged alphabetically. The spelling of the sites appears both in Greek and Latin. Each entry carries information about the date of the preserved records (Date), the main people involved (Involved), and the records themselves (Records).

Within its special subject collection Classical Archaeology, the University Library of Heidelberg holds an extensive collection of archaeological literature of the 16th through the 20th century, periodicals included. Many of these works are now digitized and available online.

Searches the subject catalogs of the German Archaeological Institute in Rome, the Bibliography of Iberian Archaeology from the German Archaeological Institute in Madrid, and the Archaeology of Roman Provinces from RGK Frankfurt. The DYABOLA is a bibliography of literature on classical, early Christian, Byzantine, early Medieval, and ancient Middle Eastern art and archaeology and history. It provides citations for articles from over 1,100 scholarly journals, contributions to Festschriften, conference proceedings, and other collections; books; dissertations. The database covers publications from 1956 to the present and is updated monthly.

An archaeological database for current fieldwork in Italy, Serbia, Bulgaria, Romania, Macedonia, Malta, Morocco, Croatia, Albania, and Slovenia. Fasti Online contains a basic record sheet for each site excavated for any period in a given year with, the interim report for the year, together with any further documentation the director wishes to add. Sites range from the Upper Palaeolithic to the nineteenth century. Sites are searchable by project name, by period and type of site, and by clickable maps which provide an overview of the excavation locations. Projects from 2000 on; also included is bibliography on current projects.

Bibliography of Aegean Prehistory and related areas. Published by the Department of Classics, University of Cincinnati.

In addition to containing records for materials held in the nine libraries of the German Archaeological Institute, Zenon DAI indexes journals, Festschriften and conference proceedings. It covers Greek and Roman material culture as well as Greek and Roman history, epigraphy, and numismatics.