Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UC Logo
Libraries | Ask the Libraries

Legal Analytics

This guide will highlight legal analytics resources.

Bloomberg Law

Bloomberg Law’s Litigation Analytics enables you to search legal data points by Company, Law Firm, Judge, or Attorney. In addition to the Litigation Analytics, there are also Company, Law Firm, Judge, and now just this year, Attorney Analytics. 

Law firm representation information includes representation information for companies in Bloomberg’s company database (over 70,000 public companies and 3.5 million private companies). 

Bloomberg Law’s Judge Analytics lets you see information on all sitting federal district court judges, including the judge’s career history, most cited opinions and recent news about the judge. You can also see how a judge rules on motions to dismiss, motions for summary judgment, and motions for class certification. Judge Analytics can show you how often a judge is affirmed, reversed or affirmed/reversed in part.  You can then look at the judge’s decisions that were appealed and filter those opinions by legal topic. You can also see how long cases generally take before a judge.

Bloomberg Law's Attorney Analytics provides representation information for over 100,000 attorneys at over 775 law firms. The analytics include attorney appearances on behalf of companies listed in Bloomberg's database of over 70,000 public and 3.5 million private companies and are generated from U.S. District Court and Court of Appeals dockets filed between January 1, 2007 and the present. You can see the companies the attorney has represented in federal court, the types of cases the attorney has litigated, the jurisdictions the attorney has litigated in, and the trend of the attorney’s litigation.

Lexis Analytics

Litigation Profile

Provides analytics for judges, attorneys, and expert witnesses from material filed in state and federal courts nationwide. To access, click the Open Product Menu squares in the upper left corner and then click Litigation Profile Suite. Search for a judge’s name to retrieve a basic profile of the judge; charts showing the types of cases and motions they have handled; and links to relevant dockets, cases, and news.

Lex Machina

LexisNexis has incorporated a free preview of Legal Analytics for judges, law firms, and attorneys.

  • Click the link for a judge, a law firm, or an attorney in the Legal Analytics pod, located on the right side of the document page.
  • Click a linked judge, law firm, or attorney in the document page to view additional information about the judge or law firm, and then click the View Lex Machina analytics link.

Once you click a Lex Machina link, you will be taken to the Lex Machina service where Lexis Advance subscribers can view a free preview of Legal Analytics for the judge, law firm, or attorney.

This capability is available now for patent, copyright, trademark, antitrust, securities, employment, commercial, product liability and federal bankruptcy cases.

Context

Context for Judges examines millions of case law documents to pinpoint the language, precedents and even other judges that a judge finds most compelling. Context analyzes 100 motion types from U.S. and state trial courts so you can view information on a judge’s decision to grant or deny—for every motion type. Context for Expert Witnesses begins with coverage of  witness intelligence, including depositions & trial transcripts as well as state and federal jury verdicts & settlements. 

Westlaw Analytics

Westlaw Edge has recently made a big investment into legal analytics. Right now there is a Litigation Analytics button above the fold of the Westlaw Content Types front page but if that isn’t showing up for you, you can access the analytics by scrolling down to Specialty Areas and selecting the link for Litigation Analytics. Each Litigation Analytics entity has an overview, which provides a snapshot of data about that entity. The tabs across the top of the page list the reports available for that particular entity. Report availability varies by entity type. 

Precedent Analytics shows you a graph showing the frequency with which a judge has dealt with particular topics. The topics are drawn from West’s Key Numbers, allowing users to drill down through topics and refine the analytics to match. In this way, a user can see at a specific level the cases and courts that judge relies on when deciding cases in that topic area. You can also select the Judge filter to see the list of other judges that judge most frequently cites. The Court filter shows the jurisdictions and courts the judge most frequently cites. As you drill down, a results list shows the matching cases — the cases that the judge has cited for that topic (or from that judge or court). The list shows a description of the case, the Key Number topics in the case, the topics for which the judge cited the case, and the number of times the judge cited the case. This also shows if there is a particular case the judge almost always cites for a particular type of matter.

Other Analytics Databases

University of Cincinnati Libraries

PO Box 210033 Cincinnati, Ohio 45221-0033

Phone: 513-556-1424

Contact Us | Staff Directory

University of Cincinnati

Alerts | Clery and HEOA Notice | Notice of Non-Discrimination | eAccessibility Concern | Privacy Statement | Copyright Information

© 2021 University of Cincinnati