Research Guides: Animal Law Research Guide: Laws

Case Law

28 Animals (Westlaw) West Key Number System, topic and key numbers for all state and federal animal cases.
149E Environmental Law (Westlaw) West Key Number System, topic and key numbers for all environmental law cases. k511-570 includes plants and wildlife.
All Cases (Lexis) Search all cases on Lexis Advance.
Animal Law Resource Center The Animal Law Resource Center provides access to legislation and legal matters pertaining to animals and the law. Information concerning animal cruelty, animal control, laboratory animal welfare, wildlife management and other issues concerning animals in our society.
Animal Law State Cases (Westlaw) Contains animal law-related decisions from the state courts of all fifty states and the local courts of the District of Columbia.
Animal Legal Defense Fund Cases Provides information on cases involving the organization.
Federal Cases Michigan State University's summaries of decisions as well as links to full text.

Statutes

Animal Welfare Statutes

Animal Legal Defense Fund U.S. Animal Protection Laws State Rankings The Animal Legal Defense Fund highlights the strengths and weaknesses in each state’s animal protection laws.
Animal Welfare Act The Animal Welfare Act was signed into law in 1966. It is the only Federal law in the United States that regulates the treatment of animals in research, exhibition, transport, and by dealers.
Federal Statutes Michigan State University chart with explanations of and links to federal animal welfare and rights laws.
Laws that Protect Animals From the Animal Legal Defense Fund, this provides information on both federal and state laws that protect animals.

Federal Food and Drug Statutes

Egg Products Inspection Act 21 U.S.C. §§ 1031-1056.
Federal Meat Inspection Act 21 U.S.C. §§ 601-695.
Humane Methods of Slaughter Act 7 U.S.C. §§ 1901-1907.
Poultry Products Inspection Act 21 U.S.C. §§ 451-472.

General Statutes

United States Code Service (USCS) (Lexis) Lexis Annotated United States Code, Titles 1 through 54
United States Code Annotated (USCA) (Westlaw) Westlaw Annotated United States Code, Titles 1 through 54
United States Code The United States Code is the codification by subject matter of the general and permanent laws of the United States. It is divided by broad subjects into 53 titles and published by the Office of the Law Revision Counsel of the U.S. House of Representatives. The U.S. Code was first published in 1926. The next main edition was published in 1934, and subsequent main editions have been published every six years since 1934. In between editions, annual cumulative supplements are published in order to present the most current information.

Regulations

There are two CFR titles related to animal law, Title 9 and Title 50. Title 9: Animals and Animal Products includes parts such as Rules of Practice Governing proceedings under the Animal Welfare Act, Rules of Practice Governing Proceedings under the Horse Protection Act, Animal Disease Traceability, Animals of Licensed Establishments and more. Title 50: Wildlife and Fisheries includes parts such as Injurious wildlife, Endangered and threatened wildlife and plants, Airborne hunting, Wildlife species management, International fisheries regulation and more.

Title 9: Animals and Animal Products

Code of Federal Regulations: Title 9 (HeinOnline) Coverage begins with 1938 edition - current.
Code of Federal Regulations: Title 9 (Lexis) CHAPTER I -- ANIMAL AND PLANT HEALTH INSPECTION SERVICE, DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE; CHAPTER II -- GRAIN INSPECTION, PACKERS AND STOCKYARDS ADMINISTRATION (PACKERS AND STOCKYARD PROGRAMS), DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE; CHAPTER III -- FOOD SAFETY AND INSPECTION SERVICE, DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
Code of Federal Regulations: Title 9 (Westlaw) Chapter I—Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service, Department of Agriculture; Chapter II—Grain Inspection, Packers and Stockyards Administration (Packers and Stockyards Programs), Department of Agriculture; Chapter III—Food Safety and Inspection Service, Department of Agriculture
e-CFR Title 9: Animals and Animal Products 1-199 ANIMAL AND PLANT HEALTH INSPECTION SERVICE, DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE; 200-299 GRAIN INSPECTION, PACKERS AND STOCKYARDS ADMINISTRATION (PACKERS AND STOCKYARDS PROGRAMS), DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE; 300-599 FOOD SAFETY AND INSPECTION SERVICE, DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

Title 50: Wildlife and Fisheries

Code of Federal Regulations: Title 50 (HeinOnline) Coverage begins with 1938 edition - current.
Code of Federal Regulations: Title 50 (Lexis) CHAPTER I -- UNITED STATES FISH AND WILDLIFE SERVICE, DEPARTMENT OF THE INTERIOR; CHAPTER II -- NATIONAL MARINE FISHERIES SERVICE, NATIONAL OCEANIC AND ATMOSPHERIC ADMINISTRATION, DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE; CHAPTER III -- INTERNATIONAL FISHING AND RELATED ACTIVITIES; CHAPTER IV -- JOINT REGULATIONS (UNITED STATES FISH AND WILDLIFE SERVICE, DEPARTMENT OF THE INTERIOR AND NATIONAL MARINE FISHERIES SERVICE, NATIONAL OCEANIC AND ATMOSPHERIC ADMINISTRATION, DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE); ENDANGERED SPECIES COMMITTEE REGULATIONS; CHAPTER V -- MARINE MAMMAL COMMISSION; CHAPTER VI -- FISHERY CONSERVATION AND MANAGEMENT, NATIONAL OCEANIC AND ATMOSPHERIC ADMINISTRATION, DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE
Code of Federal Regulations: Title 50 (Westlaw) Chapter I—United States Fish and Wildlife Service, Department of the Interior; Chapter II—National Marine Fisheries Service, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, Department of Commerce; Chapter III—International Fishing and Related Activities; Chapter IV—Joint Regulations (United States Fish and Wildlife Service, Department of the Interior and National Marine Fisheries Service, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, Department of Commerce); Endangered Species Committee Regulations; Chapter V—Marine Mammal Commission; Chapter VI—Fishery Conservation and Management, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, Department of Commerce
e-CFR Title 50: Wildlife and Fisheries 1-199 UNITED STATES FISH AND WILDLIFE SERVICE, DEPARTMENT OF THE INTERIOR; 200-299 NATIONAL MARINE FISHERIES SERVICE, NATIONAL OCEANIC AND ATMOSPHERIC ADMINISTRATION, DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE; 300-399 INTERNATIONAL FISHING AND RELATED ACTIVITIES; 400-499 JOINT REGULATIONS (UNITED STATES FISH AND WILDLIFE SERVICE, DEPARTMENT OF THE INTERIOR AND NATIONAL MARINE FISHERIES SERVICE, NATIONAL OCEANIC AND ATMOSPHERIC ADMINISTRATION, DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE); ENDANGERED SPECIES COMMITTEE REGULATIONS; 500-599 MARINE MAMMAL COMMISSION; 600-699 FISHERY CONSERVATION AND MANAGEMENT, NATIONAL OCEANIC AND ATMOSPHERIC ADMINISTRATION, DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE

Ohio Law

Case Law

All Ohio Federal & State Cases, Combined (Lexis) Includes: OH Supreme Court Cases from 1821 OH Courts of Appeals Cases from 1913 OH Lower Courts - Trial Orders U.S. Supreme Court Cases, Lawyers' Edition 6th Circuit - US Court of Appeals Cases Ohio Federal District Courts Ohio Bankruptcy Courts
Ohio State & Federal Cases (Westlaw) Ohio State & Federal Cases contain reported and unreported case law from the Ohio state courts, U.S. Federal District and Bankruptcy courts from Ohio, U.S Circuit Courts of Appeal authoritative in the Sixth Circuit, the U.S. Supreme Court and the United States Judicial Panel on Multidistrict Litigation. A document is a case (a decision or order) decided by the courts.
Ohio State Cases, Combined (Lexis) Ohio case law decided by the Ohio Supreme Court from 1821, the Ohio Court of Appeals from 1913, and various Ohio Miscellaneous Courts from 1823. Selected unpublished decisions from 1994 for Supreme and from 1976 for Court of Appeals.
Ohio State Cases (Westlaw) Ohio State Cases contain documents from the Ohio state courts from 1821 to date. A document is a case (a decision or order) decided by the courts.
Google Scholar - Ohio Case Law Search Google Scholar Ohio Case Law Search

Statutes

Page’s Ohio Revised Code Annotated (Lexis) Page's Ohio Revised Code Annotated includes all laws of a general and permanent nature, as enacted by the Ohio Legislature.
Ohio Statutes & Court Rules (Westlaw) Ohio Statutes & Court Rules includes current versions of OH statutes, constitution, and court rules.
Ohio Revised Code (Legislative Service Commission) Current through the 132nd General Assembly

Regulations

Ohio Administrative Code (Lexis) The OH - Ohio Administrative Code (OHADMN) file contains documents from the Ohio Administrative Code. This publication contains rules that have been adopted by the state agencies to implement, interpret, or make specific the law enforced or administered by the agency.
Ohio Regulations (Westlaw) The complete set of regulations as set forth in Baldwin's Ohio Administrative Code.
Ohio Administrative Code (Legislative Service Commission) Current through All Regulations Passed and Filed through April 12, 2019.

Legislative History

Animal Law Legislative Histories (HeinOnline) Available animal legislative histories are listed alphabetically.
Legislative History of the Animal Welfare Act Annotated bibliography of Federal documents related to the Animal Welfare Act and including Congressional hearings, citations from the Congressional Record, Federal Register notices, and Public Laws. From the USDA's Animal Welfare Information Center.
Legislative History of the Animal Welfare Act Amendments of 1976 (Westlaw) PL 94-279 An act to amend the Act of August 24, 1966, as amended, to increase the protection afforded animals in transit and to assure humane treatment of certain animals, and for other purposes.
Legislative History of the Animal Welfare Act of 1970 (Westlaw) PL 91-579 An act to amend the Act of August 24, 1966, relating to the care of certain animals used for purposes of research, experimentation, exhibition, or held for sale as pets.
Legislative History of the Egg Products Inspection Act of 1971 (Westlaw) PL 92-67 An act to amend the Egg Products Inspection Act to provide that certain plants which process egg products shall be exempt from such Act for a certain period of time.
Legislative History of the Federal Meat Inspection Act Amendment of 1970 (Westlaw) PL 91-342 An act to amend the Federal Meat Inspection Act, as amended, to clarify the provisions relating to custom slaughtering operations.
Legislative History of The Federal Meat Inspection Act and the Poultry Products Inspection Act Amendments of 1984 (Westlaw) PL 98-487 An act to amend the Federal Meat Inspection Act and the Poultry Products Inspection Act to exempt restaurant central kitchens under certain conditions from Federal inspection requirements.

50 State Surveys

Animals - American Law Reports Index (Westlaw) American Law Reports organize, summarize, and analyze pertinent federal and state caselaw on particular legal issues. Issues include those involving statutory and common law, practice and procedure, and rules and regulations. Each article reviews the cases discussing the relevant point of law. The articles also contain research references and practice pointers.
Subject Compilations of State Laws (HeinOnline) Search for subject:(Animals) in Subject Compilations of State Laws. This library features a database giving you access to more than 26,000 bibliographic records from Cheryl Nyberg's Subject Compilations Bibliography Series. Many records contain extensive annotations with links directly to articles and other documents residing in HeinOnline.