Skip to Main Content
Databases
Animal Legal and Historical Center
On this site you will find a comprehensive repository of information about animal law, including: over 1200 full text cases (US, historical, and UK), over 1400 US statutes, over 60 topics and comprehensive explanations, legal articles on a variety of animal topics and an international collection.
Animal Studies: Law, Welfare and Rights (HeinOnline)
With titles from the Animal Legal Defense Fund and Animal Welfare Institute, this collection aims to establish the foundational laws pertaining to animals and follow the evolution of these rights throughout the years. It includes philosophical books dating back to the 1800s, videos, periodicals, brochures, and more.
Animal Studies Repository
The Animal Studies Repository (ASR) is an open access collection of academic, archival, and assorted other materials related to various disciplines within the fields of animal studies and animal welfare science.
BIOSIS Previews
BIOSIS Previews (Biological Abstracts)¸ a leading source of life science information¸ collects abstracts and bibliographic references to worldwide biological and medical literature. Biological Abstracts contains references to journal items focusing on vital biological and medical research findings¸ pharmacological studies¸ and discoveries of new organisms. Approximately 5¸500 international journals are reviewed for inclusion¸ representing virtually every life science discipline
Coverage: 1969 - present
JSTOR
Full-text of more than 200 cross-disciplinary academic journals. Coverage begins with the first volume, but usually does not include the most recent 1 to 5 years
PAIS
Indexes the public and social policy literature of public administration, political science, economics, finance, international relations, law and health care from 1972-present from over 2,000 publications.
ScienceDirect (Elsevier)
A database for research that contains abstracts, tables of contents, and full text from 2500+ journals and ebooks in the physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities.
SSRN Animal Law eJournal
Provides access to almost 300 working and accepted paper abstracts on legal, policy, and jurisprudential issues relating to animals. Edited by Syracuse University College of Law's Hannah Arterian and Deborah S. Kenn
Zoological Record
Comprehensive database for zoological (animal biology) literature, including animal behavior, biodiversity, ecology, genetics, paleontology, and more. Primary taxonomic reference source for animal classification. Indexes more than 4,500 journals, magazines, newsletters, books and conference proceedings. Coverage 1993-present.
Electronic Journals
Animal Behavior and Cognition
Animal Behavior and Cognition publishes original empirical research, replication reports, target review articles, opposing viewpoints, brief reports, and theoretical reviews on all aspects of animal behavior and cognition.
Animal Biodiversity and Conservation
An international journal devoted to the study and conservation of animal biodiversity, open-access, free for authors, driven by a fast-paced editorial process that includes assessment by experts. It is a biannual publication.
Animal Biotelemetry
Animal Biotelemetry is an open access peer-reviewed journal that publishes the results of studies utilizing telemetric techniques (including biologgers) to understand physiological, behavioural, and ecological mechanisms in a broad range of environments (e.g. terrestrial, freshwater and marine) and taxa.
Animal Law
Animal Law Review (Animal Law) is a student-run law review at Lewis & Clark Law School in Portland, Oregon. The review's objective is to educate readers about all sides of current animal-related legal issues.
Animals
Animals (ISSN 2076-2615) is an international peer-reviewed open access journal devoted entirely to animals, including zoology and veterinary sciences, published monthly online by MDPI.
Animal Welfare Information Center Bulletin
The Animal Welfare Information Center Bulletin (formerly Newsletter) is distributed free of charge by the National Agricultural Library (NAL). The Bulletin provides information on animal welfare to investigators, technicians, administrators, exhibitors, and the public.
ZooKeys
ZooKeys is a peer-reviewed, open access, online and print, rapidly produced journal, launched to support free exchange of ideas, data and information in all branches of Zoology.
Zoological Letters
Zoological Letters is an open access journal that publishes new and important findings in the zoological sciences. As a sister journal to Zoological Science, Zoological Letters covers a wide range of basic fields of zoology, from taxonomy to bioinformatics.
