Research Guides: CVE1100: Intro to Civil Engineering: Home

CEAS Librarian

Mark Chalmers

He/Him

Email Me

Contact:

850L Baldwin Hall
PO Box 210018
Cincinnati, OH 45221-0018

(513) 556-1452

Subjects: Chemistry & Physics, Engineering & Technology, Mathematics

Accessing Library Resources

How to Access Library Resources: Click the link to a library resource. You may be prompted to log in with your UC username and password. You may have to complete Duo Two-Factor Authentication as well.

These prompts can occur both on and off campus.

Additional Information and Resources for Accessing Library Resources

Affiliate and Guest Access
Information for Affiliates, Guests and Alumni for connecting from off campus.
Help and Troubleshooting
Tech support for common connection and password issues.
Tools
Proxy link generators and linking via Google Scholar.

General Information

CEAS Library website: libraries.uc.edu/ceas
- Mark Chalmers Your librarian for CEAS (AEEM, CAECM, ME/MET, Fire Science) and A&S Mathematics & Physics
- Ted Baldwin - Your librarian for CEAS (BME, ChE, EnvE) and A&S Chemistry & Biology
- 8th floor Baldwin Hall - plan to open Sep 14 (see all Fall semester UC Libraries updates)
Search books & conference proceedings: use Library Catalog or E-Books and Dissertations online
Search journal articles, conference papers, patents, theses:
- all Engineering & Technology Databases
- Full-text E-Journal Finder
View all CEAS Library Research & Course Guides

Current workshops - can include: Python, R, LaTeX, GitHub, data management, citation managers (e.g., RefWorks)
New books in CEAS Library (print & electronic format)

Fall 2021 Library Updates
Details on the CEAS LIbrary, Fall 2021

Find Books, Articles, and More

Civil Engineering Guide

Getting Started:

General Databases:

Library Catalog
Search books and ebooks. Use databases below to search for journal articles.

Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions includes more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields. Academic Search Complete offers critical information from many sources unique to this massive collection. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.
Coverage: 1865 - present

SUMMON
Articles, books, and working papers can be found on SUMMON

Specialized Databases:

Scopus (Elsevier)
Indexing¸ abstracts¸ and citation searching for science and social science scholarly literature. Scopus covers 14¸000 titles across 4¸000 publishers¸ providing access to over 25 million abstracts going back to 1966 and 5 years of cited reference back years¸ building up to 10 years by the end of 2005. Coverage: 1966 - present
Compendex
Compendex provides abstracts and full bibliographic citations for worldwide engineering and technical literature and encompasses all engineering disciplines¸ as well as related fields in science and management. The records in the database are drawn from over 2¸600 published journals¸ conference proceedings¸ and individual conference papers¸ technical reports¸ monographs¸ and other materials. The database provides access of over 11 million records covering over 120 years of engineering literature. Over 650¸000 records are added annually for 190 engineering disciplines.
Coverage: 1884 - present
ASCE Library
ASCE Library is a comprehensive resource for all areas of civil engineering and environmental engineering, including geotechnics, water, transportation, and structural engineering. Contains American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE) publications, including conference proceedings, e-journals, standards, and e-books.

Magazines & Journals:

American Concrete Institute (ACI) Structural Journal
ASHRAE Journal
Nature
Roads and Bridges
Science
Technology Review
Full-text journals at UC
Alphabetical listing of all full-text journals available at UC. To search for government titles, choose a letter of the alphabet and then using the “find” option in your web browser, enter: electronic government periodicals.

Selected Books on Civil Engineering

Knovel Provides leading science and engineering books¸ conferences¸ and databases embedded with productivity tools in one online service. The Knovel product provides the ability to interact with the data¸ deep searchability¸ valuable subject collections through aggregation¸ and continuing expanding content. Approximately 500 books are included in the collection at the end of 2003.
Taylor & Francis Ebooks Full-text of thousands of e-books and technical handbooks in engineering, technology, science, bioscience, medicine and business published by Taylor & Francis and its imprints: CRC Press, Routledge, Apple Academic Press. The CRCNetBase e-book collections are included in this database.
ICE Virtual Library - Construction Materials A focused subset of 136 construction materials e-books offered by the Institution of Civil Engineers (ICE).

Business Information
Portal for business news, consumer product information, market information, and more

Other Resources

Browse Recent Civil Engineering & Construction Materials in Knovel

AASHTO LRFD Bridge Construction Specifications (9th Edition)
Previous editions are also available on Knovel back to the 4th. At the top of the page, under the title, there is a link that says view all editions.

Engineering Standards - online access to ASTM, ASCE, ASHRAE, IEEE standards and many AASHTO specs and guidelines. We have ACI in print format. Contact library with requests for ANSI, ISO or other standards.

Market Research Reports - recommend MarketResearch.com, BCC, Freedonia

Professional Societies

Fun things

UC Libraries access to some popular newspapers (including current day):

Music & Theater/Opera Video and Audio (with thanks to CCM's college library)

Met Opera on Demand (video recordings)
Kanopy video (documentaries, live performances)
Many other performances/recordings - Streaming video and audio

Cincinnati Public Library

Cincinnati Public Library (many popular e-books and books)
Options to get a public library card

Return to CEAS Library
Return to CEAS Library Subject Guides