Skip to main content
UC Logo
Libraries | Ask the Libraries

Citation Management Software

This guide provides information on RefWorks, EndNote, Sciwheel, and Zotero,

About RefWorks

RefWorks Logo

Legacy RefWorks is a web-based bibliography manager that makes it easy to import references to articles, books, web pages and other types of sources from online databases.

Login to Legacy RefWorks

RefWorks is licensed by the University of Cincinnati and is available at no cost to all UC students, faculty and staff.

RefWorks can help you:

  • Electronically collect, organize and manage your references in a personal database
  • Easily format bibliographies, footnotes and in-text citations into almost any output style
  • Conveniently link references to full-text articles, eliminating unwieldy storage of paper copy
  • Access your personal database 24/7 anywhere you have web access
  • Share your personal database (or any part of it) with anyone in the world who has Internet access
  • Receive quarterly automatic quarterly upgrades (no installation required)

If you have any questions please contact Edith Starbuck at 558-1433, edith.starbuck@uc.edu.

Write-N-Cite or Reference Citation Manager

Word 2016 for Windows: you may either download Write-N-Cite or use the RefWorks Citation Manager add-in.

Mac and iPad: use the RefWorks Citation Manager add-in. 

Installing RefWorks Citation Manager for Word 2016

Using RefWorks Citation Manager

RefWorks Citation Manager for Word 2016: Inserting Citations and Creating Bibliographies

The RefWorks Write-N-Cite add-in is not currently supported by the Microsoft Word iPad app; however, if you have installed the Mac desktop version of Office365, you can use the RefWorks Citation Manager add-in.

If your iPad is your only device, you may also use the One Line Cite option, until RefWorks makes the Write-N-Cite add-in compatible with the Word iPad app. 

UC Alumni RefWorks Access

All UC alumni and previous faculty and staff will have life-long access to RefWorks as long as UC Libraries maintains its RefWorks institutional subscription. You will retain all of the features of your present RefWorks account as well as any new RefWorks system developments.

Though you will lose your UC authentication after you leave UC, you will continue to have access to a wide range of research literature databases from which you can continue to build your personal RefWorks database.  

Contact RefWorks technical support for assistance. 

RefWorks Technical Support Team

Phone Support: RefWorks provides phone support Monday - Friday from  6am to 5pm (Pacific Time) or 9am to 8 pm (Eastern Standard Time).

Phone: 1 800-889-3358  Extension  7

Email: support@refworks-cos.com 

RefWorks provides email support from Monday - Friday from 6am to 5pm (Pacific Time) or 9am to 8 pm (Eastern Standard Time) and limited weekend support.

ProQuest Support Center

The ProQuest Support Center provides help for all ProQuest products, including both versions of RefWorks (Legacy & NEW).  The Support Center offers email, chat and phone help.

ProQuest Idea Exchange

Do you wish to advocate for RefWork improvements or enhancements?  PLEASE submit your idea to the "ProQuest Idea Exchange."  This really works.  Other RefWorks users will see your request and they can VOTE on it.  ProQuest developers are acutely aware of the Idea Exchange and they are responsive to it.  Sooooooo --- don't just wish for improvements or fixes to problems, become an active advocate for a better RefWorks. 

RefWorks PlugIns Help

You will find help here with Write-N-Cite, RefWorks Citation Manager and the Save-to-RefWorks bookmarklet for multiple OS platforms, word processors and browsers. 

System Status

Provides system status information on all Ex Libris (ProQuest) systems.  The list is not alphabetical. In the "Product" box select either Legacy RefWorks or NEW RefWorks.

University of Cincinnati Libraries

PO Box 210033 Cincinnati, Ohio 45221-0033

Phone: 513-556-1424

Contact Us | Staff Directory

University of Cincinnati

Alerts | Clery and HEOA Notice | Notice of Non-Discrimination | eAccessibility Concern | Privacy Statement | Copyright Information

© 2019 University of Cincinnati