Skip to main content
UC Logo
Libraries | Ask the Libraries

Citation Management Software

This guide provides information on RefWorks, EndNote, Sciwheel, and Zotero,

Creating an Account

An institutional account is available to anyone at a subscribing institution and includes 10GB of document storage, unlimited sharing inside and outside the institution, easy institution-wide sharing, phone and email tech support, training and more.

To create a RefWorks account:

  1. Go to http://proxy.libraries.uc.edu/login?url=https://refworks.proquest.com and click the “sign up” link.
  2. Fill in your information making sure to use your institutional email address (you can’t sign up with @yahoo.com, @gmail.com, etc.).  Using your institutional email address will help us know whether you are entitled to an institutional account (with all the benefits mentioned above!).

Once you activate your account (you'll receive an email with a link to complete the registration process), you’ll get access immediately and can get started managing your documents.

New RefWorks Tutorials

New RefWorks Basics

Getting References into New RefWorks

Editing References or Citation Styles in RefWorks

Citing in Word and Creating a Bibliography

 

New RefWorks youtube channel: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCzmTj_AGeY59VoNv-0SvcCg

Updated 9/24/20

UC Alumni RefWorks Access

All UC alumni and previous faculty and staff will have life-long access to RefWorks as long as UC Libraries maintains its RefWorks institutional subscription. You will retain all of the features of your present RefWorks account as well as any new RefWorks system developments.

Though you will lose your UC authentication after you leave UC, you will continue to have access to a wide range of research literature databases from which you can continue to build your personal RefWorks database.  

Contact RefWorks technical support for assistance. 

RefWorks Technical Support Team

Phone Support: RefWorks provides phone support Monday - Friday from  6am to 5pm (Pacific Time) or 9am to 8 pm (Eastern Standard Time).

Phone: 1 800-889-3358  Extension  7

Email: support@refworks-cos.com 

RefWorks provides email support from Monday - Friday from 6am to 5pm (Pacific Time) or 9am to 8 pm (Eastern Standard Time) and limited weekend support.

ProQuest Support Center

The ProQuest Support Center provides help for all ProQuest products, including both versions of RefWorks (Legacy & NEW).  The Support Center offers email, chat and phone help.

ProQuest Idea Exchange

Do you wish to advocate for RefWork improvements or enhancements?  PLEASE submit your idea to the "ProQuest Idea Exchange."  This really works.  Other RefWorks users will see your request and they can VOTE on it.  ProQuest developers are acutely aware of the Idea Exchange and they are responsive to it.  Sooooooo --- don't just wish for improvements or fixes to problems, become an active advocate for a better RefWorks. 

RefWorks PlugIns Help

You will find help here with Write-N-Cite, RefWorks Citation Manager and the Save-to-RefWorks bookmarklet for multiple OS platforms, word processors and browsers. 

System Status

Provides system status information on all Ex Libris (ProQuest) systems.  The list is not alphabetical. In the "Product" box select either Legacy RefWorks or NEW RefWorks.

University of Cincinnati Libraries

PO Box 210033 Cincinnati, Ohio 45221-0033

Phone: 513-556-1424

Contact Us | Staff Directory

University of Cincinnati

Alerts | Clery and HEOA Notice | Notice of Non-Discrimination | eAccessibility Concern | Privacy Statement | Copyright Information

© 2019 University of Cincinnati